We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce hotel”
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“NIce hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our experience at the Mountaineer Lodge was nice but not spectacular. It is centrally located in the tiny lake Louise area. As we were driving around the area we discovered smaller cabins that were in more scenic locations. Our room was clean and had two queen sized beds. The lodge has a nice whirlpool area which seems fairly new. There is no restaurant on the property but you can get a 10% coupon to a local restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelajoela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    476
    350
    157
    67
See reviews for
432
559
64
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
371 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We needed a stopover between Jasper and Revelstoke and I made an advanced reservation six months ago for $149. I chose this hotel based on the price and reviews. We never spend much time in the room. What you get is a clean, efficient, no frills room in an expensive part of the Rockies. We stayed in a second floor room in the older building. There is no elevator so hauling lots of luggage up the steps could be an issue.

We used the fan provided. It helped create a diversion against the noise of other guests and trains. We slept fine and I only recall hearing one train the whole night. They really should put mini refrigerators in these rooms, they even have space for one. We had a cooler so it wasn't an issue for one night. The internet was not the best, but did the job. The TV actually had a good picture considering it was a small standard set.

The staff was friendly and helpful during check-in. We walked to Bill Peyto's Cafe for dinner and had a very good meal. We would have no problem staying here again in Lake Louise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed in the Mountaineer Lodge at the end of July for one night. It was the best value we could find in the lake louise village area. We stayed on the second floor of the older building. Had to lift all our bags up the stairs. Our room did not have any AC. There was a lovely hot tub area located in the reception building which was nice after a long days hiking. The lodge is located very closed to the lake louise shopping area, about a 2minute walk. Its about 4km from Lake Louise itself, and its uphill all the way to the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

short walking distance to shops including grocery store, touristy stores and most importantly, a liquor store. friendly staff. Rooms were ok - no a/c. nothing Special. unfortunately, the wifi didn't work in the rooms. Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeggeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

stayed in room 206 (deluxe queen) on 2nd floor of main building. reception located downstairs. Good: central location in village, within walking distance to supermarket and info centre across the road, spacious room with large windows. Bad: outdated and drab furnishings, if staying on 2nd floor note there is no lift for your luggage. the train ran close by, can hear it. old tube tv. room had slight musky smell upon entering, had to open windows to air out. poor night's rest from loud humming sound all night (sounded like we were located next to the laundry?). Overpriced if this was in any other town, but for lake louise this was the best 'value' we could find. So if you must stay in lake louise, and dont want to spend a fortune nor is camping/youth hostel your style, then this rather average hotel is it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have stayed at the Mountaineer Lodge each of the past seven years; usually for at least seven nights during June and/or July. During past years, we have found it to be the best value in the Lake Louise area. We choose a room on the second floor in the newer building (where the office is located). For our tastes, the chairs and bed are comfortable, and the microwave and refrigerator are welcome. Good and reasonably priced meals within short walks of the Mountaineer are found at The Outpost Pub and the Hostel. Ownership and management have changed this year, and we realize that the transition period can be difficult. The high standards for housekeeping set by the previous owner/managers are not currently being maintained. Standards for maintenance and hospitality remain high. For our stay this year, housekeeping came to our room during the afternoon, sometimes late afternoon after we had returned from hiking and wanted to relax and enjoy our room; hanging the hotel-furnished “Please Service Immediately” sign on the door when we left in the morning had no effect. This is not a criticism of the housekeeping staff, but of the management who should set and maintain standards. There has also been no inspection after housekeeping cleaned the room during our current stay as there has been in the past. We plan to stay here again next year in the hope that management improves as things settle down after the transition period.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlf37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If you are heading into the Canadian Rockies and want to be comfortable every night, stay at the Mountaineer Lodge. You can easily drive to places all over Banff, Jasper, Kootenay, and Yoho National Parks from Lake Louise, returning each night to your clean room with all your belongings and your own bottle of wine in the frig. Lots of great hiking. Try the tapas menu at the Lake Louise Fairmont one night. Banff is a busy and upscale spot, though fun for shopping and great restaurants if you need a break from the great outdoors.

I would avoid Kootenay Park Lodge. Looks like everyone else already knew that. The recent flooding in Kootenay limited hiking in that park, but do stop at Marble Falls--it's just amazing, and just a half hour of easy hiking.

I wouldn't bother with anything in Glacier. The Glacier Highland Resort in West Glacier is the absolute worst overnight experience I've ever had. I'd rather repeat the night I spent with black flies and chiggers in a tent in Ontario's wilderness than spend money there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,592 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing