We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oviedo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed for the Xmas Holidays - a great trip! The hotel and grounds are gorgeous - the staff went out of their way to be sure the kids enjoyed the Xmas Holidays. I'm putting this on my bucket list for a summer trip to enjoy some hiking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UCF_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back for a summer getaway in then near future!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,107
    1,409
    574
    258
    115
See reviews for
1,629
3,324
179
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,055)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

After a dissappointing stay at the fairmont Jasper we were a little worried what we were going to be in for at Lake Louise. From the time we arrive to the time we drove away it was perfect in all ways. As in all my reviews our main concern is the availability of a meal for our daughter who is is a celiac. Well the deli here had good food for a celiac. We were lucky enough to have met chef Graham who looked after our daughters food requirements at all the night meals. Also chef Geoffrey was fantastic. From the concierges who helped with all the activities we had planned to the door persons, shop assistants and front counter staff everyone was exceptional. I met a wounderful lady called Devia who helped with a lot of advise regarding our daughters food reqrements. ( thank you for the special food package ) I could not believe how great all the staff were, a great asset to Lake Louise thanks you all again

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us in the mountains. Our colleagues always enjoy receiving comments and we will share these with the team. Davina and our Chefs will be delighted to hear that they contributed to your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back one day soon.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise must be the most beautifully sited of all the Fairmonts and unique. The location and view is breathtakingly beautiful. We have seen in Summer and now Winter. Always beautiful. Our 4 room suite was wonderful. From the outside the hotel buildings have an indiscriminate age, modern even, possibly too from fires destroying earlier original buildings a blending of old and new has been sought but inside it is all understated elegance and comfort. Perfection has been achieved. All staff are genuinely friendly, gracious and helpful. Reception staff, Housekeeping and Doormen were all outstandingly efficient and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was very pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing friendly, Mountain hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere. We hope to welcome you back for our spring and autumn seasons!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After a difficult 2013 (two close family deaths, open heart surgery and the death of our 9-year old dog) we decided to splurge on an Christmas break ski vacation. Squishing our family of five into regular adjoining rooms isn't conducive to anyone having relaxing time, so we decided to book a two bedroom suite. Pricey? Yes, but once you get over the sticker shock, be thankful you're alive and enjoy the many amenities that the resort has to offer.

Softly falling snow added to the ambiance when we arrived from the two-hour journey from Calgary. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the season...

Spectacular is the best word to describe the setting of the hotel. From each of the eight or so windows in our suite, you'll be left breathless by the view of the dramatic mountains circling the lake where guests are enjoying the ice skating, cross country skiing or hiking trails. The room itself provided a relaxing and comfortable environment, very clean and well maintained (with the exception of the closet door handles which I did tell the manager about, but weren't fixed during our stay). Two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a living room in between ensured everyone had sufficient space to relax and enjoy the holidays. The bathroom in the main bedroom included double sinks, a separate large shower with bench and a two-person soaker tub, all spotlessly clean. The king-size bed with magnificent views of the mountains was super comfortable with trademark Fairmont all-cotton sheets and down duvet.

Access to the Gold floor lounge provided reasonable breakfast choices (eggs, french toast, smoked salmon, cereals, fruit, yogurt, fresh assorted breads, oatmeal which could have been warmer, delicious smoothies etc), all day tea/coffee/hot chocolate, hor d'oeuvres at 5pm and dessert later on in the evening. An intimate room with space for 43 guests, the lounge is also a good place to pick up a hot beverage before heading out to the next outdoor activity or playing a game of chess or reading the paper.

Spa - I was fortunate to enjoy three spa services on three separate days. Scheduled at 4pm each time was perfect as I was able to ski during the day and look forward to a relaxing treat later on while still providing enough time afterwards to get ready for dinner. The prices are higher than our local spas, but it's the little extras that they provide that make it so worthwhile. For instance, during the pedicure, a hot neck roll is given to enhance relaxation and new flip flops placed on your feet before polish application ensuring no smudges if you had to put on your own footware afterwards. There is a co-ed steam room, so bring your bathing suit!

Staff and service - This is where the Fairmont hotels excel. Without exception, the mantra of everyday is what can they do to make your experience a positive one. Smiling, always positive, going that extra mile, the staff help me parent too as they set a wonderful example of professionalism and consideration.

Activities - Each day, the list of activities is updated and posted throughout the hotel (lobby, elevators, concierge etc). Some are free (such as the history and kitchen tour and some movie nights, skating) while others have a charge (snowshoeing, sleigh rides). There are numerous activities aimed at several age groups and activity levels. On New Year's Eve, a bouncy castle, amazing face painting, cookie decorating, a clown and more were provided free-of-charge for the younger set in one of the ballrooms while dancing took place in the sophisticated main floor lounge area.

Dining - we had a superb meal at the Fairview Dining room, enjoyable casual fare at the Glacier Saloon, tasty meals at the Poppy Brasserie and excellent steaks and the fabulous chocolate fondue at the Walliser-Stube restaurant. The main floor deli is good for casual meals/snacks.

Pool - Recognize that the pool area over the holidays is not going to be the adult oriented experience that perhaps you might be looking for. Perfect for parents with young children, lots of noodles are provided and a very large rectangular-shaped hot tub too.

Valet parking - included in our room rate and very convenient. We'd book at time for the car to be ready for us in the morning to head out to the ski hill. Leave your skis in the car, and you'll only have your ski boots to bring up to your room so they're toasty warm to put on the next morning. Friendly, helpful valet attendants too.

Skiing at Lake Louise - we drove the 10 minutes to the Lake Louise ski area each day rather than taking the shuttle which often only runs once per hour. Usually if we got there before 9am, we could still get a close parking spot in the free lot right at the main 'Lodge of Ten Peaks' at the base area. If not, you can pay $20 cash to park at another lot at the base. I can't say enough about the entire staff at Lake Louise, from the ticket clerks to the 'lifties' and the lodge staff, they were smiling, helpful and very pleasant. What is it about the fresh mountain air? :) The 'Ski Friends' are a huge help too - extremely knowledgeable about the mountain, they'll provide helpful hints about the most suitable run depending upon your skiing ability. With their bright yellow jackets, you'll have no problem spotting them on the hill. Lake Louise is one of my favourite ski resorts as the mountain has challenging black runs but also numerous blue and lots of green runs for those needing something more suited to their abilities. Pika from the top of the back bowl and Deer Run and Wiwaxy on the front side were my favourite green runs for their spectacular views and interesting runs. For my first time out since surgery, these were perfect. The more accomplished members of our family could take in the blacks and blues with everyone meeting at the bottom of the chair for a lift up together. ** In busy times, stay on the back bowl to avoid having to ski to the bottom of the front bowl and taking up the gondola again. Later on in the day, around lunch time, the gondola line-ups can be long (45 min +). We were fortunate that two of our four ski days, there were literally no line-ups on the back side and just skied right on the lifts. The other two days, we may have waited a minute, so no complaints on the back side! Lunch is served starting at 11am so if you go in for an early lunch you'll miss the lunch-time crowds.

All-in-all a wonderfully relaxing yet full of fun exercise in a spectacular setting kind of holiday. Definitely worth it!

Happy 2014!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite was beautiful and spacious, plenty of room for our ski, skating and winter gea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWlovesluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the abundance of winter activities at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and surroundings. We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Gorgeous location, gorgeous hotel, friendly and attentive staff. View on our first day was obscured but activities outside are non stop, ice bar, maple syrup ice blocks, ice skating, horse sleigh rides and the list goes on. Rooms are old but charming, we got upgraded (at a cost) to a lake view room. Woke the next morning to a cleared landscape and saw what can only be described as being one of nature's most beautiful landscapes. Christmas tree was epic, deer and elk heads mounted add to the charm, deli service for breakfast a tad slow.
Well done Fairmont Lake Louise

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the best views you will ever see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97CarlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our winter wonderland for your next getaway soon!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Fairmont Lake Louise and all in all the staff were very good, however if you want to eat in a restaurant make sure that you book in advance otherwise you will be left in a line up waiting for the pub. Also room service was awful,if you want a drink in your room bring you own as you can not take anything up from the bar and waited ages to even get through to order a drink let alone the wait to get it. They run a shuttle to the ski resort but again make sure that you put your name on the list first thing in the morning or you will not get on the shuttles till there is space.
The room was good with a great view but the bathroom was tiny and cramped and for $300+ per night a bit disappointing. Would come again but would hope for improvements .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramzeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will review this with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the curtains and saw the beautiful lake view out of my window. Breathtaking. The room was comfortable and clean. The hike around the lake was wonderful and the tour guide was folksy. I agree that for the money the service should have water in the rooms. We were there for a convention so we didn't try a restaurant. The beauty of the lake and mountains and glacier were unmatched. I would go back in a heartbeat, but I may need to win the lottery to afford it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittanylion95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our Mountain Heritage Guide. We hope to welcome you bad one day in the future.
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,670 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
718 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
828 reviews
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Destinology, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing