We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay with Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with Fairmont”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Wonderful 2 night stay at Chateau Lake Louise. Having originally booked a mountain view room, we received a free upgrade to Fairmont Gold and a superb view of the lake. The room was spacious and great bathroom with separate toilet and superb power shower. The view was of course the highlight and really breathtaking. A complimentary buffet breakfast was served in the Fairmont Gold lounge and there was a good selection of hot and cold items. There were soft drinks available throughout the day and canapes and desserts at set times each evening. We also tried the pub for dinner one evening and also lunch. Both were great and lunch outside on the terrace enjoying a large cold beer was particularly pleasant. We also had dinner in the fine dining restaurant which was enjoyable with that great view and good service. Hotel highlight of our trip to Canada.
Top tip: Join Fairmont President's Club before you go - free to join and you will have free wifi, better parking and maybe even a room upgrade if you're lucky!

Room Tip: Lake view really is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cake_yum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,855
    1,314
    532
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,519
3,096
169
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,945)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of the great scenes anywhere, the setting of the Fairmont and Lake Louise is breathtaking. The hotel is a grand old hotel. Very first class. Very busy place with lots of travelers from all over the world. Two issues...fitness room is third rate in a first rate hotel ; very small with dated equipment and when we arrived at five pm the hall to our room was littered with bags of dirty sheets and towels. Not very attractive first impression.

Room Tip: Lake view when possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yes, the surrounding area is breathtaking. Yes, the challenging hike to the tea room is beautiful. Yes, the hotel has a stately charm.

But the rooms were inexcusably uncomfortable in August. I can forgive an old Canadian hotel for lack of central air, but there is no excuse for the rinky-dink ceiling fan and the wholly inadequate desk fans they provide for air. We got no sleep for three straight nights. The desk clerks acted surprised when we registered our displeasure; only later did I realize that thousands have made the same complaint again and again.

Save your money and get some sleep. Stay somewhere else nearby and visit Lakes Louise and Moraine for the day!

Room Tip: Get the side away from the sun or a new room with air. Otherwise, you'll be miserable in the sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Lake Louise Fairmont for 4 nights. The hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful!
Our spacious room was updated with AC, great decor and a large bathroom. The room had a partial view of the lake but a full view of the glacier... Wow!
The service was good, but all the kitchens were slow. The food is pricey(we spent for a family of 4, $600 in food not including alcohol) and the food taste okay not great. The bellman, and hotel staff were great.
We are now at the Fairmont Banff. (See my review) The Banff Fairmont is older. Unfortunately, we are in a room that is dated, near an elevator(noisy guest), overlooking a shingle roof with a partial view of the mountains. UGH! Was so disappointed. The hotel staff are beyond great. The hotel manager (Mr. Roe) personally called me to see what he could do to make my stay more pleasurable. The food is pricey at both hotels, but the Banff food was excellent so we felt better about the price. I was upset when I wrote the Banff Fairmont review, but Mr. Roe has changed my mind about my experience. I would say to the reader to try both hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The property is breathtaking. When we got to our room it was very warm inside even though the outside temp was in the low 60s (f). We looked for the cooling system. We found it...it was a fan in the closet. We opened our windows turned on the fan and went to dinner. When we came back the room temp was 83 (f). We called the front desk and they said some of the rooms in the hotel have AC and others did not. They sent up a portable air conditioner within five minutes. It made a world of difference. We had a very nice dinner experience and the staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: Make sure you have air conditioning in your assigned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

During our visit to Canada in June my wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Chateau Lake Louise. We were very fortunate in being allocated a lake view room on the 3rd floor near the centre of the hotel.On entering the room the view was breathtaking! Snow capped mountains and the wonderful turquoise coloured lake. The room was comfortable and well equipped. WiFi is free for guests who sign up to the President's club. The foyer was large and impressive and a large lounge overlooked the lake. We dined at the formal ground floor restaurant and informal lower ground bar / restaurant - both were excellent. The swimming pool was closed during our visit but with such scenery and plentiful trails this was not missed! For those staying at the Chateau a visit to Agnes' teahouse is a must. Would I return - definitely! Beautiful, well run hotel with comfortable rooms, excellent cuisine and world class scenery.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very classy and sophisticated hotel. Does not have a convenention feel like Banff. It is so well integrated with the Lake and surrounding natural beauty. We had a top floor end unit so lots of windows and great view of the lake. Beautifully furnished and classy touches in our room like walk-in closet, stunning bathroom, and various high end features that I won't make "spoilers" of. We did have one of the more expensive rooms and definitely worth the price.The concierge floor has a very deluxe continental breakfast in a cozy salon. One caution if it matters: we were there end of May/first of June and the lake was still frozen so only a bit of the famous emerald color showing. On the other hand, the glistening ice was beautiful with its glacial backdrop. The hotel has top notch restaurants as well. We tried two and loved them both. There are great casual eating options as well. Spent a milestone birthday there and couldn't have made a better choice.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billvan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing