We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding comfort and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We upgraded to gold lounge and was allocated an amazing room that had a view that was spellbinding and jaw dropping to say the least!
Whilst we enjoyed luxurious bed linens and king size bed with a marble bathroom with a deep bath the view of the frozen Lake was breathtaking. Afternoon tea and later our front table for two in the Glacier Dining room was a night to remember. Stunning views and combined with attentive service and superb food only added to the charm and breakfast in the morning in the gold lounge was most enjoyable with relaxed atmosphere and most delicious choices to tempt the fussiest! Will stay there again happily.

Room Tip: Up grade to Gold and enjoy front room overlooking the lake, priority check in and gold lounge advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much sharing your experience with us! I are very proud to hear of the impression our destination made on you during your stay. Fairmont Gold is a great place to spend your holiday and we I am glad to hear it lived up to the expectation. Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,360 - 4,366 of 7,037 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I usually prefer smaller, more intimate resorts. I am not a fan of huge hotels packed with thousands of tourists. In fact, the only reason I stayed here is that the setting cannot be beat. The hotel itself is quite beautiful, and features eight restaurants that display stunning lake views. Many activities are offered through the concierge. In the winter months you can ski, ice skate, take a heli tour, go snowmobiling, or go on a horse-drawn sleigh ride. In the summer they offer canoeing, hiking, mountain bike-riding, fishing, and horseback riding. Banff National Park is breathtaking and is one of the most photographed places in Canada.

I do have to be honest, though, and say that the service I received was not top notch. It definitely was not what I would expect for the price I was paying. Being that it was the middle of the summer, I was more then displeased to find that the air conditioner in my room was broken, and each time I asked about it being fixed they said they would send someone up to the room, but never did. Also, stay away from the breakfast restaurant if you can. Order room service or go somewhere else! We had the most horrific service at the breakfast place, and had to wait forever to be seated each time. This place was jam packed with noisy tourists, and our food (that took forever) came out before our drinks, with the orders all wrong.

So while my review of the hotel itself is not great, given it’s location, I would still go back. After all, I was there to experience the surroundings, not the hotel itself.

To see my personal photos of this hotel please visit my travel blog here:
http://blog.fairverona.com/canada-north-america/fairmont-chateau-lake-louise/

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Misha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the abundance of activities at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and surroundings. We appreciate your feedback regarding your breakfast experience and will certainly follow up further internally.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had an upgraded lakeview room, but the only upgrade I could see was a tiny balcony over looking the lake. The lake was beautiful of course but not worth the $639 they charge for the room. The room was small and looked run down. I know it's an old hotel but the rooms definitely could use a face lift. The room was too hot and we could hear our neighbors TV very clearly in our room. We had a gift certificate we let the hotel staff know this was how we would like to pay and the certificate was verified as well as a credit card was also provided. For some reason this confused the night staff and we were bothered by 2 separate phone calls from the staff very early in the morning asking us about our method of payment whether it was going on the credit card or the gift certificate. I don't understand why it was an issue that required an explanation prior to checking out? It was very frustrating having to explain the certificate 3 times in total. It was fine by the time we checked out. I don't think we would honestly ever stay there again it's just not worth what they charge.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Talena01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly review this with our Front Desk team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We took the Rocky Mountaineer trip and stay at all Fairmont Hotels. We loved each and every one but the view from our room at the Chateau Lake Louise was phenomenal. Such a very beautiful hotel and the surroundings are gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for writing! I am happy to hear that the view and destination made a strong impression! Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have visited Lake Louise in the past and always dreamed of staying at the Chateau Lake Louise, we weren't disappointed. Our room had a spectacular view of the lake which was still frozen. It was like a fairytale land. The rooms were well appointed and very clean and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: A view of the lake in the main Chateau building is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csarchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The staff are so friendly and helpful. You feel relaxed the moment you walk into the exquisite hotel lobby. What a beautiful and historic building it is! The room was spotless, the beds were comfortable, the coffee in the room was wonderful. The extra touch was when I made the reservation, at Fairmount Central by "Crystal" who had a bottle of wine waiting in the ice bucket in the room for the special Birthday Gal. The walk outside is magnificent, with the mountains and lake right there. It is so peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Calgary-Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is very old worlde which I loved, grand staircases, chandeliers and the surroundings- lake and mountains scenery are to die for. We were disappointed in our small room, although the bathroom was huge. If you can't afford a lake view, I would stay elsewhere next time. The rooms were too hot and it is the only hotel in Canada we have paid for parking and wi fi.

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
944 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
791 reviews
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £194 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing