We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being loved to death”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Being loved to death”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Everything that could be said about the Chateau's location, facilities and activities have been recorded many times. However, in some respects, the Chateau is being overwhelmed by the sheer number of guests and day visitors. In particular, the Chateau accommodates a huge number of package-tour guests who generally only stay for one night. One of the outcomes of this is that one of the hotel's restaurants (the mid-level Poppy Brasserie) appears to be almost always booked out for these guests. This means the remaining (and dare I say it, those probably paying higher tariffs than the package tours) guests can only reserve the expensive Fairview restaurant or a fondue restaurant. Two other restaurant/bars are available, but these are invariably busy and cannot be reserved.
Whilst package tours provides the Chateau with a steady income, a hotel with such a reputation needs to ensure arrangements are in place for full-paying guests as well.
In summary, the Chateau Lake Louise is an iconic destination in an exquisite location, but for full paying guests, as a hotel it doesn't meet the standards of the rest of the Fairmont chain.

Room Tip: This Chateau Lake Louise is all about the view, so if you want to stay at the hotel book a Lakeside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,909
    1,336
    537
    246
    107
See reviews for
1,529
3,155
171
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,970)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is brilliant and in such a beautiful location. Our room overlooking the lake was excellent and the service provided by the staff superb. The food at the restaurants was beautiful with a variety of choices. Staying at Lake Louise was the highlight of what was already a magnificent trip around the Rockies.

Room Tip: You must have a room facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malenymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The staff at the Chateau makes this one of the most memorable trips I have had in my life!!! Food and beverage service was great. We will return as much for the hotel experience as for the amazing views and scenery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

our tour group got us overnight rooms (without a view) in this hotel - lovely inside, especially with the window seats with a view of the lake - but we were happy with a stroll past that - outside we enjoyed a lovely lakeside stroll to the end of the lake - about half an hour - it started to rain so we hurried, and it was freezing by the time we got to the end where we took photos of us sitting on the rocks facing the ?glacier - so allow a good hour for that return stroll and dress for a change in the weather

in the evening we stepped outside to find it had just started to snow - so those of our group who had never seen snow spent the next half hour enchantedly taking video/snaps of this delightful spot and snowflakes with a video or flash camera - lovely !

Room Tip: compare lakeview with cheaper non-view rooms as you'll probably enjoy more actually being outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultimobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We chose The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise for the spectacular views of the lake & mountains and we were not disappointed! It is breathtaking to look out your window at the fabulous, snow covered mountains and the Victoria glacier behind Lake Louise. The "deluxe" room we had was nice; 2 queen beds, desk, wing back chair with reading lamp, tv console including small fridge (difficult to open), glass ware, mugs and a mini "Keurig", creamers etc in fridge, large closet with iron & ironing board. Bathroom was small and fixtures were looking a bit "tired". Beds were quite comfortable. Eating in the restaurants is VERY expensive. The food in the Glacier Saloon was tasty, prepared well, upbeat, lively atmosphere but most entrees were a minimum of $25. Buffet breakfast was expansive, with a good variety of different dishes. Omelet's made to order if you're willing to stand in line. Had difficulty obtaining cream for the coffee which was frustrating; why not have a large jug on each table instead of a 2oz mini jug then the servers wouldn't waste 15mins searching for more while your coffee is getting cold? Also the parking is ridiculously over-priced, very far from the main desk, and the wheelchair ramp leads to a heavy, non-electric door making it impossible for a disabled person to open it by themselves & enter. There were lots of shops to browse but beware they are very expensive too. Overall we were happy staying in this magnificent, grand hotel with lots of interesting history and spectacular views. The scenery is jaw-dropping and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rb-kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fabulous location in a superb hotel.
The one bedroom suite with Concierge service on the 7th floor was a very pleasant surprise..spacious and beautifully decorated rooms with a stunning view of the frozen lake and snow capped mountains.
The only slight disappointment was the food. At the price, I expected a higher standard than what was offered in the various restaurants.Good dining,but not great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and also for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the Gold Floor and the wonderful view of the mountains.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the dining experience and will follow up further internally. We to hope welcome you back in the near future!
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The service we received from the Fairmont Lake Louise was second to none. The location is the best you could ever dream of, we enjoyed every minute and didn't care to leave the grounds. We did a few hikes around the beautiful lake and up one of the mountains it was breathtaking. Great to get back to our comfortable room to relax and look out at the scenery with a hot drink. The hotel guide Geoff was very experienced and externally helpful. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had great stay and hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise in the near future. Geoff will be very happy to hear he has contributed towards your stay.
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,588 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Destinology, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing