We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights stay”
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Toronto
1 review
“3 nights stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Overall experience is not bad, though some of drawers' surfaces were a bit dusty. Location is very good and convenient to access highway and local roads. Breakfast is sufficient, but could be better.

.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay. I trust you had a memorable experience while touring through Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    489
    357
    164
    71
See reviews for
448
578
64
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pros: beautiful location;
free buffet breakfast;
free wi-fi;
laundry room.

Cons:
no elevator;
musty room (solved by leaving the window open - lucky it was summertime!);
Thin walls - heard the neighbors at night and in the morning;
Laundry facility was very expensive;
Wi-fi was so slow we couldn't access the internet. (When we asked the staff, they said it was due to their being at full capacity and a lot of guests trying to log on. That was frustrating.)
At breakfast, we had to wait for several minutes for clean silverware to come out of the dishwasher.

The staff is nice but they seem overwhelmed with the flow during breakfast and with the demands of managing a hotel during peak season.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We definitely have a list of upgrades that we want to complete at our property and better wireless is on that list. Thus far we have made improvements with new beds, adding a breakfast room that did not exist with the previous owners and adding new fridges and microwaves. I trust you had a wonderful experience in Lake Louise and area. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here one night while on our way up from Canmore to Jasper. It was Heritage weekend, and there was literally no place else that had rooms. Our room had 2 queen beds. It was clean but expensive. Location is right off the main highway, across from a gas station and across the street from the shops. The breakfast was very good - yogurt, fresh fruit, waffle-makers kept my kids happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay at the lodge and enjoyed the amenities. I trust you had a pleasant experience in Lake Louise and the surrounding areas and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pleasant staff. Clean comfortable rooms.
Readily accessible. Close to the lake and shopping for supplies.
Great selection at breakfast although a little busy.
Bear sighting outside our window was a pleasant surprise. Rooms were comfortable although it was mountain air.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your room and amenities. What an excellent opportunity to have a bear siting so close as well, unfortunately we cannot take any credit on that. I trust you had a memorable experience exploring Lake Louise and Canadian Rockies and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I really hate going lower than three stars, I really do. I guess if there was a half star option, I'd go to 2.5. But, I can't go higher. First, for what you get, this hotel is ridiculously overpriced. The room was small, and kind of smelled musty. The television was an old tube style. We could hear the upstairs neighbors walking around. Breakfast area was packed and didn't have a ton of options. There is no view of the glaciers because it is blocked by trees, but it does have a kind of natural feel to it. Trains ran by all night long. Staff was friendly enough, no issues there. I was glad to leave this one in the rear view.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peydirt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Nantes, France
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Breakfast poor and no windows in the place where you eat. You can see the guy who does the washing up
We heard noice in the bathroom when others used it. It really necessary to refreshthis hotel. Very expensive for a family in july.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lake Louise is a pricey tourist hot spot frequented by young healthy adventurers; skiing in the winter, hiking and bicycling in the summer. The Mountaineer Lodge offers moderate rooms with most every convenience including the best possible bed and a small bathroom. One night there was a lady giving tap dancing lessons in the room upstairs but mostly it was as quiet as the towering mountains that surrounded it. There are two NEGATIVES that did not bother me. First is the total lack of elevators which might make it difficult to reach the breakfast room in the basement. The second was a lack of air conditioning which would only be a problem for a person wanting to spend the day in the room. That would be hard to do in such a pretty area.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcartours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
939 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,634 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing