We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT waste your money here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do NOT waste your money here!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The only thing this hotel has is the stunning view of the lake! So save your money, spend your day by the lake; you can freely explore the hotel if you wish, and go to sleep to the hotel next door.
We had to wait over 20 minutes for our luggage to be delivered, as a matter of fact, we couldnt wait any longer, so we left the room.
Rooms are extremely small for what you pay and, most importantly, they do NOT have A/C!!!!
Our "suite" not only smelled bad, looked so old, was in extreme need of renovations, had opened pairs of slippers, but it also had this portable A/C unit that made so much noise and barely worked. We were offered to move rooms to a regular renovated room which had A/C, but it was soooooooo small that we had no option but decline the offer.
Service in this property is none to zero. Nobody cares, they think that you are one of the tourists that overtake the hotel during the day time.
Food tastes like it was refrozen.
Breakfast buffet is rather disgusting. I ordered a smoothie which lacked half of the ingredients from its original description on the menu.
Would not stay there again even if you paid me to.

Room Tip: You must demand to have a room with A/C when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia17021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Julia17021,

Thank you for providing detailed feedback on your experience at our hotel. Feedback is very important to us as we consistently review our practices to ensure we offer our guests the service and products they deserve. We were very concerned to read your review and hear of your disappointment with your suite and the overall service.

We would love for the opportunity to follow up with you directly regarding your stay. Please feel free to contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,038
    1,383
    561
    255
    113
See reviews for
1,592
3,265
176
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,025)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Waking up at this hotel provides one of the most spectacular and breathtaking views. Whether you want to hike or spend some time on the lake in a canoe or kayak, this is the place to be. Early morning hikes to the tea houses are best as it is less crowded on the trails and the only sounds are your footsteps and the various creatures that live in the mountains. They are dog friendly and provided a dog bed and dishes which makes it super easy to travel with a pet. Many of the rooms have been updated with gleaming, modern bathrooms. WiFi is free for Presidents Club members.

Room Tip: If you can get a lake view room, you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
Green Features: Fairmont hotels are very environmentally friendly and given the setting, you can see why that is so important to them.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Waking up in the morning to a view of the mountains right outside our window was breath-taking. We stayed on the gold floor for a night. The bathroom was definitely the highlight of the room for me. :) The beds were so comfortable that after a long day of sight-seeing, I knocked out the minute I laid my head on the pillow. The complimentary breakfast in the lounge the next morning had a great selection. Definitely a great experience. The service was also friendly and kind with valet meeting us at the curb as soon as we pulled up.

Room Tip: The gold floor has complimentary breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Wonderful room,with great view of the lake and glacier,very comfortable bed/pillows and a powerful shower.The staff is very helpful and friendly,and after the snobbiness of the Fairmont Jasper Park,it was a pleasure to feel like important customers.
My only negative comment is that the food and drinks are Very Expensive,and I now call the Fairmont hotels the home of the $ 25.00 hamburger.

Room Tip: Always ask,all they can say is no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdnewman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel had the most breathtaking view of the lake and the mountain that you could imagine. The hotel itself is magnificent with nice restaurants and facilities. However, I was disappointed with the fact that after 9:00 pm we couldn't use the Lakeview lounge for coffee or dessert as it was reserved for cocktail only. This made us miss on the live piano performance in the area.
In addition, the hotel's indoor pool although clean, was a bit too small. The outdoor pool if restored would make the place even more magical.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraShahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This resort definitely wins the view! Amazing turquoise colour lake absolutely beautiful.

We only stayed for 1 night here.

The resort was really big. Room was tiny but luxurious. Service was great. The hotel was very busy because it was around thanksgiving holiday, there was a wedding going on and also many tourists around. We tried to eat in one of the restaurant and they're all fully booked so at the end we just ordered room service.

It was expensive, but worth the view. We hired the kayak and went on the lake, freezing however breathtaking view!

Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Arrived at hotel on a coach trip, tried to book in but our room was not ready. We were told we had been upgraded to The Gold floor, (our luggage was delivered to our room) which had its own check in lounge. We went up to the 7th floor checked in, went to our room two beautiful queen size beds, huge tv, large bathroom with wet room dhower, lovely bath, toilet, basin, towels, toiletries, bath robes and slippers.. Lovely, clean, great views of the mountains. We had complimentary or'derves at 5pm in our private lounge and a kitchen with complimentary drinks in the fridge. In the morning we went jnto the private lounge again for a complimentary breakfast, which was lovely. We only stayed one night and was the best hotel of our entire holiday, I did not want to leave.
,

Room Tip: Room on the Gold Floor (7th) is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,636 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
707 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
816 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Destinology, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing