We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“change your duvet covers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Portola Valley, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“change your duvet covers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Has an amazing reputation for its food which was quite good for Canada. We ate 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts. Surprised it was rated #1 food in Canada, but it was good. I would not feel comfortable bringing kids to dinner here. The maitre d' is this way-too-serious older man who is straight out of an eastern block movie set.
The indoor pool and spa was very nice. The rooms were tiny and boxed in and the first thing I noticed was that their duvet covers were so faded I could barely recognize the green flower print on them. They really need to be changed. The bed was comfortable. The bathrooms were nice but so small that two people could not be in them at the same time...like a cruise ship bathroom.
Overall I would not stay here again since i do not think the value for the room quality was worth the price.
The front desk staff was average, the bell staff was eager, friendly and excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrisFamilythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    161
    62
    37
    17
See reviews for
186
482
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

so here we are coming from the hustle bustle town of banff, having stayed at a magnificent
castle-like hotel (banff springs) and having walked some wonderful scenic walks. my wife and 2 'kids' (21 and 19) had never been to alberta before. i had been to the area 30 years ago
camping in the campgrounds and backpacking. i remembered passing by the chateau hotel
by lake louise-what a setting but very large and 'busy'. so on returning to the area these 30 years later i booked the post hotel. the lake louise area is very different than banff. there is no town strip to walk, no multitude of souvenir and fudge shops. there are a few free standing restaurants for dinner but most restaurants are hotel based ( and expensive). there are certainly nature walks but more challenging hikes (day and backpacking) here than in the banff area. when we pulled up to the post hotel it looked like a typical chalet style hotel/motel.
then we walked into the lobby and quickly saw this was not the case. the valet and desk staff were super friendly and helpful. the room we booked was for 4-a loft arrangement. the beds
were comfortable with a bowl of fruit and turn-down service with a chocolate, a nice touch.we
had a whirlpool in our bathroom we didnt use with a nice shower bathroom downstairs. the terrace ovelooked the river with a mountain view opposite. after a rain we glimpsed a magnificent rainbow capping the mountain. a short walk over a river bridge takes you to a
small but nice shopping area- 2 nice cafes, a reasonably priced though simple restaurant and
a supermarket. other shops too and the visitor center (hiking and tourist info). lake louise is
a 5-6 minute drive, and moraine lake is a 10-15 minute drive-well worth it to visit both. we took a 6-7 mile hike with a guide (Great Divide-great folks wonderful hike) in the moraine lake area. there are great hikes available, with and without guides, all over the area ,including along the icefield parkway toward jasper. one negative about the post- the main restaurant
menu may be gourmet and unusual but the price was certainly off limits for us. there is their
version of a lower priced lounge(the outpost) but we chose to eat elsewhere. by the way-my
daughter had a massage at the spa and said it was awesome and my wife said the pool area was peaceful and soothing.
peaceful and re

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkaholictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

wonderful place to stay, be sure to book a room with a view to the river,
After a day of hiking the spa area is great
don't forget the dining lounge, you may have to make an reservation

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RidethewaveEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. California
Level Contributor
358 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights while visiting Lake Louise. As a high-end hotel, the service and room were exceptional. A beautiful building with manicured grounds, next to a river and a few minutes walk to the outdoor L. Louise mall and Visitor's Center. An upscale Queen bedroom included a loveseat, armchair, coffee table, desk and chair, flatscreen/dvd, safe, humidifier, disposable slippers, robes, nightstands, patio, wood beam ceiling, full length mirror plus another mirror, no inside door to adjacent room in our Room 129, and the wife loved the lighted makeup mirror in the bathroom. Bed turndown service provided with bottles of water left on the nightstands and chocolates on the pillows. I loved the card left with the next day's weather forecast, and it was more accurate than the newspaper and internet weather sites!

We didn't try the highend restaurant, but did have a dinner served in the Pub. It is hidden at the far end of the hotel and not advertised, maybe the hotel only wants clients to eat there. It is a pub, small, dark, with some tables/chairs, but many sat at sofas and ate off of coffee tables. It was filled with families, crowded and noisy. Burgers, salads, etc. were on the menu, plus a special of the day. We had the 1/2 chicken special, highly spiced, it upset my stomach but not my wife's.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bglhvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Beautiful hotel with great service. The Fairmont has a better location, but I'd stay here again if given a choice.

The hotel feels small and rustic rather than big and corporate. The restaurant is fantastic, particularly for breakfast.

While it is a short drive to the lake. The Post is still in a beautiful location and a perfect jumping off point for heading up to Jasper or down to Banff.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Converse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotel is so comfortable and inviting on a mountain stream. It is not on Lake Louise, the Fairmont has that spot, but is probably preferrable because there are not buses of tourist everywhere in your hotel.
Everywhere you turn in the common areas there are fresh flowers, even the men's restroom. I know because my husband was so impressed he showed them to me.
The best feature of the hotel is the dining room. Dinners are the best in the area. My husband and I were so pleased that we made a point of dining here again on our return from Jasper to Banff. I seldom eat twice in any restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetflossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here for one night, on the last day of our Canadian Rockies trip.
The bed was very comfortable, room and very clean and cozy. We loved the whirlpool tub very much. The location is great. There is a small mall with a grocery shop and a liquor shop. Staffs were very friendly.

The pool and sauna close at 9 pm, i think this is too early. This is the only thing i didn't like about this hotel. I think this hotel is worth the price. It is a great hotel for a couple who would want a romantic vacation at one of the most romantic places on earth.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing