We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, great service!”
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel is nice, quiet, clean and 8 mins from Lake Louise ski resort. The free bus pick up is right in front of the lodge. Everything is within walking distance. There's a cute little breakfast place just across the street from the hotel. The room has a little fridge and a microwave. Nothing fancy but everything we needed. Everyone at the front desk was really nice. They provided directions and restaurant recommendations. We booked our room via inntopia and they sent the hotel the wrong room type but they moved us as soon as we showed them the receipt. The only negative thing about this hotel is that the free Internet was so painfully slow, but we found that to be true at the other hotel we stayed on our trip too.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank QBM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

We travel to Lake Louise often for skiing with our family. This was the first time we stayed at Mountaineer Lodge. We have a family of five, 3 boys aged 14,13, 9. Our first impression was that it was warm, clean, cozy and had friendly staff. Our room was a fair size and adequate for our size family. The pull out couch needs to be replaced as the mattress really sagged in the middle. Not a big deal though. Our room was nice and bright. The lodge is within walking distance to the gas station, shops and restaurants. As well, a five minute drive to the ski hill...perfect ! Price was pretty good considering other options in this little village. I hear that they will be adding a breakfast which would be great. We liked this lodge and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 115. Perfect for our family of 5. Had two nice big windows. It's at the end of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

While the property could use some upgrades, bedding,rooms etc. This property fit my needs perfectly. It wasnt near as busy or loud as some other places close by. The train tracks are kinda close but the fan in the room did help cut the noise a bit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank objets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large. The only complaints were the internet was slow and the pillows were not the most comfortable. You can hear the trains that go by in the night.

This is a good hotel in Lake Louise. It is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FastEddie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Booked this hotel a little last minute and at first impressions I was a little worried about what we had gotten into. However once we had settled into our rooms I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very clean and warm. (Which for -20 C was great) the rooms are a good size and come with tv, fridge and microwave. These were great additions as there is no restaurants or cafes attached to the hotel. The only real complaint I have is that the hotel makes some strange noises throughout the day and night which can be quite load and actually woke me up during the night. The only thing I could think that it was is the wooden beams on the outside of the building creaking with the changes in temperature. If you are looking for somewhere to stay close to the mountian and don't want to break the bank with a hotel then I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very friendly staff. Spacious clean rooms ,spacious and comfortable. The location is easy to find and walking distance for shopping. Perfect location for taking pictures. Will definitely visIt again. This is an affordable,ideal over night stay if you are travelling and want to do sightseeing in a beautiful area with lots of things to do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elithea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The hotel is only 5/6 km from Lake Louise in a beautiful and quiet place.
Room was clean and size was good but in need of refurbishment, beds comfortable.
Only few minutes walk from the hotel there is the Mountain Restaurant for good meals.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puffin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
907 reviews
1 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
6.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £94 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing