We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in August of 2013. While many of the other reviews are accurate - it is pricey and the day crowds can be annoying - the location is tough to beat. It was amazing to be able to walk out and be right on Lake Louise. Rooms were fine. There were a handful of dining options and some nice gift shops. And it's still very convenient to see other things in the area, like Moraine Lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsJustMe262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly appreciate the feedback and the kind words. Now that you've been in the summer, perhaps plan a visit for the winter season for a whole new experience? Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,017
    1,373
    557
    255
    113
See reviews for
1,586
3,244
173
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,015)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the moment we stepped into the hotel, and encountered the Gold Floor, we felt welcomed. Our lake view room was amazing, it was beautiful to look out over the frozen lake. Our room was amazing and very comfortable we enjoyed coffee and a quiet drink in the Gold Floor guest room. All I can say is our Chateau Lake Louise experience was amazing and will be long remembered.

Room Tip: A lake view room is the way to go and if you are looking for a treat stay in the gold rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that your stay on Fairmont Gold was to your liking. With the lake now thawed perhaps a trip back in the Summer season is warranted? All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I can't add much to the prior reviews. We stayed here for two nights after two nights at Fairmont Banff. We were given an upgrade to larger room in the new (East) wing. They called it a "mountain view" room but you wouldn't have known it from the incredible view of the lake. I am not one to spout superlatives but reviewers who say that Lake Louise is "stunning" are not exaggerating. My 7 am run on the lakeside trail was in the top two or three most scenic runs I have ever done (along with the Bow River in Banff, and Wailea in Maui). Staff was courteous, food was good. The afternoon tea in the Lakeview Lounge was a highlight. Of course, a location like this is expensive but we were prepared for this.

The only negative is that there are TONS of tour buses that come through. If you are looking for solitude, you will have to look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwillens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your feedback! We couldn't agree more about the "stunning" view that Lake Louise provides. We are pleased to hear you made good use of the trails around the lake and the afternoon tea service - two great experiences our hotel provides. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I attended a conference at the Chateau in late May 2014.

Upon arrival the bellhop misplaced my luggage after insisting to help me with it to my room. When I called the front desk after arriving to my room with no luggage, I was asked if I was 'certain that the bellhop had taken my luggage'. A half hour later the luggage made it's way to my room.
A 'planned' electrical outage lasted hours longer than they expected. This is fine, but entire wings of the hotel were without any lighting, forcing guest to sit in a lighted area of the hotel that happened to be a packed lounge where a domestic pint of beer cost $10.
At 4:30 in the morning an alarm was set off that same night that took 20-30 minutes to clear. No explanation was given for the alarm the next morning.
Internet access was paid for but was terminated a half hour prior to checking out of the hotel room. Cell phone coverage in the hotel is sparse. I didn't know that the internet had been turned off and missed an important email.
Upon checkout no one asked if I had enjoyed my stay. I wrote the costumer service about my stay to no reply.
This is not the type of service that one would expect from a very prestigious and respected hotel.

The views were great, however.

I would avoid spending a night in the hotel, and opt for a luxury lodging nearby that appreciates your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay and will certainly follow up further internally.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Cove
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed two nights in a lake view room. It was quite a wow feeling on entering the room & seeing the partly frozen lake. It was a bigger wow at 5.30am when I saw the pink/orange Alpenglow over the amphitheatre of mountains. The hotel is very special with a unique location. A lake view room is a must! Everything about our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Lake Louise and the impact the view made upon your arrival. It truly is awe-inspiring isn't it? We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at the Chateau Lake Louise on a regular basis during the 13/14 ski season.We were very fortunate to stay for the majority of the time on the Gold floor . The service , like the previous season, was second to none.
Thank you to the Gold floor team for making us all feel so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that we were able to provide a second home to you throughout the ski season. The skiing in Lake Louise is certainly unrivalled! We look forward to welcoming you back this Winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and up graded to "Gold Level" - well worth the extra cost. The view from our room was awesome! I personally did not grudge the cost as our suite was huge, spotless, wifi and as already said from previous guests the staff were friendly & helpful. Cannot comment on restaurants as we had eaten on our travels and only used the Gold Lounge for canapés, drinks & breakfast. It was a memorable stay and would definitely return again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time share your experience! I am so pleased to hear that your stay on Fairmont Gold was to your liking. We'll look forward to your next visit with us in Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,649 reviews
1.7 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing