We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A stunning venue with never ending gasps as light over lake changes the mountain views and the colour of the water. Busy most of the day with tourists but a short walk along the lake paths reduces the crowds considerably. Tiny rooms but clean and comfortable even if view was over the car park. Very good breakfasts and two good evening meals - one in the more informal Poppy's bistro and one in the grander Fairview restaurant with excellent beef dish, great wines and very good service. Worth a visit!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolynPRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,613)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,722 - 3,728 of 6,613 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Wonderful 2 night stay at Chateau Lake Louise. Having originally booked a mountain view room, we received a free upgrade to Fairmont Gold and a superb view of the lake. The room was spacious and great bathroom with separate toilet and superb power shower. The view was of course the highlight and really breathtaking. A complimentary buffet breakfast was served in the Fairmont Gold lounge and there was a good selection of hot and cold items. There were soft drinks available throughout the day and canapes and desserts at set times each evening. We also tried the pub for dinner one evening and also lunch. Both were great and lunch outside on the terrace enjoying a large cold beer was particularly pleasant. We also had dinner in the fine dining restaurant which was enjoyable with that great view and good service. Hotel highlight of our trip to Canada.
Top tip: Join Fairmont President's Club before you go - free to join and you will have free wifi, better parking and maybe even a room upgrade if you're lucky!

Room Tip: Lake view really is superb
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cake_yum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of the great scenes anywhere, the setting of the Fairmont and Lake Louise is breathtaking. The hotel is a grand old hotel. Very first class. Very busy place with lots of travelers from all over the world. Two issues...fitness room is third rate in a first rate hotel ; very small with dated equipment and when we arrived at five pm the hall to our room was littered with bags of dirty sheets and towels. Not very attractive first impression.

Room Tip: Lake view when possible
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yes, the surrounding area is breathtaking. Yes, the challenging hike to the tea room is beautiful. Yes, the hotel has a stately charm.

But the rooms were inexcusably uncomfortable in August. I can forgive an old Canadian hotel for lack of central air, but there is no excuse for the rinky-dink ceiling fan and the wholly inadequate desk fans they provide for air. We got no sleep for three straight nights. The desk clerks acted surprised when we registered our displeasure; only later did I realize that thousands have made the same complaint again and again.

Save your money and get some sleep. Stay somewhere else nearby and visit Lakes Louise and Moraine for the day!

Room Tip: Get the side away from the sun or a new room with air. Otherwise, you'll be miserable in the sum...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Lake Louise Fairmont for 4 nights. The hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful!
Our spacious room was updated with AC, great decor and a large bathroom. The room had a partial view of the lake but a full view of the glacier... Wow!
The service was good, but all the kitchens were slow. The food is pricey(we spent for a family of 4, $600 in food not including alcohol) and the food taste okay not great. The bellman, and hotel staff were great.
We are now at the Fairmont Banff. (See my review) The Banff Fairmont is older. Unfortunately, we are in a room that is dated, near an elevator(noisy guest), overlooking a shingle roof with a partial view of the mountains. UGH! Was so disappointed. The hotel staff are beyond great. The hotel manager (Mr. Roe) personally called me to see what he could do to make my stay more pleasurable. The food is pricey at both hotels, but the Banff food was excellent so we felt better about the price. I was upset when I wrote the Banff Fairmont review, but Mr. Roe has changed my mind about my experience. I would say to the reader to try both hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The property is breathtaking. When we got to our room it was very warm inside even though the outside temp was in the low 60s (f). We looked for the cooling system. We found it...it was a fan in the closet. We opened our windows turned on the fan and went to dinner. When we came back the room temp was 83 (f). We called the front desk and they said some of the rooms in the hotel have AC and others did not. They sent up a portable air conditioner within five minutes. It made a world of difference. We had a very nice dinner experience and the staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: Make sure you have air conditioning in your assigned room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

During our visit to Canada in June my wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Chateau Lake Louise. We were very fortunate in being allocated a lake view room on the 3rd floor near the centre of the hotel.On entering the room the view was breathtaking! Snow capped mountains and the wonderful turquoise coloured lake. The room was comfortable and well equipped. WiFi is free for guests who sign up to the President's club. The foyer was large and impressive and a large lounge overlooked the lake. We dined at the formal ground floor restaurant and informal lower ground bar / restaurant - both were excellent. The swimming pool was closed during our visit but with such scenery and plentiful trails this was not missed! For those staying at the Chateau a visit to Agnes' teahouse is a must. Would I return - definitely! Beautiful, well run hotel with comfortable rooms, excellent cuisine and world class scenery.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gutman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,717 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
739 reviews
1.7 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
284 reviews
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £206 - £724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Destinology, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing