We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We were married here on June 17,2011. Sabrina was amazing to work with and everything went smoothly. We had a small wedding of only 12 people so we were able to have our reception "a la carte" in the wine cellar. Everyone loved their food and couldn't say enough about it.

I will admit it was expensive but everything is expensive in the park.
Even though it was our wedding we didn't upgrade to a different room. The king was great and comfy. There was a train that went by every few hours but i slept through it no problem and i'm normally a light sleeper.

The food:
Supper was amazing. The meat was cooked perfectly and i loved the gnocchi.
Desert was to die for. I asked the waiters on both nights what he suggested and i've never had such good desert and i have a serious sweet tooth.
I didn't enjoy breakfast there as much but there is a breakfast place next to the gas station less than a block away that did the trick.

Rooms: These rooms aren't perfect. It has a definite log cabin feel and if you don't like that you arent going to like the room. There was a wood fireplace stocked with wood daily. we had a jetted tub. The room was a bit dated but super clean. We even had a fresh fruit basket. The bed was very comfortable and we were happy with it.

Spa: i unfortunately didn't have time to enjoy this experience but i hear it's great.

Staff: Never have i ever had such good service. Always asking if we needed anything. Always willing to help in anyway. Felt very cared for.

Overall experience: great! i highly suggest the Post Hotel to anyone looking for a cozy retreat than the big Fairmont Lake Louise.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicadevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    161
    62
    37
    17
See reviews for
186
482
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Stayed at the Post in June and was impressed. It is a luxury property and it is not cheap, but the location is wonderful, the staff the best and the restaurant was very, very upscale and wonderful food.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was our 25th wedding anniversary and we were looking forward to our trip to Canada. Read the website and online reviews before booking. Seemed a reasonable option even though the prices were high (close to $400 per night USD). We were unable to book a room at the Fairmont Lake Louise which was only slightly more than the Post Hotel. Arrived and checked in on a Friday. The front desk staff were pleasant but lack the depth of understanding and knowledge of the hotel and it services you would expect for these prices. During our stay we contacted the front staff on several occasions; the experience was the same. The spa was small but adequate. The massage therapists were better than most; all in all the spa experience was the highlight of our stay. Our room was on the side of the hotel near the train tracks. Trains ran all day making sleeping almost impossible. The air conditioning was no existent. When we called the front desk, we were told there really wasn't an air conditioning system but to open the window. The front desk staff said that because the hotel was in a national park there was no real air conditioning. Earlier in the week we stayed at the Fairmont Banff Spings Hotel in the same national park; no problem with air conditioning there. The hotel restaurant was cited as one of the best receiving several 4 star ratings and noted in several leading cuisine magazines. My meal was a disappointment. The veal was overcooked and egg noodles under cooked. I was through more than half the meal before I mentioned the problem. The waiter stated that if I had mentioned the problem sooner they could have made a change. His tone was not appreciated and his overall service lack the charm and sophistication expected of a restaurant with this reputation.

Overall not a good experience. I would recommend the Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise as the first and only choice in the Lake Louise area. All others, including the Post Hotel and Spa, leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC_JERSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We booked the Post hotel in preference to the Fairmont Lake Louise as we wanted something "different", having just come from the Banff Springs. Upon arrival we were delighted to find ourselves upgraded from a "preferred side" room to a suite (room 225 in the main building. This is a lovely room, spacious and luxurious. Initially the keys failed to work in the door so I wandered back to reception - which was busy. However, we were then assisted personally by the owner (the problem was with the keys not us!). The complimentary wi-fi was appreciated (although the access - via a portal - was a bit clumsy). We didn't eat in the restaurant as we have had a bit too much "fine dining" of late, instead going to the Outlook pub one night (cosy and friendly, good service, okay food) and the Station Restaurant the next (historic, comfortable, good food, amateur service). However, the adjoining bar was comfortable with good service.

We didn't use the spa or pool either, but they certainly looked impressive. All in all, a lovely, well located hotel.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbbishamTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

The Post Hotel was just what we needed: A beautiful, semi-wilderness getaway from city life, but with many of the comforts of home.

We stayed in the Whitehorn Cabin by the river. Adorable structure, excellent location, just steps from the main building, but different enough to feel special. We stargazed from our immaculately maintained little "yard" at night, fell asleep to the soothing sounds of the water flowing nearby, and during the day, sat in the adirondack chairs watching the scenery and admiring the flowers blooming on the cabin window ledges.

Unfortunately, we pulled ourselves away to do sightseeing all around Banff, and wish we'd spent more time enjoying the property. We didn't get to use the pool or hot tub or other hotel amenities, but these areas looked nice.

The cabin was cozy for two, with a comfortable bed, nice wood-burning fireplace, sofa seating, and a small bathroom. Our biggest complaint was that the room smelled fairly strongly of fireplace soot, especially when we awoke the next morning (and despite ensuring the flue was open). It's possible the issue has since been fixed by chimney sweeping?

We also had a couple other hotel residents peeking in our windows during the day to check out the cabin, although privacy wasn't a significant issue. The furnishings were fine, but a bit outdated and not particularly attractive. Staff expertly prepared our fireplace wood/kindling for us each day.

The common areas were well-maintained, and the hotel desk staff were abundantly friendly and helpful, taking plenty of time to map out hiking trails, activities, etc. Parking was easy in the large, free lot. As city folk, we did find ourselves a bit leery of imagined bears in the darkness as we walked around at night.

We had dinner one night in the hotel's acclaimed fine-dining restaurant. The food was quite good and well-prepared, and wine options were plentiful, although neither stuck out as particularly one-of-a-kind exceptional. The service was good, but we were a bit frustrated that the waiter was reluctant to make recommendations, even when we pressed for them.

The location of the property was well-positioned for sightseeing, access to town amenities and overall seclusion. We paid around $350/night during the shoulder season, which is a bit of a splurge for us and for staying in the wilderness, but in this case, a worthwhile one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finickytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The rooms are super comfortable and the bed one of the best I have ever slept in. The bathroom is simply luxurious. Massive jacuzzi hot tub in the bathroom of the room I was in. Free wiifi was perfect. Parking free too.

The spa and gym were fully equipped and in perfect condition. Everything worked and was clean and new.

The location is fantastic alongside a flowing river with a 5 minute walk to the Lake Louise Mall/Shopping Center. Lake Louise itself is a 10 minute drive up the mountain but I prefer to stay away from the crowds and visit the sites at my leisure. Breakfast was scrumptious. A veritable feast with huge choice either buffet or a la carte. (N.B. if offered fresh juice as you sit down this is not part of the buffet price but additional).

I never managed to have dinner in the main restaurant (which I gather is fantastic) but because I got back so late from taking photos every night I went to the Outpost Pub on 3 different evenings.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were ALL very helpful and courteous.
I would go back in a flash and stayed for 5 nights having only intended to stay for 3!
I can totally understand why they are part of the Relais and Chateau group. They deserve it and if you are after a more personal experience with a family run hotel then this is your place.

Room Tip: It doubt it matters. They all looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARINAROSEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Booked this little gem from afar and upon arrival, really delighted. I completely enjoyed the rustic and welcoming elegance of this property along with the really pleasant staff and international staff. The lobby area is very inviting with views of the property in comfy chairs ~ the perfect spot to sit and read the paper or a good book in the morning or evening. This was a little treat trip for my mother who lives in Calgary, so my 10 year old daughter and I shared a double room with her and felt like we were in great shape. The room itself is not large, but it is pleasant, cozy and restful. The beds are very comfortable and have nice linens and really nice comforters. The bathroom is very nice with a jacuzi tub and up to date sink area with plenty of nice fluffy white towels. The pool, steam and exercise areas were enjoyed, especially on the cool, rainy evening on which we arrived. We appreciated the turn down service, complimentary chocolates & bottled water while we were at dinner.

We ended up dining in the Outpost Pub, which is attached to the Hotel but accessible from outside. It was very casual, but the staff were friendly and accommodating and we enjoyed the traditional French onion soup along with a glass of wine. There are TVs on the walls and a fire place ~ thought it would be wonderful in the winter after a long day skiing. There is plenty of kid friendly options as well as a home made soup of the day and fresh specials. A decent wine list and selection of local beer and cocktails is offered and the staff were willing to accommodate requests.

Although this lodge type hotel is older, we found it to be very clean and well maintained for its age. The grounds are very inviting with lush plantings of summer blooming color and manicured grass lawns along with white adirondack chairs about. To me it is the quintessential alpine experience. I am anxious to come back and stay in one of the little cabins next to the meandering river which have their own wood burning fireplace. I'm also anxious to try the lovely restaurant next time as well.

Another bonus ~ complimentary WiFi from your room ~ just ask for a password at the front desk. There is also no parking fee at this hotel. Really, I thought it was great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canafornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing