We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Visit to lake louise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
“July Visit to lake louise”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location! paid top dollar to stay at lake view room. But Farimont reserved mountain view room instead. We spent 1.5 hrs at front desk to get lake view rooms. Paid top $ for room but u pay extra for wifi. Small room & no air condition,if keep the window open bugs were finding way into the room. View from room was breath taking!!! Manger of the hotel did sent win bottle & waved valet parking charge though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank RinaTata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,109
    1,409
    575
    258
    115
See reviews for
1,631
3,324
179
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,055)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent two nights at this grand hotel. The accommodation was very pricy, more than double the rate of normal five-star hotels in cities. Even so, we did not get a room with a view. However, the location is so great that it is worth every penny. The views from the Lakeview Lounge was magnificent.

Lake Louise was our first stop of our journey in the national parks. The concierge desk at the hotel was wonderful. I talked to a few staff there and all of them were very helpful, assisting me sorting out dinner bookings, the whole travel plans in the national parks for the next five days as well as the hotel's own activities.

The hotel has a tradition of Swiss mountain guides. I joined a hotel hiking group and it was a group of three people only and it was a wonderful hiking experience near the hotel with a knowledgeable local guide.

We also loved the Italian restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful hotel & you could NOT ask for a better view! We paid extra for a room with a view & it was worth it. Lake Louise is something you dream about with its turquoise, tranquil water. The entire staff is friendly including the house dog, Marcus! The only complaint I had was that it was unseasonably warm & our room did not have air conditioning. We called the front desk at 11:30 pm & they had a portable air conditioner within 15 minutes! Drink & food prices are a little higher, but when you think about bringing in supplies to a remote location, you can understand why! This place is worth every penny you spend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcvoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoyed dinner at the Stube but overall experience was disappointing. Summer high season so very crowded and noisy. Ambiance was more like a crowded shopping mall, tour buses coming and going. Be warned that 50% of the rooms have no air conditioning so you may need to request a portable unit if there during the summer months. For the money, my suggestion is to stay in Banff and make this a 2 hour visit to see the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Have stayed at the Lake Louise Chateau a few times and after my recent weekend stay decided to add a review here. The Chateau is situated right at the foot of Lake Louise and the plain of six glaciers and offers one of the most stunning views in the world. Around the Chateau itself are numerous outdoor activities, including the Lake Agnes Tea House hike, the plains of SIx Glaciers Tea house Hike as well as canoeing, hiking, horseback riding etc etc. The Chateau itself is okay but not spectacular. The rooms are becoming dated and the layout of the hotel itself isn't that optimal (e.g. the restaurants can be hard to find and the experience feels more like a mall than an upscale hotel). The price for a lake view can easily run you into 4 figures/night in primetime season during the summer. With this you'll get an okay room that will lack a mini bar or even bottled water. When you book at the Chateau you are paying for the location and not really for the amenities of the hotel. Their spa doesn't come close to the majesty of the one at the Banff Springs (also a fairmont property) and there is no nearby town or other upscale hotel you can visit to compensate. We've stayed here 3 times in 5 years and the service was the same everytime, okay, but never fantastic. At their main lounge (with the amazing views of the lake) we've waited for service everytime. This contrasts to the Banff Springs hotel where the service is consistently amazing. If you are choosing to stay here you should do so because of the proximity to Lake Louise itself. We did the plain of six glaciers tea house hike (which can take 5-7 hours if you are having lunch at the tea house) and returning directly to your hotel is a definite advantage. This is a great property with great views but not overly incredible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel, fantastic customer service and atmosphere. We brought our dog with us and they accommodated him no problems ($35 a night fee). They even gave him a cookie (which he loved), a bed (which he adored) and some dishes to make him comfortable. The hotel offers several restaurants on site downstairs in the lobby area, a wonderful buffet breakfast (continental or full buffet options) and beautiful views of lake louise. The rooms are a bit dated but still charming. There is parking onsite both valet and self park. Be sure to take the hike up to the tea house it's a bit of a hike but it offers lovely views of the lake and surrounding areas and is worth it! Walk out the back of the hotel towards the lake and turn to the right to get to the tea house. If you go to the left, you can rent a canoe and go out on the lake! In the winter months, you can skate on the lake and take sleigh rides which is also very, very fun! I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here one night in July 2014 as a family in a lake view suite. The views are spectacular and the lake itself beautiful. The hotel is both grand and large so it's very busy and not a quiet retreat. The visitors start arriving early morning to the car park situated beside the hotel and is very busy by late afternoon. We ate in the Italian restaurant ,The Lago and it was superb. Breakfast in the Poppy Brasserie was busy but the food was great. The swimming pool and fitness suite are closed for refurb so check beforehand if this is important to your stay. We did have a very delayed check in for 11/2 hours. If I was going again I would ring ahead to check that the room is ready when they say it is as I would have preferred the extra time sight seeing than waiting in the hotel lobby! Overall the location has it . It being the wow factor !

Room Tip: Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,671 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
718 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
829 reviews
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing