We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the mountains are beautiful, if you can ignore the cargo trains”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the mountains are beautiful, if you can ignore the cargo trains”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

called hotel and personally asked for 4 quiet rooms (jet-lagged elderly guests). arrived late to our large king rooms with working fireplace and jacuzzi tub (however, NO airconditioning with 90 degree heat wave - were offered a noisy half broken fan). The only consolation was the fan acted as a partial sound machine to partially drown out the repeated cargo train traffic that flew by the train track all night long. Reception desk was not very helpful, did not offer to move us, but upon checkout told us there actually were rooms on the other side of the hotel (overlooking the river - and the highway). Skip the pub - unless you want to drown your sorrows. Give yourself a well deserved rest and book the superb Chateau Lake Louise

Room Tip: stay away from this nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    161
    63
    37
    17
See reviews for
188
484
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

What a wonderful hotel.

Incredibly comfortable and elegant rooms, all done in a beautiful mountain decor.

Perfect service. Yes, PERFECT! These folks really known how to run a hotel and a restaurant. (That's unlike pretty much every other hotel or restaurant in the area -- the norm is to staff up with university students on their summer vacations. Not here. True professionals.)

The restaurant is to die for! Best meals of my life in the hotel's dining room.

The only inconsistency was our one meal in the pub. We thought we'd try it for something different. It was traditional pub food (and pub qualify) . . . quite a few notches down from what's served upstairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and it was totally first class! From the moment we drove up we were treated like royalty! The scenery is absolutely beautiful...everything about this hotel was great!

Room Tip: Since we only stayed one night, we chose one of the smaller rooms with a queen bed. Next time, if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkotzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
240 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This property is clean with a good location. The problem is there are many choices as good or better for way less money. We paid over $400 a night for a riverside room because the cheaper rooms are on the railroad tracks and we are light sleepers. The rooms are very typical of many of the big chains. The room was hot and stuffy so I tried to turn the air on which I could not figure out. Called the front desk to find there is NO AIRCONDITIONG in a $400 room. The restaurant which is supposed to be one of the best in Canada did not impress It was not bad it just did not shine like a 5star should.mediocre at best.The spa was star at this hotel. The pool was very clean and the steam room was wonderful with eucalyptus infused steam.

Room Tip: If you must stay here and money is not a problem stay in one of the cabins along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeMorrisIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! You pay top dollar for a mid level at best hotel! The most important thing you must understand with this hotel is there is NO AIRCONDITIONING and there is a train track right next to the hotel! If it was any closer it would be in the lobby! Therefore you can be hot with the windows closed and sleep or comfortable and cool but not sleep because of the noise! I would expect this from some 2 bit hotel but not for a luxury hotel. The staff lied and said that no hotels in the park have AC but we stayed at the very nice Rimrock Resort in Banff prior to coming here and they had it. They also had no concierge at the Post which for a hotel at this cost is unbelievable! I asked staff about hiking recommendations and they had not clue. I guess that most people that stay here just use the spa.Also the spa and pool close at 9 which is an hour earlier then any other hotel we have stayed at and we travel a lot . So if you are active and take long hikes by the time you get back from dinner it will closed. BTW Lake Louise has very limited dinner options so we found we had to drive to Banff to get dinner. There is no mini frig in the rooms either which again I found odd . Finally the rooms are a little dated again more like a mid level hotel then a luxury hotel, although I will say from the outside this hotel looks grand, I would stay in Banff at the Rimrock it is much nicer and cheaper too!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Poddoc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Post Hotel & Spa for two nights at the beginning of July. Upon on arrival we asked if they have any room with a nice view and they went through all the trouble to show us three rooms which we could choose from, We stayed in 107 which was facing two beautiful cottages with the river in between. When sitting outside you can gear the river passing by which is so relaxing. The room was good size, very clean. I didn't expect a lodge to follow a 4-5 star hotel standards but to my surprise post Hotel stood out.
We also used the gorgeous blue swimming pool which was crystal clean and quiet and the nice jacuzzi and steam room which was a delight after hiking day.
Location of the hotel is fantastic, 5 minutes walk from a plaza which has a bakery, grocery store, liquor store, Tourist information center, I found that very convenient.
I really wished I could stay more in this hotel and I am looking forward to going back soon. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jax
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed for one night in the fairview cabin. It was a bit pricey, but we thought well worth it for a night on the river with a great view. The cabin sits right on the river. Beautiful flower boxes were in the windows. We slept with the windows open to the sound of the river. The bathroom was a bit on the small side. The room itself was roomy. The bed was very comfy and the sheets were nice and soft. The furniture was nothing fancy. They had wood in the fireplace ready for a fire. There were 2 chairs outside the cabin so you can enjoy the river and mountain view. The grounds were very beautiful with flowers everywhere. There was no coffee pot in the cabin, but coffee was provided inside the main building. At night they provided bottles of water and chocolates at turndown.

We ate at the pub for lunch one day and the restaurant for dinner another day. The pub lunch was good and the lady that waited on us was very friendly. We had the burger and ribs. I will review the dinner separately. But, I will say it was outstanding!!!!

Another nice thing was that you could walk over the pedestrian bridge to the village shops. There was a great bakery (forgot the name, but it was really great!) and a wrap shop named Trailhead cafe. There is also a small grocery store. We got wraps to go and went to the grocery store for water, chips and fruit and took it all on a picnic.

We would definitely stay here again for a night and at the fairmont lake louise for a couple if we ever make it back.

Room Tip: The cabins on the river are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing