We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply amazing”
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is absolutely gorgeous with a rustic and cozy feel. The staff is very welcoming and goes above and beyond the call of duty every time. For example, I forgot a simple inexpensive necklace during my engagement weekend there and the staff took the time out of their day to email us and send it to us! I was very impressed by that initiative because the necklace had sentimental value but this was only the cherry on top to show that this place is a must visit :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our room was beautiful with a wonderful fireplace. Had dinner in the Restaurant food great and the Staff were fantastic. If you want a more private and special experience Moraine Lake is the place for you. The scenery is stunning and the atmosphere serene. "loved it".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stay here for 2 nights last weekend (June 27-29th) We were able to book one of the cabins with a beautiful view of this gorgeous lake. We arrived at about 2 pm - I had asked for an early check-in but our room was not available. No problem - we decided to go for a paddle on the lake. Just fantastic! By the time we finished about an hour later our room was ready. It was very nice (Cabin 7) but actually smaller than I thought and for $625/night it was a bit of a disappointment. The Wifi is very sporadic which we knew would happen - you are in the wilderness. Anyhow we sat on the deck and had some bubbly that the hotel had left for us in the room which was very thoughtful as we were there to celebrate a special occasion. We had made reservations for dinner. The dining room is lovely with a great view of the lake but our food was not great at all. Both of us were very disappointed with the food both nights. No taste, tough pheasant and bison. I had the Sable fish the second night - it was cooked very well but there was no taste. The wine list is fairly good.... Breakfasts were better.
So - a fabulous location but they need to work on the food aspect in our opinion and again for the price you pay we expect more.
The staff was very friendly and we met some lovely people from all over the world.
Our hike to Consolation Lake with the staff naturalist was really fun. We also did the lake trail and the rock pile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalgaryDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you have a lot of time on your hands and need to get away from city life or the just a nice weekend getaway. This is the best ever for peace, quiet, scenery and for making any serious life decisions you may be contemplating.The restaraunt has a wonderful menu and the staff are awesome! There is a gift store with a lot to offer.

Room Tip: We went on Canada Day and it was still not too busy. I suppose that is because it was on a weekday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishF117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time, were able to unwind to the fullest, had beautiful scenery and exceptional staff. The breakfast (complementary) were out of this world. Every once in a while, we wish we had Wi-Fi that worked more effectively along with some of the creature features we've come to appreciate back home…but the point of the place is to be low-tech I suppose so just know what you're getting into and embrace it :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Well we did see some bears but as yet no moose or Mountie .
The location here is simply out of this world with views of the lake and surrounded by mountains .
We are not what you would call out door types but we loved everything about this place , Easy walks or hikes if you wanted . Lake Louis is near by and Banff an easy drive .
Staff were great and the restaurant although a little pricey was pretty good value taking the location into account .
We stayed in one of the lodges in the grounds , fabulous ! Loved lighting the fire every night ( haven't done that for years )
Smashing place to stay .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BInck113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabins are architecturally well designed and very comfortable. We loved the low corner with its fire place and comfortable seating in front of such a dramatic view of lake and mountains in Cabin 18. It was very cold and misty while we were there but we could enjoy the view and watch the birds and wildlife in comfort. The restaurant meals were good. The staff were extremely helpful. A highlight was the "Birdbrain" talk.

Sarah - Australia

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,754 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,429 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,042 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
882 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: £372 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing