We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unbelievable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Totally unbelievable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Massive hotel in Grand Canadian style,but nothing can possibly prepare you for the moment you enter your room and see the view!At best you are rendered speechless and I can imagine somebody in tears. Absolutely astonishing. Beautiful blue lake with mountains all round and the glacier in front of you perfectly reflected in the lake. Nothing like it elsewhere in the world. Worth every penny of the (rather expensive!) cost. Anybody without a lake view room will miss one of life's truly great experiences.

Room Tip: You MUST< MUST< MUST have a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review and kind words! We are glad to hear that Lake Louise made a strong impression. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,788
    1,301
    520
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,501
3,040
166
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,916)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our stay was bad from the start. Our room was not ready when we checked in and we had to wait about an hour. Our room did not have air conditioning - which we were not told about ahead of time. The ceiling fan and portable fan (in the closet) did not cut it. The room was very hot even with the fans and the windows open. It was not possible to make a dinner reservation on the same day if you wanted to eat between 6-8pm. They have so many tour groups that all the peak dinner times are taken. The concierge told me you have to make dinner reservations weeks to months ahead of time if you want a peak time. Our guest room also needed to be renovated and the bathroom is tiny. Given the reputation of the Fairmont chain, it was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and will certainly review this with our dining reservations team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is the BEST hotel to celebrate a special occasion.The hotel made our 40th wedding anniversary amazing. They upgraded our room and had champagne chilling!! The Lago restaurant food was excellent. The beauty of Lake Louise was heavenly! The hotel staff were exemplary. The many shops at the chateau were so much fun. Words cannot express my gratitude to the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise! Thank you.

Room Tip: Main building facing the lake!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tantoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your experience! Congratulations on your 40th anniversary. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a beautiful lakefront hotel! I can not give the fairest review as honestly, I did not stay the night here. However, I did spend a few hours enjoying the views from the lobby, restaurant lounge, and lawn. This is a breathtaking stop for a nice stroll or hanging out on the dock to fall into a nice day dream or getting carried away in a good read with a spectacular surrounding. The panorama of mountains, waterfalls, and aqua-turquoise lake are unique and quite striking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akvenable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back to our destination in the future for an overnight stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in August of 2013. While many of the other reviews are accurate - it is pricey and the day crowds can be annoying - the location is tough to beat. It was amazing to be able to walk out and be right on Lake Louise. Rooms were fine. There were a handful of dining options and some nice gift shops. And it's still very convenient to see other things in the area, like Moraine Lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsJustMe262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly appreciate the feedback and the kind words. Now that you've been in the summer, perhaps plan a visit for the winter season for a whole new experience? Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the moment we stepped into the hotel, and encountered the Gold Floor, we felt welcomed. Our lake view room was amazing, it was beautiful to look out over the frozen lake. Our room was amazing and very comfortable we enjoyed coffee and a quiet drink in the Gold Floor guest room. All I can say is our Chateau Lake Louise experience was amazing and will be long remembered.

Room Tip: A lake view room is the way to go and if you are looking for a treat stay in the gold rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that your stay on Fairmont Gold was to your liking. With the lake now thawed perhaps a trip back in the Summer season is warranted? All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I can't add much to the prior reviews. We stayed here for two nights after two nights at Fairmont Banff. We were given an upgrade to larger room in the new (East) wing. They called it a "mountain view" room but you wouldn't have known it from the incredible view of the lake. I am not one to spout superlatives but reviewers who say that Lake Louise is "stunning" are not exaggerating. My 7 am run on the lakeside trail was in the top two or three most scenic runs I have ever done (along with the Bow River in Banff, and Wailea in Maui). Staff was courteous, food was good. The afternoon tea in the Lakeview Lounge was a highlight. Of course, a location like this is expensive but we were prepared for this.

The only negative is that there are TONS of tour buses that come through. If you are looking for solitude, you will have to look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwillens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your feedback! We couldn't agree more about the "stunning" view that Lake Louise provides. We are pleased to hear you made good use of the trails around the lake and the afternoon tea service - two great experiences our hotel provides. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing