We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Christmas Gathering”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husbands office held their annual Christmas party here which worked out beautifully. As usual, we were greeted at the desk by helpful staff that seemed to truly care that we were there and were happy to make our stay exceptional.
The evening dinner was in a private dining lounge. The food and service was very well done in spite of it being such a large party ( perhaps 60-70 people). The cigar lounge was closed which made a few sad but I thought was an improvement.
Our rooms, as always, were rustic luxury. The beds are very comfortable. The fruit basket was appreciated. The real wood fireplace was laid so all we needed to do was strike a match and enjoy.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely, again, with very good service and wonderful choices from the menu. Although we hadn't brought our skates, there was a beautiful rink just outside the restaurant. (and it was -40* brrr).
This was our 5th or 6th time staying here and each time it has been a pleasure. Although we didn't indulge this particular time, I can highly recommend the Chefs tasting menu and wine pairings. I have always enjoyed every bite of the cleverly conceived and perfectly executed menus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is the perfect little winter getaway. Walking in was like opening up the doors to a Hallmark Christmas movie. The holiday decor was beautiful, paired with the sweetest little ice skating rink on the front lawn. It felt magical every time we opened the doors to walk in.

Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful from the shuttle driver to the ski resort to the waitstaff to housekeeping. They all seem genuinely happy to be working in such a beautiful place.

There were 3 other families with us, I thought the rooms were a little outdated decor-wise, but, they were super clean and I totally think they went with the rustic setting. The staff was super helpful by bringing a crib and setting it up for us on the night we arrived and worked with our schedule for a refresh each day. Our room was on the creek side and we did not hear a thing from the train, our friends across the hall did not mention it bothering them although they did hear it and they had small children. They also had a nice DVD collection for you to check out a movie. We were able to build a fire in our room every night and cuddle up and watch a movie. It was a great way to end the day.

We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, just breakfast, but that was fantastic. The Pub food I would give a 3 out of 5 stars. There is also a cute little trail to walk to a little shopping area that has a coffee house, bakery/deli, grocery store and some shops. That was about a 5 min walk or less and nice to have to pick up some things for our fridge to keep on hand for the kids. We checked out Banff and a couple other spots for dinner.

I was treated to the spa by our friend for a facial and body scrub. I thought the prices were pretty high and I have had better facials for much less, but, the body scrub was great and I couldn't really complain since it was a treat and the spa was gorgeous and I left feeling relaxed and refreshed.

I would chose this spot over and over again - it was a perfect choice for the location. Smaller, quaint, rustic and exactly what you would want for a mountain vacation.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the creek side of the hotel. We were up on the third floor in the king suite with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had tasting menu-7 courses (CAD105 plus $60 for wine matching)-it was excellent-the courses started off reasonable size with main meat and dessert quite large. I think I like the cinnamon marinated salmon starter and their version of magnum ice cream my fav.
There was a few California wines on the matched menu, but the very experienced waiter gave me the chance to swap one with a Bordeaux which I appreciated.
We went back 2 nights later to enjoy more of the wine list. We sat in the bar lounge and enjoyed a half bottle of Chablis Premier Cru and a bottle of St Emillion Grand Cru with an antipasto plate. The food was a great size, lots variety for $20. The wine was excellent value for the ambience and service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeanenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were lucky enough to secure one of the cabins on the river’s edge and what a Glorious setting. Arriving late afternoon we took a drink by the river from the Post’s famed wine list. The snow and ice still on the ground but nearly 20 degrees and sunny we had great weather for our visit.
After a family dip in the pool Mrs C had a well-earned massage in the mountain spa, simply put the best treatment ever.
With the children in tow we were going to eat in the Pub, however after meeting Andre one of the owners he persuaded us to take dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent, achingly fresh Canadian produce cooked in a European style (the rougie foie gras the highlight) but it was the service that really stood out the team were brilliant with our boys.
After breakfast the next morning we bumped into George who looks after the Grand Award winning list and took an impromptu tour of the amazing cellar.
Easily the best place to stay in Lake Louise by a mile and it was our favourite on this trip.
Thank you Andre and George

Room Tip: Go on, take a log cabin !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASC611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The space is slightly rustic but the atmosphere is very relaxing. The bathroom was pristine, the lawn was manicured, everything was pretty close to perfect. The cottages looking out at the water are beautiful. The restaurant is amazing & the spa is nice. The Post is a beautiful relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lake Louise is an easy two hour drive from Calgary, and is beautifully set in the mountains. We had a planned dinner event on Friday, and drove to the hotel looking forward to a two day break. This historic, well maintained, log hotel is in the heart of the little village. The hotel is run and owned by two Swiss brothers who are the epitome of hospitality, and pass their standards on to their staff. Everey we saw was pleasant, courteous, caring, attentive, and interested in us as people.
The rooms are clean, tastily furnished, and comfortable. The bathrooms are superb, with jacuzzi type tubs. The pool and activites are excellent. However, what you really come to the post for, is outstanding food and wines, and once again we weren't disappointed. The kitchen and dining room teams are superbly managed and highly professional. The food is as good as we've ever had anywhere, the tastes brilliant, the presentations wonderful.
All in all a perfect way to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Don't rush up here, spend a day, have a great meal, and leave next morning. You deserve to pampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelBroadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Post Hotel early October 2013. The Post, belongs to the Relais & Châteaux organization. So we came with certain expectations but were not disappointed.
The room and the service were perfect and left nothing to be desired.
Dining was an experience in itself. Superp local food and quite unexpectedly a gigantic wine list. We chose a BC wine and can only recommend to try the same.
Obviously, the accommodation had its price. Breakfast, though, was not included which is a shame. We chose to have breakfast in a nearby coffee shop.
We were also concerned about the noise from the freight trains which run alongside the premises but the windows shut tightly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ecumsecum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,762 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,110 reviews
6.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £211 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing