We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountaineer Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise(Lake Louise)
US$511
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$404
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)
US$270
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bow View Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,499)
Filter reviews
1,499 results
Traveller rating
285
559
395
182
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
559
395
182
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard boiled eggscontinental breakfasthot tub and steam roomroom was cleanfridge and microwaveyogurtsamson mallconvenient locationwould stay againeasy accessthe lake louise areatwo queen bedsski hillshort drivecanadian rockieslodgejasper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,018 - 1,023 of 1,499 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A very convenient location but without air condition in the room is not an excuse. The room and bed were clean. The front desk service just average as well as the breakfast. It is not a good value to the price that we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 148Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A comfy lodge with a gas station next door and some shops nearby for eats/supplies.
Noisy rooms as the walls are not soundproofed at all so if you are downstairs expect to be exposed to noise from both adjacent rooms the one above and one at the back. There is also no airconditioning in the rooms or exhaust fan in the bathroom. Parking is plentiful.
Breakfast is continental style, ie. toast, waffles, spreads, coffee/tea cereals and tinned fruit cover it menu wise, so if you are after something along bacon and eggs look elsewhere.
Spa and sauna area have towels provided and there is a supermarket within the shopping centre at the rear of the lodge for supplies at around a 20-30% premium over what you would normally expect to pay.
Be thinking Motel6 style accommodation with no aircon. TV in room was an old school CRT Flatscreen but worked fine.
Price a little steep for what it was for me but overall comfy and near to some good walks and the Lake Louise area.

Room Tip: All rooms will suffer noise from adjacent rooms as no soundproofing and thin walls. Expect to hear flushing of loo's, showers, TV, chatter and general noise from adjacent patrons.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The mountaineering lodge gave a very good impression after booking. Lots of offers on helping us planning our stay. The actual stay was vera disappointing: the service is poor (are these students at the desk)?
The room is loud, because of trains passing close by. thwhole room needs an update (bathroom has mould betweent tiles, no air-conditioning)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Good place to sleep while visiting Lake Louise and Moraine Lake area, if looking just for a place to sleep comfortably. Short drive away from both lakes, easy check-in/check-out, free breakfast (which is ok), etc. Would stay here again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ansh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments, the information you have provided is very important to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodation while visiting us in Lake Louise. I trust you had a memorable experience in Lake Louise and area and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in May 2014 as part of our planned Canadian Rockies tour. We had originally planned to stay here on the way back from Jasper but had cancelled that leg of the holiday and stayed additional nights in Banff but still wanted to stay here, for the experience.
The weather was still cold and there was some overnight snow high up so we did not encounter any problems with no air con. The heaters worked fine. We chose the lodge because we were self driving and wanted somewhere with breakfast, wifi and laundry so we could keep in contact and also wash clothes and minimise the amount of meals we needed to purchase.
The Mountaineer Lodge fit the bill nicely for us and we had no complaints and based on our experience would stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities during your visit in May. We trust you will make it back to our area again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your arrival.

Warm regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews