We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Exactly Chateau Lake Louise - but a convenient alternative”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Monsey, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Exactly Chateau Lake Louise - but a convenient alternative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

We stayed 1 night at Mountaineer Lodge in Lake Louise. We booked directly on the hotel's website and emailed with staff who advised us to book in the main building. We were not disappointed. While the hotel is definitely not in the same category as "The Chateau", the price was not either. We had a nice size, clean room, with 2 queen beds and a micro-fridge. The hotel is in a convenient location, right across the street from the village and shopping. Lake Louise is a short drive away and Lake Moraine is little further, but not far. If you want to stay in the Lake Louise area, but cannot afford the luxury of "The Chateau", we would recommend the Mountaineer Lodge as a convenient alternative. .

  • Liked — Convenience to surrounding area
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsey-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    464
    342
    155
    64
See reviews for
417
539
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

Stayed here for one night. The lodge and room it's self was fine. Room clean and spacious. The whirlpool was nice after a long day hiking. The issue was the bed itself. The mattress is not on a box spring but on a box made of wood on the floor. It was so hard and uncomfortable, it contributed to us being packed and out of the room by 6:15am. The pillows are also of the cheap flat foam variety. This is unfortunate because over all this is a decent place.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kimbo-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

Book a room through their website which was easy enough. Price of the room was a little less than other hotels in Lake Louise. All the furniture was our of the 80's and the bedspread was very faded and stained. Staff was friendly and helped us find a nice restaurant. I would recommend that you pay a little more and go to a hotel that has a restaurant and other amenities.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Dated rooms, lack of services, no view other than from the parking lot, train would go by in the middle of the night.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank justWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

After you get over the shock of hotel/lodge expenses in Canada, this is an ok place . Yes expensive. Yes not fancy but adequate. Rooms were large, sofa, two beds, ....we did not stay long. Was convenient to the little strip (only strip) so that we could walk over and get food at the bakery. Do check out the food at the hostel, it was delicious. Seems overpriced but hey, its canada.....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EcoAdventuretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prittlbach, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

It doesn't take you long to check out all accommodations in LL. This one looked decent, and it is indeed. The room was nothing special, but it's ok, I was just glad we were put in a room that was as far away from the train track as possible, because the trains literally run through the backyard of this lodge. They do have a nice hot whirlpool in the main building. It was a pleasant stay for 1 night, and I guess most properties in LL village do have some noise issues either from the train or from the highway.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

We usually stay in less expensive "gateway" communities near national parks, but decided to splurge on a stay at Lake Louise. Based on numerous good reviews, we booked two nights ($290 a night) at the Mountaineer Lodge four months in advance. Of the eleven places we made reservations for our vacation, the Mountaineer was the only one that immediately charged the entire first night's stay as a deposit, and it was the only one with a stringent cancellation policy. This should have been a clue. At check-in, we were charged the second night's stay, before we were given a key or had even seen our room.

The Mountaineer's website warns that the rooms do not have phones or air conditioning. But it doesn't mention the trains or the paper thin walls. Nor does it say that there is no tub but only a ridiculously small shower. And it certainly doesn't say anything about the horrible sagging, lumpy beds. Along with soap, shampoo and lotion, they really should provide a bottle of Aleve.

The "Junior Family Suite for 1 - 6 persons" turned out to be only slightly larger than a room at a Super 8 motel. Adequate for two people, maybe three, certainly not six. And it lacked even the ambience of a Super 8. Unlike the photos on the Mountaineer's website, there was no sliding glass door looking out on a grassy, tree-lined area.

Lake Louise itself is magnificent and we didn't expect to spend a lot of time in our room anyway. But for $290 a night, we did expect at least a relaxing shower and a comfortable night's sleep at the end of the day.

In retrospect, we understand why the Mountaineer was so quick to charge us, and why they impose a 7 day cancellation/forfeiture policy. Obviously they want to make sure they've got your money before you find out you aren't getting anywhere near your money's worth. If not for their forfeiture policy, we never would have endured the second night.

  • Liked — Close proximity to Lake Louise
  • Disliked — Terrible beds, terrible shower
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Densha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

My family and I went to Lake Louise in July of 2006 and extremely enjoyed our vacation there and so we decided to go back again in August of 2007. Based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to stay at the Mountaineer Lodge. When I got to the lodge, the reception area was very welcoming and very nicely decorated but the room was another story.

First off, there were no microwave or fridge. When I booked the room, it said that there would be a microwave and a fridge in the room. Also, the website never said that they only had fans available and no air conditioning. Besides those, the room was still dirty; there were large chunks of white flakes on the carpet floor next to the bed. The two waste baskets did not have any bags at all to hold garbage; we had to find our own bags to hold garbage. The washroom sink faucet was broken and the drain in the bathtub was clogged. There were no phones available in the rooms and so I had to walk out to another building where the office was located in order to talk to someone. When I got to the office and told them about the problem with the sink, the woman behind the counter told me that it has happened before and she knows how to fix it. So she goes to our room and temporarily fixes the problem with the sink. When I asked her about the problem of the missing microwave and the fridge, she said she cannot do anything about it.

My family and I have stayed at various accommodations over the years and never encountered a place that was as horrible as the Mountaineer Lodge.

We stayed at the Lake Louise Inn the year before and loved it. (We stayed at a room in their recently constructed building 5. The room was lovely and some even have a kitchen. The room also have air conditioning.) But because of the high ratings on TripAdvisor, we decided to give the Mountaineer Lodge a try and from our experience, we will never be going back again and we want to warn others to think twice before going.

  • Liked — The reception area.
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank violetsareblu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtnrldge, Management at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2007
The management apologizes for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay with us. As you stated you have visited our website, it clearly states we do not have any phones or air conditionings in any of our units, as well as only certain units have microwave and mini-fridges. We feel a guest has a certain responsibility to be more aware of our services and room types they are booking as we can not provide services we do not advertise. Being we do not have air conditioning, we provide fans for all units to accommodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
28.9 mi away
Kootenay Park Lodge
Kootenay Park Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kootenay National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing