We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, disappointing hotel.”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I had seen lots of great things online about the Post Hotel and Spa. And to its credit, the hotel is lovely appearing, the personnel friendly, and the restaurant outstanding. However, we had two large problems: (1) our room was on the "standard" side, which faces the train that runs very frequently all night long; after we complained, we were moved to a room on the "preferred" side, away from the train (yes, the hotel actually refers to the sides as "standard" and "preferred"!; (2) our beds were exceedingly, unbelievably hard, like sleeping on blocks of wood. These rock-hard beds were in both of our rooms. We slept horribly both nights. It was a huge disappointment, given the "splurge" we'd made on such a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank possibilitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

We reserved a very comfortable twin room through Expedia which had a decent price for this area. The room was not extremely spacious, but certainly adequate for our day exploring the park. It was on the ground floor with a patio which made coming and going super convenient and was located right next to the morning complimentary coffee service, another bonus. The hotel is quiet and luxurious in an understated way with beautiful grounds, flower boxes and a river running behind it. We had previously stayed at the Fairmont and I actually liked The Post much better than the cold, impersonal and crowded Chateau Lake Louise, albeit not located lakeside. The Post has a totally European feel,- cozy and comfortable yet elegant. It is super conveniently located right across the foot bridge from Lake Louise Village. A short drive will take you to the lake and other points of interest and a stroll across the foot-bridge will take you to Laggan's Bakery for delicious picnic sandwiches for your day in the park. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is a fantastic hotel. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, and take real pride in providing an excellent level of service. The facilities are first-class, from the well stocked, comfortable library to the 'pub' found on-site. The extra touches, like the nightly turn-down service, really enhanced our experience. We really hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeedaSeaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This hotel is overrated only because it is smaller and more "mountain rustic" feeling than Chateau Lake Louise. The location is bad because over half the rooms overlook the parking lot and a train track. The trains come by loudly throughout the night. Also, the only outdoor area to lounge outside is a small lawn facing the parking lot and rr tracks. So book a cabin along the creek if you go-- that way you get a decent view and two chairs to sit by the river. Plan to drive to Chateau Lake Louise in order to start most of your hikes, biking or canoeing because it is all over there. If I were staying in a place like this I would look into staying at Baker Lodge about 6 miles down the road because it would cost less, has a great restaurant and the cabins seem seem about the same as the Post. The spa did look nice but you can go there even if you do not stay there I think.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cascader8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I visited the Post Hotel with my two daughters to celebrate my daughter's 50th birthday. It is very overrated. It was a choice between the Fairmont Chateau Louise and the Post. We chose the Post because we had heard that the Fairmont was old and not rennovated. There is no comparison...It is like comparing a Rolls Royce to a Chevy. The Fairmont Lake Louise is the Rolls and beautiful in very way. After one night at the Post we were able to move to the Fairmont...and what a pleasure. The Post has no view...at most a small creek and a parking lot. The Fairmont overlooks a majestic glacier. The Post is a small hotel while the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is much like an elegant French Chateau. The standard room at the Fairmont is much larger with two queen beds...the Post standard room has two double beds. The hotels are comparable in price. The Fairmont offers several hiking opportunities, biking and canoeing.
At the Post a railroad train can be heard nightly, interrupting your sleep.
Finally the service at the Fairmont is excellent...the staff is friendly and efficient.
I am a seasoned traveler, having visited Europe, China, India, South America, etc.and I enthusiastically recommend the Fairmont Hotels in Lake Louise, Jasper and Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank egt35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The marvellous experience starts as soon as you enter the lobby. The staff at the reception desk acts very professional and friendly. Our room was great with a fantastically comfortable bed. The breaktfast and the service there were gorgeous. The location of the hotel is very convenient for all kinds of activities in the National Park. We are looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weltreisender09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Arrived at Lake Louise in the rain with no Hotel booked. Visited the Tourist Office which was very helpful and recommended a few hotels within yards of the small centre of Lake Louise. We viewed a couple of them and found them dull and uninspiring. Yes, we were only staying one night but wanted it to be memorable. Behind the tourish office is Post Hotel, a beautiful place that was not mentioned to us in the office. You can't miss it, it has red roofs and some cabins set along the river's edge outside the main building. It is far more expensive than any other hotel in the centre, more in line with the Fairmont prices but what a place. It is Swiss owned and has been for many years. The syle is oldish plush. Our bedroom was overlooking the river, large with a log burning fire (spare logs stacked underneath), beautiful bathroom. Everything we could want. The dining room looked lovely but we did not want a large meal. They have a pub on the premises which serves more simple food and suited us that night. It was very good.
We feel it was an absolute find and would recommend it to anyone if they wanted a special night. It is much smaller than the Fairmont and is only a few miles away from Lake Louise (4, I think) where you can have a lovely visit to see the lake and wander around. It was out favourite place over the seven nights we spent in Alberta. It is a Gem but you get what you pay for. Don't miss it.
Berkshire, England

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleanor060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,336 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
944 reviews
6.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £194 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing