We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, clean & charming hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing, clean & charming hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The space is slightly rustic but the atmosphere is very relaxing. The bathroom was pristine, the lawn was manicured, everything was pretty close to perfect. The cottages looking out at the water are beautiful. The restaurant is amazing & the spa is nice. The Post is a beautiful relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    161
    62
    37
    17
See reviews for
186
482
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lake Louise is an easy two hour drive from Calgary, and is beautifully set in the mountains. We had a planned dinner event on Friday, and drove to the hotel looking forward to a two day break. This historic, well maintained, log hotel is in the heart of the little village. The hotel is run and owned by two Swiss brothers who are the epitome of hospitality, and pass their standards on to their staff. Everey we saw was pleasant, courteous, caring, attentive, and interested in us as people.
The rooms are clean, tastily furnished, and comfortable. The bathrooms are superb, with jacuzzi type tubs. The pool and activites are excellent. However, what you really come to the post for, is outstanding food and wines, and once again we weren't disappointed. The kitchen and dining room teams are superbly managed and highly professional. The food is as good as we've ever had anywhere, the tastes brilliant, the presentations wonderful.
All in all a perfect way to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Don't rush up here, spend a day, have a great meal, and leave next morning. You deserve to pampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelBroadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Post Hotel early October 2013. The Post, belongs to the Relais & Châteaux organization. So we came with certain expectations but were not disappointed.
The room and the service were perfect and left nothing to be desired.
Dining was an experience in itself. Superp local food and quite unexpectedly a gigantic wine list. We chose a BC wine and can only recommend to try the same.
Obviously, the accommodation had its price. Breakfast, though, was not included which is a shame. We chose to have breakfast in a nearby coffee shop.
We were also concerned about the noise from the freight trains which run alongside the premises but the windows shut tightly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ecumsecum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Post Hotel & Spa is part of the Relais & Chateau collection of fine independent hotels.
It is located in the small town of Lake Louise, it is about 15 min by car to the Lake Louise.

The rooms were clean, yet a little outdated. The lobby is very cosy, the public areas are well maintained, there even is a guy whose only job is to care for fresh flowers every day.
The owners are swiss, and so the restaurant has lots of swiss food available.

To choose the room is a little tricky. The rooms to the south are cheaper, yet they face the parking lot and a railway line, while the rooms to the north face the river. I prefered my room to the south for the great views on Mount Temple and the afternoon sun on my private balcony.

The noise from the railway line might be too much for some people, these should look for a room on the north.

I stayed 5 nights and felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canyonlands2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Outstanding amongst the top class hotels we stayed at during a month-long trek across Canada. From arrival to departure, service was excellent. Accommodation and tranquility as expected. Food and service exemplary. Only slight bore was tramping above our bedroom in early hours one night but not repeated. Cigar Room a treat; would that it survives the bureaucrats' attentions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Although this is a medium sized hotel it feels cosy and welcoming - inside there are cosy couches in front of roaring fireplaces; outside the river runs through the grounds - either sit on the porch or leave the door is open and listen - if you're not relaxed after all that then book a session at the spa, you need help :)

Rooms are large and have an outdoor area - the cabins looked wonderful!

The rail road is close - on the other side of the river (I did watch a freight train go though during the day, but either nothing went past in the night or it didn't wake me! Either way it wasn't a bother).

What really stood out was the food. Two restaurants on site - fine dining upstairs and a snug bar downstairs (which uses the same kitchen as upstairs). I had Thanksgiving dinner in the bar and was wowed by it!

Internet is free, breakfast is not included. Spa and pool on site.

Short drive up to Lake Louise (hotel has shuttle, so no need for the car if you want to leave it behind); short walk to the village shopping area and visitors information.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We went into the library bar for and after dinner drink and had a beautiful glass of Honig Cab. The bartender was so helpful and let us taste a couple of wines before we settled on the Honig. We did not stay at the hotel, but wished we had. The cottages next to the river looked so nice, we will be back to stay.

Room Tip: The river cottages are lovely, a bit pricey, but worth it. The rooms in the lodge looked great also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing