We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel in the perfect setting”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
“Perfect Hotel in the perfect setting”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is the perfect little winter getaway. Walking in was like opening up the doors to a Hallmark Christmas movie. The holiday decor was beautiful, paired with the sweetest little ice skating rink on the front lawn. It felt magical every time we opened the doors to walk in.

Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful from the shuttle driver to the ski resort to the waitstaff to housekeeping. They all seem genuinely happy to be working in such a beautiful place.

There were 3 other families with us, I thought the rooms were a little outdated decor-wise, but, they were super clean and I totally think they went with the rustic setting. The staff was super helpful by bringing a crib and setting it up for us on the night we arrived and worked with our schedule for a refresh each day. Our room was on the creek side and we did not hear a thing from the train, our friends across the hall did not mention it bothering them although they did hear it and they had small children. They also had a nice DVD collection for you to check out a movie. We were able to build a fire in our room every night and cuddle up and watch a movie. It was a great way to end the day.

We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, just breakfast, but that was fantastic. The Pub food I would give a 3 out of 5 stars. There is also a cute little trail to walk to a little shopping area that has a coffee house, bakery/deli, grocery store and some shops. That was about a 5 min walk or less and nice to have to pick up some things for our fridge to keep on hand for the kids. We checked out Banff and a couple other spots for dinner.

I was treated to the spa by our friend for a facial and body scrub. I thought the prices were pretty high and I have had better facials for much less, but, the body scrub was great and I couldn't really complain since it was a treat and the spa was gorgeous and I left feeling relaxed and refreshed.

I would chose this spot over and over again - it was a perfect choice for the location. Smaller, quaint, rustic and exactly what you would want for a mountain vacation.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the creek side of the hotel. We were up on the third floor in the king suite with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    163
    63
    37
    17
See reviews for
191
489
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We had tasting menu-7 courses (CAD105 plus $60 for wine matching)-it was excellent-the courses started off reasonable size with main meat and dessert quite large. I think I like the cinnamon marinated salmon starter and their version of magnum ice cream my fav.
There was a few California wines on the matched menu, but the very experienced waiter gave me the chance to swap one with a Bordeaux which I appreciated.
We went back 2 nights later to enjoy more of the wine list. We sat in the bar lounge and enjoyed a half bottle of Chablis Premier Cru and a bottle of St Emillion Grand Cru with an antipasto plate. The food was a great size, lots variety for $20. The wine was excellent value for the ambience and service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were lucky enough to secure one of the cabins on the river’s edge and what a Glorious setting. Arriving late afternoon we took a drink by the river from the Post’s famed wine list. The snow and ice still on the ground but nearly 20 degrees and sunny we had great weather for our visit.
After a family dip in the pool Mrs C had a well-earned massage in the mountain spa, simply put the best treatment ever.
With the children in tow we were going to eat in the Pub, however after meeting Andre one of the owners he persuaded us to take dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent, achingly fresh Canadian produce cooked in a European style (the rougie foie gras the highlight) but it was the service that really stood out the team were brilliant with our boys.
After breakfast the next morning we bumped into George who looks after the Grand Award winning list and took an impromptu tour of the amazing cellar.
Easily the best place to stay in Lake Louise by a mile and it was our favourite on this trip.
Thank you Andre and George

Room Tip: Go on, take a log cabin !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASC611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The space is slightly rustic but the atmosphere is very relaxing. The bathroom was pristine, the lawn was manicured, everything was pretty close to perfect. The cottages looking out at the water are beautiful. The restaurant is amazing & the spa is nice. The Post is a beautiful relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lake Louise is an easy two hour drive from Calgary, and is beautifully set in the mountains. We had a planned dinner event on Friday, and drove to the hotel looking forward to a two day break. This historic, well maintained, log hotel is in the heart of the little village. The hotel is run and owned by two Swiss brothers who are the epitome of hospitality, and pass their standards on to their staff. Everey we saw was pleasant, courteous, caring, attentive, and interested in us as people.
The rooms are clean, tastily furnished, and comfortable. The bathrooms are superb, with jacuzzi type tubs. The pool and activites are excellent. However, what you really come to the post for, is outstanding food and wines, and once again we weren't disappointed. The kitchen and dining room teams are superbly managed and highly professional. The food is as good as we've ever had anywhere, the tastes brilliant, the presentations wonderful.
All in all a perfect way to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Don't rush up here, spend a day, have a great meal, and leave next morning. You deserve to pampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelBroadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Post Hotel early October 2013. The Post, belongs to the Relais & Châteaux organization. So we came with certain expectations but were not disappointed.
The room and the service were perfect and left nothing to be desired.
Dining was an experience in itself. Superp local food and quite unexpectedly a gigantic wine list. We chose a BC wine and can only recommend to try the same.
Obviously, the accommodation had its price. Breakfast, though, was not included which is a shame. We chose to have breakfast in a nearby coffee shop.
We were also concerned about the noise from the freight trains which run alongside the premises but the windows shut tightly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ecumsecum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Post Hotel & Spa is part of the Relais & Chateau collection of fine independent hotels.
It is located in the small town of Lake Louise, it is about 15 min by car to the Lake Louise.

The rooms were clean, yet a little outdated. The lobby is very cosy, the public areas are well maintained, there even is a guy whose only job is to care for fresh flowers every day.
The owners are swiss, and so the restaurant has lots of swiss food available.

To choose the room is a little tricky. The rooms to the south are cheaper, yet they face the parking lot and a railway line, while the rooms to the north face the river. I prefered my room to the south for the great views on Mount Temple and the afternoon sun on my private balcony.

The noise from the railway line might be too much for some people, these should look for a room on the north.

I stayed 5 nights and felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canyonlands2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing