We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. Just OK.”
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Mountaineer for 1 night. We were on the ground floor, and could easily hear people upstairs. However, during the night it was extremely quiet. No traffic noise either. It's in a great location if you want to stay in Lake Louise. The breakfast was pretty good, even though we found the dining room to be a bit odd, being downstairs, with no windows. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. We didn't use the hot tub.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

we stayed at mountaineer lodge in September and found it to be a very good hotel free breakfast was great and breakfast room was interesting with their Bavarian style décor plenty of parking space and the hotel is in a good position for the sightseeing. the staff are friendly and helpful and know about the sights in the area. rooms are clean and comfortable

Room Tip: get a room in the main lobby building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS THE WORST WE HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED. Our family travels every year, and this was amazingly BAD SERVICE. The "suite" was ok. Older decore, but clean... although our electric/fridge didn't work and we had to disturb the maintenance person late at night. Laundry area was clean and nice. Comp breakfast was the "usual." Back to the front desk - first, the front desk told us there wasn't a cot for my son (WRONG - we got one from maintenance/housekeeping easily). Second, they actually told us an area attraction was closed - WRONG, it was open, and we almost missed a chance to see it (thank goodness we happened upon an employee at a local restaurant!). Third, when asked about local weather, the front desk gal said, "I wouldn't know" (REALLY? Don't you work at a hotel in a tourist area? Couldn't suggest a website for us to check?). You had to practically call out to get anyone to come up from the back. As we were there waiting at the desk to check in, they were sitting in the back ACTUALLY BADMOUTHING another guest!!! I kid you not! Staff was unhelpful all times of day/night, not exactly rude.... but "bothered," and not helpful. This could be a VERY nice place - it is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. It is in a great location. Your front desk staff needs to be educated in the "hospitality business," they are more than lacking. This is the only bad review I have ever done and I hate to do it. Sorry, I hope it helps you better the magnificent place you have.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGWUpstate_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The breakfast was really good. We had a late change and they were happy to accommodate it. Washing machines and dryer worked well. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

And it was cheapest option. We only stayed one night so did not have time to try out the facilities so my review is about the room only.

It was clean but there was nothing fancy about it. Old tv, no closet, small-sized room so that once your luggage is in the room there is no room left for anything else. If we had ski equpiment I am not sure where it would fit.

The room served it's purpose and I did not have another $800 just laying around to try out the Fairmont. No complaints, but no bouquets either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorweerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for 3 days at this hotel.
It included breakfast. For proteins there were only hard boil eggs and the fruits were coming from can. One of the attendant had a very dirty uniform every day.
The indoor whirlpool is fabulous after a day of hiking.
We took the package with lunch and it is only one day lunch (it was delicious but not worst the extra charge). The beds were comfortable but the bathroom very small. There is a convenient fridge in the room.

Room Tip: If you like to use the whirlpool it is more convenient to have a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hotel met all it's promises. Clean room, well appointed, good wi-fi and good breakfast. Bathroom was clean. I like a firm bed but the bed was rock hard. Didn't get an opportunity to use the hot tub but it looked very inviting. Would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGoodFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,336 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
294 reviews
1 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £91 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing