We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you stay on the non-train side and your stay might be nice.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Make sure you stay on the non-train side and your stay might be nice.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We requested a quiet room when we made our reservations. Nothing was said about trains running throughout the night right next to the hotel. Our room faced the train, parking lot, and afternoon sun. The room had no or little air-conditioning so it remained hot throughout the night. We could not use the balcony or open windows due to the noise from the parking lot and trains. Because they could not move us to the other side of the hotel without a large added cost, we moved to the Fairmont for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ORhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    161
    62
    37
    17
See reviews for
186
482
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Being the best hotel in the area we were expecting a lot, however we were disappointed. Yes the staff are friendly and the location is good (particularly if you have a car), but negative points were the room was small and smelled musty, the balcony was so narrow you had to turn your chair sideways if you wanted to sit out there, the view of the gas tank in the parking lot, the kitsch Hansel and Gretel architecture (you may find this cute), having to pull the heavy solid wood unit out to get at the electric plugs, the slow Wi-Fi (1 Mbps), the poor quality of some TV channels, no air conditioning or tea & coffee facilities, the spa you pay for even if you don't use it and of course the Canadian Pacific railroad going past about 50 yards from the front door. The restaurant in the hotel is unaffordable but there is an 'English Pub' across the car park for the financially-challenged majority. Chocolates and water are distributed at the ridiculously late hour of 8:45, by which time, if you have any sense, you will be asleep and dreaming that your next hotel will be a bit better.

Room Tip: Even number rooms look out on to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

While in Banff, we stayed here, Moraine Lake Lodge and Fairmont Springs, and we liked here best, regardless of the price.

First, the location. It's ideal. You can go to a supermarket in 5 minutes by car. You can take the highway in about the same time. You can go to Lake Louise in 5 minutes by car and you can go to Moraine Lake in 8 minutes by car. And it is located in a very quiet area. You have the best of both convenience and serenity.

Second, the facilities in general. The grass lawns will remind you of the Wimbledon. The reception area is very nice, reminiscent of some exclusive college's alumni office. The whole atmosphere is very pleasant. Swimming pool is not big but has everything you need.

Third, the food. Meals are expensive but very tasty. For those price-conscious like myself, I would recommend dining in the pub. There you can order hamburgers and other small meals, and the quality is almost on par. The French onion soup I ordered was among the very finest that can be had anywhere, including Paris.

Fourth, the surroundings. The stream nearby is exquisite. Although you cannot swim there (water is too cold) you can sit by the stream and the sound refreshes you. I would highly recommend getting one of the isolated cabins adjacent to the stream. If you are not staying too long, it would be worth the extra cost. Otherwise, try to get one of the rooms in the main building whose windows face the stream side. Make sure it is on the ground floor so that you can have the entire lawn as your playground.

Next time we go to the Banff, we will stay here throughout our time there.

Room Tip: Ask for the side that does not face railway track -- but you may have to pay extra for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enpassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

wonderful chalet-themed lodge nestled in the Canadian Rockies. Something for everyone. Plush accomodation. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Post Hotel is in a magnificent location. The staff are friendly and cosiderate. The rooms are well laid out and room service turns the bed down at night leaving a chocolate, bottle of water and weather forcast for the next day. The biggest disappointments were no room fridge or tea and coffee facilities and the train noise although I did not hear any after about 1am.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byllda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Beautiful place to stay.
We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a very good position - close to shops,restaurants and only a short drive to the lake - we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel looks already from outside very nice. Inside as beautiful. Friendly service and clean rooms. The big problem: many rooms face the train track that is right next to the hotel. While during the day it is nice to count the trains passing by, in the night it is close to impossible to find some hours sleep. Even so we pay over 250 US dollar per night, the hotel did not want us to give a room on the other side without a upgrade fee. At lease the earplugs have been for free. If you want to stay for longer either you stay at the quite side or choose another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing