We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my goodness! Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness! Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had been wanting to x-country ski @ Lake Louise. The Fairmont Chateau fit our needs perfectly. We did stay on the 7th floor with the Fairmont Gold Service. It's a must for a most delightful stay. Our corner room had spectacular views. The drive from the airport in Calgary was a breeze. The directions to the hotel were easy to follow. We knew we were in good hands when we arrived when the head Bell greeted us at our car with our room keys. . . Seems there was a large conference checking in and we were able to circumvent the crowd completely. The service on the floor and from the Gold Team was excellent. We parked in the garage and our rental car was in good hands (something we were concerned about). The hotel is like a little city. Shops, bars, restaurants, sundries and deli storefronts along with ski and skate rentals were all available. The staff everywhere were friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We rented skis and took off for a few hours every day to enjoy the surrounding trails. The entire hotel is surprisingly casual. We were welcomed everywhere in our activities based clothes! Mid-week in winter is an ideal time to visit. . . Crowds increased as the weekend approached, yet, the hotel is well equipped to handle the ebb and flow of guests. The groups skating and sleigh riding seemed to be having a grand time. The lit ice sculptures were fun to walk around at night. Overall, this was a favorite of ours.

Room Tip: The Gold floor really adds to your stay if you are there for more than a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the abundance of winter activities at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and surroundings. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,855
    1,314
    532
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,519
3,096
169
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,945)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel has one of the best locations anywhere in the world. Although the hotel is older and well our room was a bit dated it was all part of the lovely charm. We stayed on the top floor in there suite.
If you love the mountains then this hotel is the perfect place for you. You can take a walk up the mountain to there tea house which is about a 2-3 hour climb/walk up to almost the top. A nice reward for such a long walk, but if you love getting back to nature, like I do then you will love this location.
OK yes the hotel does need a bit of adjustments here and there...from customer service to over crowded lobby, as many tourist that are not staying here will come just for the view and walk around. When we stayed here there was a very big conference, which made our stay not peaceful or relaxing, as it should have been. With all of this said it was still so wonderful to get away to a amazing piece of paradise and interesting history. Trust me you are not coming here for the rooms. I have been back to this hotel 3 times just for the view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessings1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are trilled read that you enjoyed your time at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We hope to welcome you back to Canada’s western mountain region in the near future!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a conference, so thank goodness we had a discount rate for the room.
We had a Lakeview room, which obviously is spectacular on the views. However, I think it is very overpriced. $30 per day for self parking is absurd.

I feel the hotel takes advantage of the Lake in terms of jacking up prices. Paid $6 bucks for a coke which was beyond crazy.

So although I thought the hotel was nice, I don't think it's worth the price if that makes sense.

Would return for a conference, but if I had to go for a holiday I would stay elsewhere.

The bathroom was super small too, which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and will review this with our team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in the Fairmont Châteaux for 10 days in January as a base for skiing. The hotel is very nice and the surrounding area is stunningly beautiful. The hotel staff are all very attentive and helpful. We had a lake view room, which did have a wonderful view, but it was tiny! Not what I would expect at price we had paid. The bath room was even smaller! So small it was difficult to close the door once you are in! This is an expensive hotel and we expected first class service but the room cleaning fell well short on our expectations. We twice had to ask for room to be made up and often the cups and glasses in the room were left. The sink was also not cleaned. This is a very nice (expensive) hotel but you pay for the location not service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and will review this with our team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My boyfriend and I had planned a trip to Alberta with 1 night stop in Lake Louise and it was well worth it!
Breath taking view of Lake Louise and the mountains surrending it. We went just after October Thanksgiving and unfortunately we couldn't canoe on the lake due to closure., but we took alot of pictures of the area and the hotel was great.
The service was amazing and a one night stay if you can do it then I suggest it even worth the high cost just for a once in a lifetime chance.
Yes it is over priced when it comes to the food and there is no free wifi, but the view and ambiance is worth the one night stay.
I would definitely go back again. The time we were there the weather was perfect and the crowds were not bad at all so it was perfect for taking in the view and for taking some nice pictures.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back for the summer season!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at several Fairmont hotels during our touring holiday of Canada and this is amongst the very best. We were warmly greeted at the Presidents Club reception desk and shown to our beautiful junior suite with the most outstanding views of the frozen Lake Louise and the surrounding mountains. The buffet breakfasts were superb and the evening meal we had in the Glacier Saloon was brilliant. The staff were all very helpful and extremely professional in every way, many thanks to all who made our all too brief visit so special, we will be back for sure!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank b1ggv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are trilled read that you enjoyed your time at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We hope to welcome you back to Canada’s western mountain region in the near future!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a business conference and had an absolutely amazing time. The view from all of the public rooms, in particular the Victoria Ballroom, are stunning. From the windows we could see the ice sculptures and the lake in all of its glory. Every single lunch, dinner and brunch was exceptional, especially considering that some of the meals were a buffet. Everything was cooked perfectly and I was certainly well fed over the weekend.

The staff cannot do enough to help you and the facilities are pretty good, however the swimming pool is a little small (not that you want to spend too much time in the pool when there is a beautiful area outside to explore.

We rented ice skates from the hotel for $11 for 2 hours which is pretty incredible, and it was my first experience on a natural ice rink! There is also a frequent shuttle bus to the ski slopes which is very useful.

If you have the money to stay here even for just one night, I would definitely recommend it. The food, service, location and hotel itself cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForYourEntertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor. We are delighted that you found our colleagues to be helpful and engaging and that you enjoyed your time on Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing