We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountaineer Lodge(Lake Louise)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)
US$270
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bow View Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,154)
Filter reviews
7,154 results
Traveller rating
4,572
1,564
618
274
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,572
1,564
618
274
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorwalliser stubeglacier saloonpoppy brasseriejunior suitefairview restaurantbeautiful hotelself parkingsleigh ridebucket listice skatingtea houserocky mountaineerbanff springsfondueice sculpturesonce in a lifetime
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,632 - 5,637 of 7,154 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed in every 5 sat hotel in Banff now & planning on moving there in the not so distant future. This is definitely the nicest, everything about it is just amazing, literally just like something off a film. Being able to go walk on the lake when it's froze over is amazing. The views are something else. Once in. Lifetime opportunity I heavily recommend. Only issue is, it's miles away from anywhere, however, this is a selling point for most people. Staff incredible (as everywhere in Canada) & rooms unbelievable. Highly recommend the breakfast bar downstairs too, by Canada prices it was actually cheap!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomgraham66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

As part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip, we were lucky to be able to stay a night at the lovely Lake Louise Chateau. We were early arriving with our tour and were told that rooms probablyl would not be available till 4pm which is checking in time. Unfortunately this proved to be correct, we had a wait of over 3 hours, no fault of the hotel and being the tailend of a long weekend, the hotel was full, it was difficult to find a seat while waiting.

However, it was worth the wait, we had a lovely Lakeview room, 2 beds again which was a bit of a pain but was over asking to change, the room was very big and we had the biggest bathroom so far on our trip, double sinks, plenty of room, everything was spotless as usual, no mini bar, but again, not a problem, beds again were just so comfortable with lovely crisp white linens. The view over the lake was fantastic, the ice was just starting to melt and it was spectacular.

We ate in one of the dining rooms where you didn't need a reservation, the meal was fine, not too expensive like the wine! We have discovered in our nearly 4 weeks in Canada, that wine here is expensive in restaurants, a glass costs what a whole bottle would cost in NZ! If we want to drink a wine, we buy from a local Liquor store and just have it in our room with takeaways unless like at Lake Louise, you are not near the town.

Thr room was quiet, we had a great sleep and again, would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and for posting your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are correct - our regular check-in time is 4 p.m., however, we will do everything possible to accommodate early check-in requests. We hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

like I've found of most fairmonts this place is an absolutely spectacular building in an unparalleled location with almost certainly amazing higher end rooms but substandard average ones.

Going to Lake Louise for the first time, if you can afford the fairmonts unbelievable prices its worth it for at least a night. make sure you get the lakeview room. the rooms are small, bedding is great and fixtures are nice.

we stayed in a place in Canmore the other night and have been all around...I think for "wow" and romance factor this place takes the cake any day but again, average rooms.

Room Tip: make sure to get lakeview. If you can afford larger I'm sure it would be worth while.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is really impressive. The outside looks a little bit kitsch like a lot of casinos in Vegas. The inside is of a better taste. The hall and lobby look a bit like ancient European castles. The restaurants are good and for a decent price. The rooms are nice and have a wonderful view over the lake. The bathroom is spacious and has high quality soap and body lotions. The lake itself is just amazing… Take an hour to walk around as it is truly a remarkable experience.
What I did not like is that they charge you for the parking even if you take the most expensive suite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This iconic hotel is worth staying at. The location is outstanding and if you have the right room, the views are sensational. We had 2 interconnecting Deluxe Fairmont Lake View Rooms which had large picture windows overlooking the lake, truly beautiful. I think it is definitely worth spending the money to have a room with an outstanding view otherwise you could end up facing away from the lake and all its beauty. After all, the appeal of the hotel really is its location. The rooms themselves were average. The entire hotel, including the rooms, is dated and desperately in need of modernisation. The facilities were fine, bathrooms clean and functional however it just felt like we had stepped back into the 70's or 80's. Nonetheless, glad we stayed here.

If there in winter, it is also worth hiring ice-skates and toboggans. They cost extra but are good quality and it was lots and lots of fun to speed down the slopes on toboggans and skate on the lake, quite special really. We also did a sleigh ride around the lake that was a complete novelty for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FamilyTraveller5ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for posting a review and for visiting The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. The view really is exceptional, and I'm pleased to let you know that beginning in the fall of this year, we will begin renovations on the majority of the hotel, including updating the guest room decor. We hope you get a chance to visit us in the future to see the change!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews