We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit over-priced”
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after staying in Fairmont Lake Louise Chateau hotel. We did not choose cabin room, instead we selected the honeymone suite in the main lodge building. The room is very spacious with a fireplace in the room and a balcony looking at the lodge cafe downstairs. The room price we paid is about the same as what we paid in Fairmont Lake Louise deluxe lake view room. But we did not get the view we expected. Because of trees blocking all the view towards the lake, we can't get a good view of Moraine lake from our balcony.

Breakfast is so so, but the dinner (served in same restaurant) is really good!

In Aug, it won't get dark until 9pm. So it's really nice to take a walk along the lake after dinner when no more crowds around. That's the advantage of staying in this lodge.

Hotel servie and reception staff are all very good. The free hiking trip they organized for the guests is also a nice add-on.

If you plan to stay in this lodge, my recommendation is to choose the least expensive room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJ2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed one magnificent night. The ground floor room was very close to the main lodge. When I entered - a wall of windows greeted me. My view was flowers, trees and the lake. The fireplace was a special treat, as was the late evening canoeing. My room was modern, cozy and well decorated. Aveda products in bath...The restaurant/dinner was also very very good, as was the complimentary breakfast. There is no TV, no spa, no exercise room....the dinner is high $$$, as is the price of the room. The Lodge scores low on value for your money, but the location is very special. Lake Moraine is small, but a wonder on earth. Would I return...YES...would I stay more than one night NO....

Room Tip: Worth one night ..location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindasm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at this lovely Lodge for four nights late August. Location was fantastic as were the views from our lodge. Short drive to Lake Louise Village, Lake Louise and other attractions in the area. Staff were outstanding and could not be more helpful. On site hiking guide (Hannah) was an absolute delight and one of her hikes is a must. You can paddle a canoe or sit in your lodge in front of the fire overlooking the lake. What a fantastic place. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in cabin 23, great view. Very nice room with fireplace, balcony and a spacious bathroom. Seems to be the closest cabin to the main lodge. Parking spaces right in front of the door.

We arrived early and front desk were super welcoming. They gave us a voucher to go canoeing in the lake to make time up for the room to be serviced. After the 1 hour canoeing session we came back and the room was ready, even though it was still a couple of hours before check in time. We had a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary.

Breakfast is also complimentary and we had dinner as well - it is 14 km down to lake Louise, the closest place where you can find a restaurant.

Everything (room, dinner) is very expensive so it scores low on value, but this is a very special hotel in one of the most special places on Earth so worth a try and would do it again. It was the most special place we stayed in our 2 week trip of Canada.

It has none of the amenities commonly found in hotels half the price - TV, pool, fitness centre, massive rooms, etc. So if that's what you're looking for you'll be disappointed. But it has so much more: your room TV is the fireplace and your fitness centre are the hiking trails. The pool is only for the brave or mad - the lake is about 6 celsius...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at Moraine Lake Lodge and only wish it had been longer. The setting is stunning with the lodges overlooking the impossiblly blue Moraine Lake and in our opinion more beautiful than the more populated area of Lake Louise. Each lodge is beautifully appointed with large comfortable bed, sitting area, log fire and bathroom with robes, slippers and lovely toiletries, just pefect afetr a hrad days walking. I was delighted to receive a complimentary bottle of champagne for my birthday celebration a wonderful touch from a staff who clearly take great pride in the service they provide. he dining room served some delicious meals and a substantial breakfast and we and our two teenage daughters really enjoyed using the complimentary kayaks provided on the lake. the treats went in and on with afternoon tea in the lovely lounge area and a wonderful cogpffee shop with perfect items for a picnic and a very well stocked shop. There is a price to pay for this luxury and you have to choose your time well as the lodges only open for 4 months ( May - Aug) of the year but well worth it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our deluxe cabin had a spectacular view through the trees to Moraine Lake. The bed was delightful with a plush feather doona. The very friendly staff assisted us without hesitation. As an example, When the dining room emptied after a delicious dinner, we asked if we could move in front of the fire for coffee and desert and we were moved without hesitation.

Room Tip: While the Lodge is expensive, the access to this beautiful lake without battling for parking makes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Rowanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After a lot of research, we ended up staying at the Moraine Lake Lodge for our anniversary. We waited a week to celebrate, just so we could stay at this beautiful place. I did research, and nothing had compared to this location in my opinion.

The staff that checked us in were very friendly, and drove us to the cabin in a golf cart. We stayed in a cabin along the lake, it was beautifully decorated, and VERY clean. Having instructions on how to light the fire, and having it prepared for us was an added bonus (we would have just made a lot of smoke, and gotten nowhere).

The restaurant is pricey, but had amazing food. The complimentary breakfast was nice as well, I was just expecting bagels, and cereal, but they had hot items as well. They also have a deli during the day, and can have packed lunches ready for you. We also went into Lake Louise, and picked up snacks, and drinks to keep in our room at night.

All the staff at the lodge were friendly, and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

MY SUGGESTION: Check the weather, and such before you go! We booked June 1st (the first weekend it opened) and everything was 90% frozen still. It was really disappointing considering I booked the cabin for the view of the lake. A lot of the hiking trails were still snowed in as well. For some reason, NONE of this occurred to us when we booked. We still had a blast though!

Room Tip: Cabins by the lake have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita_Grai86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,762 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
901 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,110 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: 1 Moraine Lake Rd, Lake Louise, AB, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: £375 - £607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing