We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We rented this place for one night. It is very close to the lake. I suppose everything is quite expensive in LL. We rented a 2 bedroom (kind of small) with a small kitchen. The service is excellent and host is very helpful. They provided an outside burner for us to cook our meals. It is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at paradise lodge on 31 Aug for 1 night. We stayed in a Fairview suite which was well fitted and in excellent maintained order with a nice first floor balcony for evening drinks etc. Near the main road to Lake Louise but this does not detract from the attractive location. Would recommend.

Only small niggles being no door between bedroom and lounge area so fridge a little noisy at night. Wasn't asked by reception if we enjoyed our stay- well we did!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here one night on our drive through the Rockies.
Very nice place. These are self service chalets styled after log cabins.
Have all the basic amenities - my son had a pull out bed that he loved.
There is a shared laundry room.
For dinner we drove down to the nearby town - there is a 'pub' that serves bar food. It was packed so we could not get a table.
It is about 10 minutes drive from he lake itself.

Room Tip: The cabins all seemed to be the same -our preference is for one nearer the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rupert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I spent one night in Lake Louise and was quite disappointed. The welcome was poor and as far as I know, almost no amenities/services were provided (no bikes for instance). A car is definitely needed as the lodge is a bit far from Lake Louise, the parking lot next to the bungalow is a plus. Without a car, there is absolutely no reason to go there in my opinion.

The paradise lodge location is uninteresting: nothing to see around, no specific trails leading to the lodge. I had a bungalow with a deck on the forest, but the view was far from spectacular. The interior design was not really cozy and warm but rather awkward. Also, I felt the bungalow quite overpriced compared to similar lodges in Banff or Jasper.
I would definitely prefer other locations at Lake Louise (even if there are not many), either close to the lakes or downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sabinemercier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in Bungalow #1, greeted by a darling little cabin, beautifully and thoughtfully furnished. On the little dining table was a plate that said simply, Welcome to Paradise! The office had a cute little sign that said "Cabin, Sweet Cabin." Our bungalow had every necessity and many extras, such as oatmeal and granola bars for breakfast, with real utensils, dishes, which made it more homelike than paper goods. The office had crisps called "thin addictives" which were just perfect with morning coffee offered there (and in the cabins as well). The housekeeping staff kept everything spotless and tidy. Even the towel holders in the bathroom were darling...wrought iron resembling leaves on vines. Everything was PERFECTLY wonderful!

Room Tip: Try to reserve a cabin ahead of time, or at least in the morning for that night's stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and recently stayed at Paradise Lodge for our 32nd anniversary. We found the place to be very clean and quiet. The staff was helpful in giving advice about sights to see and places to eat. They were happy to book reservations.
The grounds are lovely and well kept. We had a Cooper Cabin - #10. We were happy to be able to cook a few meals for ourselves and enjoy a glass of wine on our deck. We took off for sightseeing each morning while avoiding the heavy tourist congestion at Lake Louise. We returned each evening to a clean little bungalow with everything in order. Thank you Lana and crew for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caweisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Lodge, Bungalows and grounds are really attractive and kept immaculately.
When we checked in, our room was in the Lodge and faced the main highway between Lake Louise Village and the Lake itself. Even with the windows closed the noise from from the road was obtrusive so we asked if we could be moved to a quieter room. We were advised that this wouldn't be possible but we should note that the road noise would reduce significantly from 7pm. We went out for a meal and on return at around 9.30 found that the noise was still significant which put paid to our plans to sit on the balcony (10 metres away from the road).
We also noted that the sound insulation between rooms was poor, such that you could hear conversations in adjacent rooms and extractor/bath noise from rooms above was also obtrusive. The hotel does have a 11pm curfew but this wouldn't help those with young families.
When we checked out I commented on the road noise and also offered constructive feedback on the subject of sound insulation and asked if someone could email me for more detail. This is where the management really let themselves down.
I didn't receive an email so I wrote to Paradise Lodge and reiterated the comments above and suggested that the room cost was high for the poor level of sound insulation. This time I got a response. Their "Manager" made no apology for the disturbance during our stay although he confirmed that he was aware of our feedback. I paraphrase his response: "The raised level of noise was because of a holiday weekend and noise from adjacent properties shouldn't be a problem because of the curfew." The room rates "reflect the low availability and high demand in the area". He concluded by suggesting that we could have notified the front desk and they would "been willing to check us out and refund our deposit". I replied suggesting that a simple apology would have been enough and that his final suggestion was ridiculous - particularly given that we'd be lucky to get somewhere at 5pm in the holiday weekend.
To wrap up - avoid the Lodge but try the bungalows and don't complain!

Room Tip: As far from the highway as possible and in a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,252 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
929 reviews
6.2 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge & Bungalows

Address: 105 Lake Louise Drive | Box 7, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: £175 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Lodge & Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Lodge and Bungalows offers a unique setting of individual cabins and suites in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. Located only 1 Km from Lake Louise and 20 time Alberta Housekeeping Award winner, Paradise Lodge and Bungalows exceeds expectations. Attention to detail and a welcoming atmosphere makes a destination to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Lodge & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Lodge And Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing