We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice....”
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had been to Lake Moraine on other occasions and consider it to be the most beautiful place in the world. So what better place to stay for asking my then girlfriend to marry me? The lodge is very nice, staff is friendly and helpful, food at the restaurant was great... The only issue I had was the price of a nights stay....

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a cabin along the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

A stunningly beautiful lodge with glorious views. The rooms are immaculate with high quality furnishings and linens. Our room had a verandah which looked out right over the lake. We loaned a canoe which is free to lodge guests and paddled the lake alone, bliss. We enjoyed rising early and climbing the 'rock pile' to watch the sunrise, so tranquil and serene. We ate in the restaurant and were very happy with the food and service. We would love to visit here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Chose this lodge because they have an on-staff naturalist who leads hikes (my husband didn't want to hike, and I needed a group - they require a "tight" group of 4 to hike in Banff). Did two great hikes w/ Heather, one of those to Larch Valley - a great sight to see in the fall. Everytime my 65-year-old body thought I couldn't go another step, she magically stopped, and said, "Let's take a break for a minute". Thank you, Heather! Scenery here is second to none in the world. We stayed in a cabin on the lake - loved having the wood-burning fire place (had snow while we were there). Restaurant was great - a little expensive, but you are in the middle of nowhere, and should expect to pay more. All the staff were enthusiastic and friendly.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the cabin on the lake - wood-burning fireplace - if you're there when it's col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConwayRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful place, with stunning views from the main lodge and the cabins. The room was wonderful with a verandah overlooking the incredible lake and mountains. We went on an organised hike with the resident naturalist who was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and the area in general - we thoroughly enjoyed the morning spent hiking with her. We also enjoyed the nature talk given one evening. Breakfasts are good and the restaurant excellent (slightly pricey). This is a very special place which we will never forget.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My childhood dreams of Moraine Lake being a quiet, rustic place are shattered.

The new lodge is very nice. The 'cabins' are duplex structures with lake and forest views. Interiors are 'rustic chic'. Excellent beds, linens, toiletries, complimentary champagne. BUT the new lodge and cabins do not provide the tranquil mountain experience one might expect at that price point.

It's hard to enjoy ones balcony with zero privacy; hordes of noisy tourists staring up at you from the public pathway just below. I felt as if we were on display in a store window.

The staff was wonderful: friendly, attentive, helpful as they can be.

The hotel food:

Buffet breakfast (included in room rate): run of the mill pastries, fruits, juices, chafing dishes of bacon, eggs, sausages, and pancakes, French toast, etc.

The dinner: On a scale of 1 to 10 for resort hotel food, a 7. Adequate, but not outstanding for the price. Beautiful quality steaks, but Chef.... STEP AWAY FROM THE SALT SHAKER !!! Seriously. And your onion soup could use some wine or seasoning, maybe a little gruyere on top?.... but no more salt, please.

The reason for going to Moraine Lake, Hiking:

Unfortunately, the HORDES of tourists that arrive every morning by car and bus, swamp the place until dusk, turning Moraine Lake's trails into human pinball machines. The premier trails are literally plugged by long lines of people. Yes, the scenery - lake, glaciers, peaks, larch trees- is stunning, but the hiking trails are PLUGGED by large groups of loud, slow bussed-in tourist groups who must stop in the middle of the trail to rest. Most tour bus tourists do not know trail etiquette (resting off the side of the trail) and that's okay until there are so many of them that it takes 2 hours to hike up a 1 hour trail.

Decades ago we hiked the Larch Valley, over Sentinel pass, down the Paradise Valley and saw just a few hikers..... I savor that memory.

It's a crowded world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Moraine Lake Lodge is located approx. 14km from the Lake Louise Village area, but SO worth it.
Do yourself a favor and stay here. The rooms are beautiul and overlook the lake, which in my opinion is way more beautiful than Lake Louise. It's a small property with a nice restaurant, a deli and a rather good size gift shop. We had a Deluxe King cabin which had a nice bathroom, the sleeping area and a small sunken living room w/fireplace and the biggest picture window I've ever seen, overlooking the trees and lake. There was a small deck big enough for two chairs and a small table, and an AMAZING view.
They also include a breakfast buffet in the cost of the room, which was very good.

The only drawback is the crowds of people who come and go during the day to hike, rent canoes, etc. down below at the lakeside. There is a large parking lot that you drive through to get to the hotel's entrance. There were cars and RVs lined out beyond the parking area. The crowds don't interfer with the hotel area, but you can see and hear them down along the lakeside most of the day. It didn't bother us at all, but it can get crowded. We hiked along the lake, all the way to the backside...and climbed the Rock Pile twice for the unbelievable views. Wow! These two trails were very busy during the day, but as the it got closer to dinner time, they thinned out. All in all, a great place to stay and worth the cost!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent 4 days at Moraine Lake and enjoyed every moment. We would have liked longer. Our room was located in one of the separate cabins and was front line to the lake. There were a fair number of tourists passing by, but our stay did cover a weekend and was at the time Larches were turning.

We would suggest that a weekday stay might be better those who prefer less tourists around them, but we spent most of the day either walking with Hannah or visiting the many alternative venues within a short drive, so for us it was not an issue.

At night, after supper, we were able to enjoy the comfortable sitting area and log fire.

The restaurant food was of a very high standard as was the level of service that we received from all of the staff who were both friendly, approachable and found time to talk, including the GM.

We would certainly like a return visit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,754 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,429 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,041 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
882 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: £372 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing