We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not memorable.”
Review of Lake Louise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lake Louise Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
335 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good but not memorable.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We shared a 2 bedroom suite and it was reasonably roomy, comfortable, clean as it should have been. Nothing to point to as a highlight and nothing to complain about, and it was likely reasonable value.

We had breakfast once at the hotel restaurant and the service was pretty ordinary. Also the many advertisements around the eating areas extolling the virtues of their Starbucks coffee are all promise and seemingly never available.

It has a convenient position to the village where there is one good coffee provider.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Dennis J,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am delighted your expectations were met. It is great that you found variety within a short walking distance!
Regards,

Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    845
    676
    339
    217
See reviews for
870
1,037
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From England we had booked Lake Louise Inn mindful of the mixed reviews on trip advisor - some good some not so. We had spent a weekend with family in Calgary who had enquired where we were staying in Lake Louise, when we told them they were very concerned as they had had a bad experience the year before (trip advised). We headed off with some trepidation. On the way my wonderful husband had obviously decided an upgrade was in order! Ok a lovely idea but I cannot imagine what a standard room would be like if ours was an upgrade. It was definitely very tired, window sills dirty, heating systems falling off the walls and one look at the swimming pool said it all!! On the plus side the staff were lovely, breakfast was ok and a nightcap was great in the bar, good Oyster Bay wine. Come on Lake Louise Inn, time for a renovation, you have a great location make it a great location for your tourists too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeysomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear hockeysomerset ,

Thank you for your review and the kind words of encouragement. We began phase 1 renovations in fall of 2013 and completed phase 2 in June 2014. This week begins another phase and we shall systematically continue!
Best regards,
Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel itself is not bad. I had no issues with my room at all. However if you want dinner that's when the problem occurs. I appreciate that everybody deserves a break from work so having the restaurant closed on a Sunday night is perhaps ok, but not Monday as well!

However if you walk across the road directly outside the hotel you will come to The Post Hotel & Spa. Hold on your problem is not solved just yet unless you are happy to pay about $126 for your dinner. No walk to the right around the hotel and you will come to The Outpost Pub. Now your problem is over and you can enjoy a good "pub dinner". I went twice and introduced my party to Caribou. It's quite like venison and delicious. They do have a pub-like lounge at Lake Louise Inn but it's not nearly as good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear ericBournemouth,

Thank you for your positive review about your room and the hotel!. Wonderful that you were able to explore various dining options within walking distance. Very soon our Timberwolf Pasta and Pizza restaurant will open 7 nights a week. We apologize for inconveniencing you during your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Regards

Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nothing fancy and in need of some updating (we were in building 4), but our room was clean and the staff very friendly.
The place is reasonably priced for Lake Louise area and of course .... surrounded by the mountains ... awesome.
All in all we had a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear c0verdale,

Thank you for choosing us and the positive comments! All the 66 rooms in Building 4 have just re-opened on June 05, 2014 with a long list of renovations which include NEW granite counters, sinks, low flush toilets, faucets, mirrors, lights, curtains, shades, carpet, wall coveing, beds, flat screen TV, lights and refinished furniture. Only in Lake Louise can one actually see the glaciers that are still clinging to the very high mountain faces. Lake Louise is surrounded by the highest peaks in the entire Southern Canadian Rockies.
We hope you will visit us again soon!
Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in August and the weather was great but lots of people. The hotel is in a great location right in town. One thing to watch is it is right beside train tracks and we were awakened at 3 am by a train going by. The room was average for what you pay but the restaurant had good food. We went on the grizzly tour at the ski hill well worth your time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Doug M,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel! This area of the protected Canadian Rockies is truly very beautiful and a cherished destination by many. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Since this was going to be a one night sleeper, we decided to ignore the negative reviews. What we got was a clean, affordable, well appointed room (fridge, micro, lg screen TV). Sleep quality was excellent/quiet even as we slept with the window open and got some beautiful May fresh air.
Added bonus was a top notch indoor pool and hot tub. Glad we ignored the negatives as we found no negatives, would stay again, and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tony 838,

Thank you for the great positive review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon in these magnificent Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lake Louise Inn May 16-19, 2014 to celebrate our anniversary. I was a bit skeptical because there were several negative comments on the rooms themselves but we went anyway. The hotel is well located. It is obviously older and in need of some upgrading but our room was clean, comfortable with a nice view of the mountains. We had opted for the Spring Special which gave up food vouchers during our stay ($50/night). I have been to other hotels who offered food vouchers and they usually have you charge your meals to the room and then they deduct the food voucher amount at check-out. Not here. They gave us $25 food vouchers that we could use. So, for a $34 meal we could either use one food voucher and pay the rest cash or use 2 and lose the balance. It was a bit frustrating and we ended up losing money in the end. I wouldn't recommend getting the food vouchers. The food was OK, nothing spectacular. My husband didn't like the burgers there at all and he's not very picky. The breakfast was ridiculously expensive. I would stay at the hotel again but I wouldn't eat there unless I had to.

Room Tip: Asking for a room in the main building is probably best if you want to be close to the pool/spa, lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valerie W.

Thank you for choosing us and for your well written review and for the kind compliments in regards to your room and the glorious views! We have sold many hundreds of the Spring Specials and I am glad you mentioned the vouchers. I was not aware of this challenge and as a result of your comment, we will revise our voucher procedure in the future. I am sorry your husband did not enjoy our hamburgers. We have some very popular hamburgers on our menu which are the favourites of many locals and repeat visitors.
Please accept our congratulations on your anniversary and we wish you many more happy and wonderful years!
Regards
Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,591 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
7.4 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Inn

Property: Lake Louise Inn
Address: 210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Louise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Louise Inn has the perfect guestroom or suite for your Rocky Mountain getaway. All guest accommodations provide the comfort and convenience of modern amenities like FREE Wi-Fi in a beautiful and rustic mountain setting. Individual room and suite styles may feature kitchens, balconies, patios, fireplaces or Jacuzzi tubs. You can also take in the spectacular mountain scenery through floor to ceiling windows as you relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool and whirlpools. Guests can also enjoy our many dining options, from cozy fine dining at Legends Restaurant to delicious pub style food at Explorers lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Louise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Lake Louise Resort
Lake Louise Bed Breakfast
Inn Lake Louise
Lake Louise Hotel Banff
Lake Louise b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing