We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Louise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just felt like royalty staying here stayed on a princess cruises land and sea tour just wonderful. But didn't like the restuarant fondue as had to share with another couple from the toor whom we didn't know from Adam wouldn't even eat food from my husbands plate so maybe should have asked and brought 2 fondues

Room Tip: Lake room we had one just to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dorothy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,001 - 4,007 of 6,873 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of the Rockies. Originally our room had a view of only the car park, so I paid for an upgrade to a lake view room and it was worth every penny (or cent). In my (limited) experience the only view that comes close to Lake Louise is on Lake Como in Italy. It is worth waking up at dawn to see the sun shining on the glacier and the fantastic pink colours, especially if you can do this from the comfort of your bed!
We walked the Lake Agnes trail, via Mirror Lake, and had coffee at the tea house.
The staff who we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. We had drinks and food on the terrace of the Lakeview Lounge - very good.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location! paid top dollar to stay at lake view room. But Farimont reserved mountain view room instead. We spent 1.5 hrs at front desk to get lake view rooms. Paid top $ for room but u pay extra for wifi. Small room & no air condition,if keep the window open bugs were finding way into the room. View from room was breath taking!!! Manger of the hotel did sent win bottle & waved valet parking charge though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank RinaTata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent two nights at this grand hotel. The accommodation was very pricy, more than double the rate of normal five-star hotels in cities. Even so, we did not get a room with a view. However, the location is so great that it is worth every penny. The views from the Lakeview Lounge was magnificent.

Lake Louise was our first stop of our journey in the national parks. The concierge desk at the hotel was wonderful. I talked to a few staff there and all of them were very helpful, assisting me sorting out dinner bookings, the whole travel plans in the national parks for the next five days as well as the hotel's own activities.

The hotel has a tradition of Swiss mountain guides. I joined a hotel hiking group and it was a group of three people only and it was a wonderful hiking experience near the hotel with a knowledgeable local guide.

We also loved the Italian restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful hotel & you could NOT ask for a better view! We paid extra for a room with a view & it was worth it. Lake Louise is something you dream about with its turquoise, tranquil water. The entire staff is friendly including the house dog, Marcus! The only complaint I had was that it was unseasonably warm & our room did not have air conditioning. We called the front desk at 11:30 pm & they had a portable air conditioner within 15 minutes! Drink & food prices are a little higher, but when you think about bringing in supplies to a remote location, you can understand why! This place is worth every penny you spend!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcvoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoyed dinner at the Stube but overall experience was disappointing. Summer high season so very crowded and noisy. Ambiance was more like a crowded shopping mall, tour buses coming and going. Be warned that 50% of the rooms have no air conditioning so you may need to request a portable unit if there during the summer months. For the money, my suggestion is to stay in Banff and make this a 2 hour visit to see the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Have stayed at the Lake Louise Chateau a few times and after my recent weekend stay decided to add a review here. The Chateau is situated right at the foot of Lake Louise and the plain of six glaciers and offers one of the most stunning views in the world. Around the Chateau itself are numerous outdoor activities, including the Lake Agnes Tea House hike, the plains of SIx Glaciers Tea house Hike as well as canoeing, hiking, horseback riding etc etc. The Chateau itself is okay but not spectacular. The rooms are becoming dated and the layout of the hotel itself isn't that optimal (e.g. the restaurants can be hard to find and the experience feels more like a mall than an upscale hotel). The price for a lake view can easily run you into 4 figures/night in primetime season during the summer. With this you'll get an okay room that will lack a mini bar or even bottled water. When you book at the Chateau you are paying for the location and not really for the amenities of the hotel. Their spa doesn't come close to the majesty of the one at the Banff Springs (also a fairmont property) and there is no nearby town or other upscale hotel you can visit to compensate. We've stayed here 3 times in 5 years and the service was the same everytime, okay, but never fantastic. At their main lounge (with the amazing views of the lake) we've waited for service everytime. This contrasts to the Banff Springs hotel where the service is consistently amazing. If you are choosing to stay here you should do so because of the proximity to Lake Louise itself. We did the plain of six glaciers tea house hike (which can take 5-7 hours if you are having lunch at the tea house) and returning directly to your hotel is a definite advantage. This is a great property with great views but not overly incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,765 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
8 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
907 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £184 - £644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing