We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleepless in Mountaineering lodge”
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Guetersloh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sleepless in Mountaineering lodge”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The mountaineering lodge gave a very good impression after booking. Lots of offers on helping us planning our stay. The actual stay was vera disappointing: the service is poor (are these students at the desk)?
The room is loud, because of trains passing close by. thwhole room needs an update (bathroom has mould betweent tiles, no air-conditioning)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    499
    361
    167
    73
See reviews for
465
587
64
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Good place to sleep while visiting Lake Louise and Moraine Lake area, if looking just for a place to sleep comfortably. Short drive away from both lakes, easy check-in/check-out, free breakfast (which is ok), etc. Would stay here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ansh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments, the information you have provided is very important to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodation while visiting us in Lake Louise. I trust you had a memorable experience in Lake Louise and area and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in May 2014 as part of our planned Canadian Rockies tour. We had originally planned to stay here on the way back from Jasper but had cancelled that leg of the holiday and stayed additional nights in Banff but still wanted to stay here, for the experience.
The weather was still cold and there was some overnight snow high up so we did not encounter any problems with no air con. The heaters worked fine. We chose the lodge because we were self driving and wanted somewhere with breakfast, wifi and laundry so we could keep in contact and also wash clothes and minimise the amount of meals we needed to purchase.
The Mountaineer Lodge fit the bill nicely for us and we had no complaints and based on our experience would stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities during your visit in May. We trust you will make it back to our area again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your arrival.

Warm regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed there for a night since it was the perfect location between Jasper and Banff... If I had payed half the price I would have been happy with it but not for the price we payed! It was basically a very overpriced motel and we felt ripped off! The beds were comfortable and it was reasonably clean although it had stained carpets and a very small bathroom... no air conditioning, the sound insulation with the rooms above was very poor... I thought it was raining outside but it was somebody upstairs having a pee... The breakfast would have been the highlight as the choice was very good including waffles that were delicious but at 8am they had run out of syrup and we had to have our waffles with honey or jam, seriously how difficult could it be to stock enough syrup if you are serving waffles? also when we arrived at 8am there was not a single table, we had to wait for 20 minutes... they seem to cater to tour buses, there were 2 parked outside our room... but still have a very small breakfast room with capacity for a few people... overall not a good experience for the price paid... next time I will drive an extra 40 - 50 mins and stay in Banff or Canmore, we'll pay the same but the experience will be better.
To the hotel I would say, either lower your prices or improve your logistics so that you can at least provide a decent breakfast experience...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our lodge. I was concerned to read that we did not; overall, exceed your expectations on your room and amenities. Pricing in the Lake Louise specifically is very high due to limited amount of rooms, the usual supply and demand scenario and as we move closer to September we see those rates decrease as well.
On a positive note, I trust you had a memorable experience exploring all of Lake Louise and surrounding areas and made it safely to next destination.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Bentleyville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Don't put any value on the free breakfeast. Better off eating at the local gas station. Everything on the breafeast buffet was the lowest of the low quality. Even the waffles were terrible. Place was like a public school cafeteria except it was dirty and grimmy. The only good thing was we didn't sick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I wanted to personally respond to your feedback from your stay and your details on our continental breakfast. Our breakfast includes waffle stations, cereals, choice of breads, yogourt and fruit. It is classed as a cold continental breakfast which we have found is very suitable to the majority of our clients based on the location of the room the facilities we have. Our apologies that the breakfast selection was not to your liking; however, I wanted to stress that the food itself is not of poor quality as we purchase from a reputable local company.

We hope you enjoyed your experience in Lake Louise and in Western Canada and have made it safely back to your residence.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The room was a nice size and clean except for hair on the pillow when I inspected the bed. Hot tub didn't work. Breakfast was missing items and not very good. Not recommend but ok if a bed is truly needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was very concerned to read that about the cleanliness of your bed upon arrival and the maintenance issue of the hot tub. We strive to be exceptional in our cleaning and we obviously fell short and for that we apologize.
I trust; however, that you had a memorable experience exploring Lake Louise and the Canadian Rockies and have made your way safely to your next point of your trip.

Warm regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a few days ago. Rooms facing a parking lot, no aircon,wifi did not work, breakfast was really poor...nothing was what we would expect for the price they charge. When we complaint at the reception, they took a note on a post it. In summary, really disappointing and expensive.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,670 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
718 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing