We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Way overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked king room. Way over priced. Average stay. Breakfast was average to below average, but helpful due to location of the lodge.
Spider in our bathtub.
Staff behaviour was average too. There are not enough peddles and life jackets for the guests in case you want to canoe in the morning. Only three sets are available. Rentals open at 10 AM. Did not try the guided hiking tour.

Room Tip: Double bed probably is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    127
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
97
493
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lake Morraine is a 15km drive out of town. The road ends at this beautiful lodge which observes the lake and ten stunning glacier clad mountain peaks. Our welcome at reception was awesome. Our room in the main lodge was rustic, cosy and very comfortable, equipped with a gas free standing fire and all the amenities one could need. The room had no TV or phone. For this location, just perfect. Our balcony overlooked the lake and incredible peaks. Immediately outside the lodge are numerous trails either lakeside or up into the mountains. We dined in the restaurant on 2 nights. The service was splendid and the food exceptional. A fabulous place to spend a few nights and reach out to nature. An 11/10 experience.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge as it has the best lake views, especially the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Let me begin by saying that this is a beautiful, small lodge located immediately adjacent to major trailheads leaving from Moraine Lake. The lake, itself, is beautiful with a color that must be seen to be believed. So, as you can imagine, the views from the small "cabins" are quite nice.

Our concern was not with the surroundings, but with the value of the rooms. Our cabin, for lack of better term, was so small as to barely accommodate our suitcases. When I say that you have trouble turning around in it, take my comments quite literally. Now, we're not expecting a 500 square feet suite in the mountains, but for the cost of the room, we did expect more. At half the price, it would have been a great deal.

The service at the lodge is very good...delivered by a young, enthusiastic staff who seem grateful to have a summer job in a pristine environment. They were delightful.

The food is good, not great. Again, we were in the mountains...so our expectations were tempered as were our needs. I would opt for breakfast, since it is included in your exorbitant room price, but consider other options for dinner.

Absolutely take advantage of the canoes on property. The lake takes on a very special charm when you are immersed in it.

So, like so many high-end national park properties, the surroundings are gorgeous, but the value of the room is questionable at the rates charged.

PS: Be sure to hit the trails by 9:00 a.m. unless you want to be part of the "pack." My wife and I like a bit of solitude when hiking, which is hard to find in peak-season.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pd2think
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardedeu, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Amazing Lodge in front of the lake.
I had the dream to visit that astonishing place at first second I got a puzzle with the Moraine lake landscape on it when I was a child. It's worth it.
Lodge's staff is young on average, with many boys and girls that do their best to attend, advise and help guests with anything.
There's a canoe rent service that is free if you are staying at the lodge. A very kind guy and a beautiful girl will help and teach you if you want to try canoe out.

Room Tip: Cabins might be expensive, but they are the best deal for a romantic night for a couple. Sights to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepinhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The view is beautiful. Everyone should visit Lake Moraine but stay elsewhere. No TV and No wi-Fi in room but spotty wi-Fi in library. The room over our room was burning their fireplace and the smoke was coming down into our room. We had to open all our windows to air out our room at 11pm. Very noisy if on ground floor. If it rains, there is nothing to do.....you better like to read.
Restaurant is very expensive. Breakfast that was included in room price, was mediocre and they kept running out of food.
Not worth the price. Overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed six nights at the lodge. It was a splurge, but worth every penny (and then some). The staff treated us like absolute royalty! The buffet breakfast every morning was phenomenal. The view from our room...spectacular. We took advantage of the kayaks and were often the only ones on the entire lake. We didn't realize that last Sunday was a Canadian holiday, but it did not feel like it because Moraine Lake limits the number of tourists at the lake. Devin did an amazing job leading our hikes. He is very knowledgeable and it is refreshing to see a young man so enthusiastic about his job!! We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23. It was extremely quiet and had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 576terrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We just came.back to Moraine Lake for the third time, and this time we were fortunate enough to be able to stay in one of the amazing cabins with an indescribable view of the majestic turquoise blue lake!

In my opinion, The scenery of the valley of the ten peaks reminds me of that of the Grand Canyon without the unbearable heat and the lake is the most beautiful of all the Canadian clear blue lakes!

Service in the small boutique hotel was second to none, dinner in the restaurant was far better than we had expected, very high-end gourmet dinning my wife had elk steak, and I the seared scallops, and rack of Lamb, with an very enjoyable wine list featuring some excellent Canadian, Californian and some other international wines.

The breakfast was also very tasty!

On one of our other nights we ate at the lodges sister properties in nearby field, Cathedral Lodge - again our meal was exceptional!

Our room was lovely with a working wood burning fire place (that we used every night) in a sitting area with a large window that looked out to the breathtaking lake mere steps from our cottage. We also had a nice small deck which my wife and I would sit and enjoy a glass of wine on prior to dinner!

While you are at Moraine, you must climb the rock pile, a short 30 min. Hike up hill to an amazing view, and the lakeshore trail, also about 30 mins. both easy walking trails. You also need to rent a canoe and go out onto the lake and just take in all the beauty surrounding you!

We used the lodge as a home base travelling to Banff, Jasper, Lake Louise and Revelstoke. Yes we love to spend time in our car seeing the sights along the way!

Other things we did and I would strongly recommend is the Lake Louise ski hill gondola ride, where we saw bears. The Athabaskan Ice-fields, Johnson Canyon, the Bow Valley Parkway.
Other great restaurants we enjoyed while on our trip other than the two lodges, the Salt Lick in Banff - Fantastic, Jasper Brewing Company- Jasper - food and drinks were delicious, The Village Idiot - Revelstoke - entertaining.

As mentioned this is our third time to Moraine Lake, I believe it is a real north American gem that should be on everyone's bucket list!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelingCanuck714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Property: Moraine Lake Lodge
Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing