We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wanted more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just wanted more”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived at the Fairmont on the morning of Canada day and were looking forward to an amazing experience. Unfortunately it seemed to lack preparation and execution, no itinerary for the day handed out upon check in and very little direction about the activities on the day from the staff. We arrived at 10am even though we had an 11am check in however we didn't get our rooms until midday and we had to change one of our rooms to make that happen. The reception staff were great only beaten by Alecia in Lago's restaurant, her service was amazing. The rest of the staff were too busy being busy! Everything here is overpriced (we expected this but it is ridiculous) from the coffee to the canoes be prepared to open your wallet. The hotel is trading of the view no doubt however it is the little things that make the $800 a night worth it, and they were missing. Slow housekeeping, ignorant bell hops, lack of amenities ( 1 roll of toilet paper) and poor grounds presentation. Would absolutely recommend to anyone however management need to look at there desire to exceed their customers expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stocoroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Stocoroco,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate the detailed feedback you have provided in your review and apologize for the shortcomings you experienced throughout your stay.

Our team does our best at providing details for special events such as Canada Day. Some of the collateral we create include; handouts, elevator posters, television slides, along with social media posts and information on our website. We apologize that none of these things were shared with you throughout your stay.

Should you wish to follow up directly with our team at the hotel please feel free to email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and a member of our team will be happy to respond.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,120
    1,412
    577
    259
    115
See reviews for
1,638
3,331
179
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The lake has an amazing view from our hotel. Since the hotel is where you can really see the lake the buses arrived early in the am and left early in the pm. I felt this place was way too crowded with tourists all over the place.
I was hoping for a more relaxing, spiritual, place but no, it reminded me of a bus station with kids running all over the place.
Our room faced the mountains (nice but I didn't want to spring any more extra). It was warm in the room and the bathroom was tiny.
Since there really is no place to go once in the hotel,we ate dinner at the hotel. Very mediocre for an $80 meal without drinks.
I'm sorry we just didn't take a ride from Banff for the day. The Fairmont in Banff although bigger, doesn't seem nearly as crowded.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank msacks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experience and that your stay at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise was not as expected. We understand that the summer brings high traffic to our destination are are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience.

Should you wish to follow up directly with our team at the hotel please feel free to email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwell Point, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This has to be the most special place on earth. The setting is breathtaking. We went in June. There was still snow on the mountains and the temperature was crisp. We stayed two nights and it exceeded my expectation. The hotel is iconic and grand. I want to return in Winter to see ice skaters on the lake surrounded by twinkling lights and beauty. Christmas would be magic there.

Room Tip: We shared a two bedroom suite with no view of the lake but it didn't really matter because it ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Lake Louise. June is a beautiful month to visit, as we transition from spring to summer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For $680.00 dollars a night my recent stay at this hotel was a nightmare. upon arrival our room temperature was so hot we were asked to leave for an hour so the staff could cool the room. The excuse was the maids turned the heat up by mistake. after we were finally able to get into our room we discovered. No air conditioning, fans didn't work, one elevator was out -according to the staff it had been out for over a week- the working elevator refused to stop at our floor.
When we returned from dinner and a long climb up stairs I pulled the bed down and discovered torn and dirty sheets. I took photos of the sheets to show the management since they did not bother to climb the stairs to investigate the dirty torn sheets. The only response from Management was "This should never happen. We have a reputation". This hotel is a sad disappointment

Room Tip: You will need to pay a lot more than $680.00 per night to get any service or clean sheets in this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good Day Donna D,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We would like to follow up with you further regarding your stay at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.

Please feel free to send us an email at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and a member of our team will be happy to follow up with you directly.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at Lake Louise with my husband and 20 month old son. My first impressions of this hotel was "Wow, this place is busy" and it was. Yes, it is a beautiful hotel with the most beautiful view and you are paying TOP dollar for this luxury, however, it is just so busy. I think that the hotel really should try and manage the amount of people coming through the place.
I found the service terrible. With that type of money, I expect top service. We had to wait half an hour to be seated for breakfast the first morning and, once seated, nobody come to take our order. Because of this, we were forced to order from the buffet at double the price. This was terribly frustrating! The next day we went to the deli/bakery for a very simple breakfast, but was just what we wanted without spending a fortune.
For dinner we went to the lounge - yet another half hour wait to the seated and the waiter forgot to serve our wine. I wondered whether they were short of staff at the time and upon asking one of the employees, I was told that this was not the case. Notwithstanding this, the service award for our stay was valet parking (despite the cost this is very much recommended and the most pleasant people assisting).
I visit the spa one day and that was great. Recommended if you have the time.
The rooms are great and spacey. We had a mini suite and was big enough for the three of us. And you really can not complain about the view - simply stunning!
I would have liked to have seen a play area set up for children too. Apart from running around the lake together with half a million tourists, there are not many other options for children. I understand that this is not a priority but thought that it was worth noting if anyone has an extremely active child like mine.
To anyone considering this hotel, I would probably suggest thinking twice about it. If money is not an issue - sure, this is a one off hotel. However, in hindsight, I would have saved my money and stayed elsewhere and visited the lake as a day trip.

Room Tip: We had a lake view room but understand that the mountain view rooms are far less in price. I actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax11Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good Day Jax11Sydney,

Thank you for your review of The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. I do apologize for some of the shortcomings you had experienced throughout your stay. We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our speed of service while managing the high traffic levels we experience in the summer season. I will be sure to make note of your feedback to this regard.

I am glad to hear that our guest services and spa teams were able to provide the service we are known for here at The Chateau!

Should you wish to provide further feedback on your stay please contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a fantastic view of the lake from our top floor room. The service in the hotel was excellent, the room was very clean and super comfortable and the location speaks for itself! We took a canoe out on the lake and hiked to the tea room - fabulous views and a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: 8th floor lake view room offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Rachel34,
Thank you kindly for taking the time share some thoughts on our resort hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. It sounds like you took in some of our bucket list activities - something we hope you soon won't forget!

Should you wish to contact us directly for future inquires please do not hesitate to contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location of the Hotel was wonderful, scenery was amazing but the room was a disappointment wifi didn't work no room in the bathroom to put anything and the room was very small. Breakfast was a disgrace no bacon available in the buffet without a wait, they couldn't keep up with the demand. We had a 10 minute wait to get into the breakfast room there were empty tables but they hadn't been cleared. They know how many people are booked in and should have the staff to deal with the numbers for the prices they charge. Would not stay at Fairmont again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We certainly value the feedback you have provided. I do apologize for the shortcomings you experienced throughout your stay and am disappointed to hear that the service we are known for was not reflected throughout your time in Lake Louise.

We are happy to provide you with the opportunity to follow up with us directly by contacting us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,677 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
719 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
833 reviews
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Destinology, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing