We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Lake Louise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Louise Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I'd booked this hotel through Hotwire and so got a really good price (for Lake Louise). We had a wedding nearby in Field, BC, and this worked out nicely. Because of the decent price, I was expecting an older, perhaps slightly run-down motel and didn't have time to look it up beforehand. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and the atmosphere! Our room was on the first floor, so we didn't notice lack of elevators, as I saw on one review just now. Our room (for two) had a king size bed and everything we required, with really nice furnishings and decor. Breakfast was not included and we were advised there was a brunch available for $17/person. We ate elsewhere, so I can't comment on that. I always love a mini fridge in the room when we travel, which this did not have, but we were only there for 12 hours so it didn't matter. I did notice excessive noise compared to other hotels I've stayed at. Voices in the hall woke me up around midnight, but it was just people talking and a child being a little on the loud side. The people above us walking around sounded like elephants in the morning but it was brief and we were getting up anyway. There are several restaurants available, a pool and two whirlpools were listed as well, so lots of amenities. Staff were friendly enough and everything was clean.
I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much for a longer stay or at a regular price but I'm usually traveling with kids/teenagers on a budget. :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tkpruden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear TKpruden,

Thank you for the positive review. We hope you will return again!
Regards,
Lake Louise Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,282 - 2,288 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel plays on its situation, it is the most expensive we stayed in on the whole of our trip. The rooms are extremely small, only one person can move around at a time and they are not at all well equipped. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there are no lifts so it was not easy getting to room, just as well it was for one night as the room being so small we had to leave most of our luggage in the car. Breakfasts are extra and they are extremely expensive.

Room Tip: If you have problem with stairs would need to make sure you have ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank uktravellerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear uktravellerHampshire,

Thank you for your review. We clearly advertize that there is no elevator in our Building 4 and we also clearly state these are 203 sq ft rooms. many guests marvel at the fantastic views from the 3 rd floor. I am sorry your expectations of a hotel in our remote location did not meet your standards.
Best regards
Lake Louise Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What good you ask? Nothing - thank goodness we only stayed one night. As you will see from the many reviews I write from our stays around the world, I'm generally pretty positive about the places we stay, from expensive to really cheap. This hotel is no where near as good as a UK Premier Inn which would cost you £35 a room. At $190 is a massive rip off - yes I know you pay for location, but that is no excuse for poor quality. No lifts, no air con, tiny rooms, walls and ceilings as thin as paper, right next to the highway = no sleep......the Resturant is also a rip off - $48 for 2 bowls of pasta! This is just an expensive motor lodge worth $75 per night. My advice - stay in Banff and drive to Lake Louise. And finally just for a laugh - the check in clerk told us the block we were staying in had been refurbished - must have been a story her grandmother told her!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Worldtravellertony,

Thank you for the well written review. We are honored to have had you as a guest. We clearly advertize that our economy rooms in Building 4 do not have an elevator, do not have air conditioning and are 203 sq ft. I am sorry you were not aware of this. The Buidling you were in was refurbished in fall 2013 and spring 2014 with the following: new beds, new carpet, new wall covering, new wall art, new lights, new sink and toilet, new granite counter top, new mirror, new flat scree TV and all the furniture tops were sanded and restained.
Best regards,
Lake Louise Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel. It was very noisy. No sleep at all. Could hear people walking above us all night and the sound from the pools and pipes irritating. Eating was over price as well. We expected more for a the price we paid for this room. very disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid anywhere by the pools. Look elsewhere for better accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Fallys,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to not have met your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the fantastic natural surroundings.
Lake Louise Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I can imagine at one time this hotel being really pleasant. However, although perfectly functional it has a whiff of being past its sell by date.

We stayed in building 2 for 4 nights. There is an obvious desire to maintain the appearance and standard of its youth but they have a challenge on their hands. The outside areas are well kept and welcoming with a feel of a motel rather than an hotel. Our room was what I would describe as a motel room, where the door to the room was outside and your vehicle could be parked right in front of it. All of the wooden structure had been painted recently but it still can't hide the fact that fixtures and fittings were of an age.

The room was a good size, however, the furniture- and the amount of it- made it cramped. We had a large round table, a large chest of drawers and a writing desk all on the same wall- what is that all about? Get rid of the writing table or the round table... On a good note there were two large beds which were very comfortable and a full size and very welcome fridge. There was a large comfy chair and a hard backed chair at the writing table- so you can imagine there was a fight for the comfy chair after a long hike- again, why isn't there 2 comfy chairs in a room where there is 2 large-beds? If you like furniture circa 1980/1990 you'll be happy. Saying that, there is loads of space in the large chest of drawers, although there is only about 8 hangers in the limited open hanging area- which is above the waste bins...

The bathroom was functional and if you got bored you could always count the squashed Mosquitos on the ceiling if you wish- but only one of you as there wasn't enough room for more than one person. Toiletries were the worst I have ever come across. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board were in the room too. Coffee machine and kettle available.

I was surprised that there was no hotel information in the room so I didn't know what the procedure was for assessing/using the pool and jacuzzi so after I had schlepped over in my costume with some loose clothes over the top found that I didn't know where the door was at first and when I did suss it out there was a notice saying not to enter the pool area in outside shoes! As there were no covers for my trainers to be able to access the pool area or instruction/directions on how or where to change I Had lost the will...and went back to the room.

There was a large flatsceen TV on the wall opposite the beds and the wifi worked great.

As the weather was unseasonably hot was sat outside on our outside area- planks of wood attached together to make the floor with two planks in front to indicate that that was the end of the floor area- I believe this was the balcony- oh, and two plastic chairs. The resident ground squirrels provided the free entertainment and a distraction.

We found on our second day there that the patio door had not been locked since we had arrived- and we were on the ground floor. We were not all all impressed.

We didn't sample any of the food or drink. We bought a lot of items from the supermarket in the village and Laddans bakery which I can recommend. We dined at Bill Peytos a couple of nights.

We did use the fitness room which we found quite well equipped for people that use free weights. Two weight benches and a variety of weights and a weights machine meant we could exercise together. The room was quite big with some cardio equipment, water machine, TV and towels.

A functional stay- we did get a good sleep. If you want somewhere to just put your head down I would recommend it. If you want to impress someone or celebrate an occasion, I wouldn't.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Marie R,

Thank you ever so much for your very well written review! I enjoyed your writing style. Our toiletries are specifically chosen due to their completely organic content and the vast majority of our guests say they enjoy they enjoyed them and take them as souvenirs. All our rooms have up to date guest binders with information required to access all of our facilities. I apologize for not meeting all your standards. We will try harder with the forthcoming renovations. We hope you will visit again.
Lake Louise Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July. The apartment was generally clean, although there were some stains on the carpet and it could do with some tlc. We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities in the accommodation - plenty of bed space in the 2 bed condo, including a pull down double in the sitting area. Not much provision for all of us to sit comfortably though - two dining chairs and a sofa between 5 adults. It was fine for us as a base for the southern part of the Icefields Parkway, but two nights was plenty. The accommodation is pricey, as all locations in the area, but it did the job for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Louise E,

Thank you for your comments! They are very much appreciated. We are planning to renovate many of our larger suites and this will include a reconfiguration of the space to allow for more comfortable seating around the dining table. It is reviews such as yours that helps us in better defining what our valued guests prefer. We hope you will visit again soon!
Lake Lousie Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Probably ok if you are staying in a deluxe room, but we found the pictures on the website to be misleading with regard to the cheaper rooms and also the common areas. We stayed in building 4, and it had a distinct feel of a school camp due to the number of tiny rooms packed into a wooden block. There really isn't room to swing a cat in these rooms, and light sleepers will hear every creak from every movement of fellow occupants. Expect this to be less luxury lodge and more summer camp, and ensure you book an expensive room if you want to avoid this.

The other thing to note is the size of this property- the website does imply a personal lodge style experience which is far from the truth. There must be up to 500 rooms here across various 'outbuildings'. Also seems to be on the coach party itinerary with swarms of people everywhere adding to the camp like feel.

Probably ok for families, but do not recommend for couples or romance!!

Recommend the Post across the road, or staying in Banff for more choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank aircon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear aircon123,

Thank you for your comments and for travelling from so far to visit Lake Louise. Our website accurately conveys that we have 247 rooms spread in several lodges on 8.5 acres of valley bottom forested terrain. During the exciting and gorgeous summer months, some travellers prefer the company of others and travel by motor coach with planned activities and stops. The picture on our website for the rooms in Building 4 were taken after the recent 2013/2014 renovations. There are 66 rooms in Building 4 and they are our most economical of our 9 various rooms types. From 203 sq ft to 780 sq ft, we have rooms to suit everyone's budget. There is no elevator nor A/C in Building 4. You mention swiging a cat and in fact we have a limited quantity of pet rooms in building 4.
Regards,
Lake Louise Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,472 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
294 reviews
7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Inn

Address: 210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £74 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Louise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Louise Inn has the perfect guestroom or suite for your Rocky Mountain getaway. All guest accommodations provide the comfort and convenience of modern amenities like FREE Wi-Fi in a beautiful and rustic mountain setting. Individual room and suite styles may feature kitchens, balconies, patios, fireplaces or Jacuzzi tubs. You can also take in the spectacular mountain scenery through floor to ceiling windows as you relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool and whirlpools. Guests can also enjoy our many dining options, from cozy fine dining at Legends Restaurant to delicious pub style food at Explorers lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Louise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Lake Louise Resort
Lake Louise Bed Breakfast
Lake Louise Hotel Banff
Inn Lake Louise
Lake Louise b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing