We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountaineer Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise(Lake Louise)
US$832
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$550
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Baker Creek Mountain Resort(Lake Louise)(Great Value!)
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge(Lake Louise)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)(Great Value!)
US$334
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)(Great Value!)
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bow View Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
285
560
396
182
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
560
396
182
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard boiled eggscontinental breakfasthot tub and steam roomroom was cleanfridge and microwaveyogurtsamson mallconvenient locationwould stay againeasy accessthe lake louise areatwo queen bedsski hillshort drivecanadian rockieslodgejasper
Filter
Updating list...
1,190 - 1,195 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed there at the 3rd week of September 2013. The room was at the ground floor next to the entrance to the restaurant and facing the parking lot. It's quite noisy and feeling not good that people could see my room straight whenever I opened the door. I had to keep my curtain down all the time coz the only window is facing the lot too.
Besides, the room is very small. We had 2 languages and we could barely walk in the room.
The TV set is over 15 years old.
Given the price of about $200 at shoulder season, I think it's not worth.
Lastly, the breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Ask the room size and request for one not on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitus_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you Vitus_Chow of China for taking the time to share your stay experience. You have provided a good tip on your post regarding the room size and location. We regret that you felt that you didn't have much privacy or space. Yes, the Mountaineer Lodge does have a couple of small rooms with one queen bed on the ground floor. We would have been glad to make a room move for you. We hope that you had a wonderful visit to the Canadian Rockies. Should you return to Canada and to Lake Louise, please let us know you are previous guest and we will accommodate you in one of our more spacious rooms on the second floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were lucky enough to be travelling through the Rockies during the shoulder season and almost had the whole place to ourselves, including the lake!! Used the lodge on two occasions as a mid way stop over on our 2 week trip and it was just perfect. Complementary breakfast was sufficent and included tea/coffee, toast, fruit, creal and yogurt. All in all this was a perfect spot.

Room Tip: First level as access to second level is via stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaiser_Jonty_Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you Kaiser_Jonty_Geel for taking the time to share your stay experience at the Mountaineer Lodge. We feel lucky too to be in the Canadian Rockies, such a beautiful place. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. Visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very unprofessional Staff. Did not provide the room with microwave. Even though we asked and want to pay extra. They had rooms available but asked us to contact Booking.com if we want to change room. Very poor service. We had to eat cold and almost frozen fried chicken. Did not even help us to use kitchen microwave. Too pathetic. Will never stay there and never recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 598yahamatahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you 598yahamatahir for sharing your comments. We are disappointed and saddened that did not receive the service or solution you sought during your stay. It is not our practice to defer you back to the method of booking. Our standard is to do whatever we can to resolve any issues and ensure that our guests are satisfied. Your comments have helped me with training of our staff and ensuring that our service is personal and top notch. Sorry you will not be returning to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My partner and I were travelling around BC / Alberta in an RV and needed a bed and bath for the night and whilst near Lake Louise saw Mountaineer Lodge.

Great access to the car park for the RV so stopped and asked about availability and rates.
The receptionist was not very helpful, uninterested and I felt like we had interrupted whatever she had been doing previously. No offer of help with luggage, suggestions for dinner, newspaper or wake up call etc... We asked her about the spa which we saw from the reception desk she told us that it closed at 10PM (It was now 9PM) and didn't re-open until 10AM "But check-out's at 11" - I didn't feel we were made to feel welcome at all, little hospitality.

We tried the spa and it has steam room and jaccuzzi. The jaccuzzi wasn't working!!! But nice area and could exit from this area straight onto our bedroom floor.

The room (despite being told we were checked in to a Queen bed room had 2 King beds in) was large, had microwave and fridge - very useful, iron, hairdryer, tv.
The decor was a little dated (especially the bathroom) but clean.
BE WARNED the corners of the bed are lethal I hit my knee walking past it and it ballooned and is still painful.
We had a room on the side by the train line - not at all peaceful! But we could see the RV from our window.
The beds are made in a very special way...... you have to virtually unravel the top cover to be able to move a pillow and so have to re-make the bed again. I don't know if this is a traditional lodge way but not at all practical.

We got a Military discount however felt over priced for the offer, have stayed in better low priced hotels.

We didn't have breakfast but had been told it was continental.

On checkout the following Morning a different receptionist checked us out (Austrailian I think sorry did not capture her name) and we were met with the same bored, unenthused service. Very disappointing both had no interest and made no effort at all to engage with their customers ie myself and my partner.

There is a fuel garage close-by you can buy any snacks you may like, we did and used the microwave, a good movie night in!

Handy to get to lake Louise from this Lodge but unfortunately I wasnt impressed and wouldnt chose to go back.

Room Tip: Don't remember the number but ask for the side away from the train tracks
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Mountaineer Lodge is located in the Village of Lake Louise, which is directly off of the Trans Canada Highway and several miles away from Lake Louise itself. There are a number of hotels/motels in the Village. We picked the Mountaineer because it was reasonably priced.

Our room was very large, clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was included and the breakfast room is located in the basement of the building across the parking lot from reception. The breakfast room was large and the buffet had a good variety of hot and cold items. Breakfast was very good.

While we visited Lake Louise in September, it was very warm the two days we were there (80 + F). Since there is no air conditioning we had to sleep with the windows open which concerned us a little since we were on the first floor. If you're visiting in summer I suggest you request a second floor room as you too may need to open a window.

There is a major rail line that passes through the Village of Lake Louise and the rail line is within several hundred feet of the Mountaineer. We heard several trains pass during the night. That being said, that's true for any of the lodging establishments in the Village.

Room Tip: 1. If traveling in warm weather, consider a room on the second floor in case you need to open a window. 2. Several trains pass through the Village of Lake Louise during the night. Consider a room on the "road" side of the establishment. The road is a dead end and there's little traffic except for a gas station on the opposite side of the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boy_Scout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews