We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”
Review of Lake Louise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lake Louise Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here recently on our road trip around Canada. Have to say this was possibly the most disappointing of all our hotels. Check in fine, we stayed away from the main hotel in one of the other buildings. No lifts meant having to cart our heavy suitcases up the stairs. Dodgy door which was really hard to gain access into room. Room itself was nothing spectacular and a bit tired looking. Had very thin walls too, every time someone in another room shut their door, or moved it seemed you felt it. Not that we spent much time in room so not overly bothered by this and had a good nights sleep as was really quiet at night. Free wifi worked well. All in all okay, very average but could do with a tart up here and there!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    920
    746
    366
    235
See reviews for
976
1,136
111
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo with loft in the Lake Louise Inn for 4 nights. It was a real disappointment on all fronts and we wished we had simply stayed in a condo in Banff instead. The location is right next to the Trans Canada highway so expect lots of road noise. Although the condo included a small kitchen, there was no table. Considering that there was almost no counter space, it was hard to cook. And, with no table we had to sit on the sofa and eat on a coffee table. Not the best situation. The upstairs bedroom had a queen sized bed and a twin bed. The queen sized bed had a protrusion over it with a sharp edge so kept hitting our heads. I don't know what the building code is in Canada but this is downright dangerous. Hitting one's head on a sharp corner above the bed is not fun. The twin bed was tucked into a corner of the loft with very little head/leg room. Worse yet, the bed smelled strongly of urine, probably from kids having peed in it. Totally unusable. The upstairs bathroom had lots of mold in the corners and was kind of disgusting because of this. The bedroom downstairs had 3 twin beds, two of which were bunk. They were okay but it would have been much better to have a queen bed downstairs and twin beds in the loft. The living room had a murphy bed that we didn't use but that probably explained the lack of a table. There was a gas fireplace that we couldn't get to work, although it would have felt good on a chilly night after hiking in the rain. The stairway up to the loft had drapes along one edge/corner. The drapes were too long and stuck out onto the first step. Another major safety concern. My general sense was that they tried to cram as many beds/sleeping space into the condo as possible. You could sleep 8 in it, perhaps 9 if someone slept on the sofa. But the cost of cramming in so many places to sleep was lack of comfort or safety. The condo rooms around us seem to be jam-packed with extended families with lots of children. So, I guess if you are traveling with a big group and want everyone crammed together and don't care too much about cleanliness or safety, this would be a good choice. Otherwise, just stay in Banff where there are much better restaurants and grocery stores, the hotels/condos are half the price, and the crowds aren't as bad as at Lake Louise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Trisha M,

Thank you for your well written review. Our rooms are inspected regularly and there is no mold, neither are they classified as dangerous by the safety inspectors. We are sorry that your personal standards were not met. We hope you enjoyed the spectacular surroundings and the beautiful glaciers that are only visible from the Lake Louise area.
Regards
Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Kent, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Lake Louise Inn for two days in late July and were happy with our choice. The lodge has one main building and several smaller buildings. We stayed in a Deluxe King room in the main building, which was a comfortable room with a king bed, chair, and desk. The bathroom was very small but with nice tile and decor.

We were visiting during a warm period -- highs in the mid 80's -- and although the room had some sort of gravity non-fan AC it didn't really seem to do much. Overall the room was warm but with the fan and low humidity it was ok.

We particularly appreciated the laundromat (one in most of the buildings). The wireless internet was generally good but offline our last morning.

The hotel location was good and although there weren't many restaurants within quick walking distance there were several in town (we liked Lake Louise Station Restaurant) and many more at the Fairmont.

Overall, Lake Louise Inn was a comfortable hotel and a good value. I'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Walkerbob,

Thank you for the warm review! Indeed, we have been experiencing truly amazing weather and the sun has been resplendent to the great joy of all our visitors. There are 3 restaurants within our hotel and and another half dozen within walking distance. We hope you will return soon!
Regards,
Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

You pay for the convenience for staying in the lake louise area. We booked a 2 queen bed room, with a request of a view and deck, if possible. We get there, and they said the only rooms they had to fit our reservation were in the main building, overlooking the indoor pool. Not thrilled by this, but accepted as they gave us the choice of 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor as there were multiple rooms in there for us.I said 1st floor. We walk into the room and in less than 5 minutes, walked right back out to the reception desk. The room they had placed us in, was more of a basement!!! We looked out our window and it was of a brick wall that sat below the pool area. I was very disgusted by this.

The gal who checked us in, must have just left for the day as she was not there when I got back there. I expressed my concerns and disappointment and we were immediately moved into another building with 2 queens. We did end up having a deck to sit out on then. I was not happy that I was lied to by the first one who originally checked us in, and thankful for the other who moved us. This is a reason I can't give this property a better overall review. Room was an average hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestreviews225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear honestreviews225,

Thank you for your review. We are very pround of our well meaning and hard working employees, it is not our policy that they should lie to our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our apologies for the initial confusion. I hope you were delighted by the incredible mountain scenery.
Regards,
Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, AB
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Perfect mother/daughter bonding retreat... we hiked up to Skoki Lodge... wonderful experience! Stayed at Lake Louise Inn the night before our departure and it was all perfect!!
Nothing more to say!! Great place to stay!

Room Tip: No elevators... travel light or book on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Diana W,

We appreciate your nice review. It is wonderful to hear you went for a hike in the mountains and bonded with family! Lake Louise is renowned as the hiking capital of Canada! We have 5 buildings in the property and 2 of them have an elevator. There is building 4 with the smallest rooms of our 9 various categories which is 3 floors and it does not have an elevator.
Regards,
Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Chateau. Upon entering the lobby, we were led to the check-in area. The person told us that we had been upgraded. Much to our surprise it was a jr suite with a huge picture window, luxurious bathroom with robes, sitting area, and 15' X 15' balcony! This was located in the building to the side and back of the main chateau and the view was fabulous. The day we were there the temperatures were 84 degrees + and the main chateau rooms do not have airconditioning- we were glad to have AC in our room. We purchased lunch at the cafeteria style cafe' and ate at a spot in the garden facing the lake. It's a beautiful property and worth a stay to enjoy the scenic area.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Unfortunately our rooms shower did not work, the room was way to hot, as air conditioner would not drop below 25C. The room it self was ok, when I told them at the front desk they were apologetic .....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear DonnaL1958 ,

Thank you for your review, you traveled from very far! My apologies for the defective shower, I hope our maintenance team was able to fix promptly. Best Regards, Lake Louise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,348 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
719 reviews
7.4 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
829 reviews
15.4 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Inn

Property: Lake Louise Inn
Address: 210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Louise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Louise Inn has the perfect guestroom or suite for your Rocky Mountain getaway. All guest accommodations provide the comfort and convenience of modern amenities like FREE Wi-Fi in a beautiful and rustic mountain setting. Individual room and suite styles may feature kitchens, balconies, patios, fireplaces or Jacuzzi tubs. You can also take in the spectacular mountain scenery through floor to ceiling windows as you relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool and whirlpools. Guests can also enjoy our many dining options, from cozy fine dining at Legends Restaurant to delicious pub style food at Explorers lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Louise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Lake Louise Resort
Lake Louise Bed Breakfast
Inn Lake Louise
Lake Louise Hotel Banff
Lake Louise b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing