We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IMPORTANT TO CONSIDER” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“IMPORTANT TO CONSIDER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A breathtaking location......oh yes, BUT rooms unless on lake side and premium priced are closet sized, nice but everything is pricey --add on parking for $30 per night, wifi (not charged anywhere) at $14 a day.....and food off the charts expensive -- and CROWDS that rival Penn Station in NY at commuter rush hour.....I am not sure I would recommend. Not a lot of choices in Lake Louise but I would do my homework before committing to these prices and this package again.

Room Tip: Bring your wallet---stay on Lake view if you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkatjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear nkatjax,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay. I am disappointed to hear that our destination was not what you had expected. As a recommendation, I would suggest signing up for the Fairmont President's Club. This gives you access to complimentary amenities at any Fairmont Hotel including free WIFI, and preferences on room selection.

We would love for the opportunity to further discuss the shortcomings of your stay. Please feel free to email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,745
    1,289
    517
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,485
3,009
163
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
591 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I spent three nights in a lakeside suite to do some hiking in the Banff and Yoho National Parks. On prior trips we have stayed at the Post Hotel in the Lake Louise village. This time we opted for the Fairmont. BIG mistake!

Yes, the building is gorgeous, and historic. But it is overrun with tour buses and crowds. If you value peace and quiet, stay elsewhere. If you like multi-hour traffic jams, hundreds of screaming children and 80 degree + rooms, this is your place.

Admittedly, the setting is spectacular, and the hiking is exceptional. But the road up to the property (and the lake) is 3 km of bumper-to-bumper traffic that takes at least 1-2 hours in peak times. With only one lane in and one lane out, several lodging properties, and day-users going to the lake and trails, it is a massive slog. The traffic congestion leaving at the end of the day lasted from at least 4 pm (maybe earlier, but we encountered it at 4 when we were returning from a hike in BC) until after 8 pm. It was easier for us, since we were going up the mountain (i.e., inbound) while everyone else was trying to leave. We cruised the first 2.5 km, then took an hour to crawl the last 0.5 km.

What's a little traffic, you might ask? A major problem if there is a fire, a medical emergency, or similar event. There would be no way to get responders there short of dropping them in via helicopter. Better to stay in the village and hike up the 3 km to the lake.

As for the hotel, the room was spacious and fairly well laid out. We were in the new wing, which sits at the entrance to the resort, away from the tour buses and hordes of picture snappers. It had a nice view of the lake, and apparently is one of the few rooms in the hotel that has air conditioning. Too bad they are trying to air condition a 700 square foot room with a 0.8 square foot vent. Yes, there was only one small vent to try to cool the entire room. Needless to say, it wasn't up to the task. We had the engineer bring up a portable unit, which was able to get the temperature down to 70 degrees, or maybe slightly lower. That was less intolerable, but not the kind of comfortable sleeping temperature we'd like. (The experts say 65 degrees is optimal, and that's about where we like it, too.) It's also a shame that with such a stunning setting, they did not design rooms with balconies, so that you could sit out and enjoy the mountain air that you came for.

As we walked around the property, we could see that there were many rooms with portable air conditioners in the window. (You will see what looks like a large dryer vent hose in the window. That is what exhausts the hot air the unit is trying to cool.) Unfortunately, they don't have enough of those for every room, so ask for one right away when you check in.

Food is reasonably good, but nosebleed expensive. Breakfast for two - $70. Fortunately, our breakfast was included. We took other meals elsewhere, where the values were better.

It's hard for me to reconcile the majestic look of the property with a 2-star rating from me, but there are so many things they need to do better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with air conditioning if you are coming during the warmer months, and email...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear luv2travl003,

Thank you very much for providing a detailed review of your time in Lake Louise. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive the experience that you were hoping for at our destination. Though the day traffic to Lake Louise is out of our control, please know that we are constantly looking for ways to improve the experience of our guests staying with us at the hotel. The feedback you have provided will certainly help us continue to recognize areas of opportunity.

We would love for the opportunity to discuss the outcome of your stay. Please email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and a member of our team will gladly respond.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed one night in a room with a view of the spectacular lake/mountain. When we entered the room, it was 32C/90F inside. Opened the window, left for a wonderful dinner and came back. Could not sleep at all. Because it was a hot day, anybody without A/C had to try to sleep in an oven. The place is wonderful but a hotel of this caliber has to be able to accomodate customers
even on hot days!

Room Tip: Choose a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racecarfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear racecarfanatic,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I certainly apologize and am disappointed to hear your guest room experience was an uncomfortable one. Our housekeeping team makes a strong effort everyday to ensure our guests have access to portable air conditioning units on our warmer summer days. I apologize if this information was no provided throughout your stay.

We would love for the opportunity to follow up with you directly. Please email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is popular and expensive because of it's breathtaking views. Yes, the views do make this hotel worthwhile, but I'll still give you the scoop regardless.

Pro: Spectacular Scenery
Cons: Tight parking (self) or $35 per night valet with 30+ minutes wait time. Crowded lobby, crowded dining, crowded everything. Very warm during the summer, no a/c. Very pricey stay, very pricey gift shops, very pricey dining...

I would have rather have stayed 2 more nights at the Whistler's Inn in Jasper, or even at our hotel in Banff (Banff is awesome!!!). I loved the view, but I didn't need to stay at this hotel to see the beautiful Lake Louise. Now I know for the future! :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraSaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear SaraSaraK,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your experience at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please know that we value the comments you have made and are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience.

We would love for the opportunity to follow up with you directly. Please feel free to email chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and a member of our team will be happy to respond.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic views from your room in a beautiful hotel, expensive but worth every penny of it. Flower gardens, wildlife, choice of several very good restaurants plus many shops and galleries. We were with an all inclusive Tauck tour for a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: It must be viewing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donald b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear donald b,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Lake Louise and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Chateau Lake Louise in Alberta Canada is breathtakingly beautiful. The breakfast buffets have an enormous selection and the dinner service is superb. Stroll around the lake and view the magnificent glacier directly in the distance. One suggestion: bring mosquito repellent for evenings outside. All the other wildlife is delightful.

Room Tip: The upgrade for a lake view may be expensive, but we thought it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aikivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Aikivisitor,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our hotel and destination had made a positive impact on you throughout your stay. Great to hear that you got to enjoy the Lakeshore stroll!

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was booked by the Rocky Mountaineer Group and my wife and I stayed one night.
It's a case of tourism meets Wallmart! There were three buses arriving simultaneously and booking in was a shambles. Instructions weren't clear. Staff gave us conflicting directions. Not all the elevators were in operation. We are 65+ and used the stairs because of the wait. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the lake. The view was magnificent! ...except the room was too hot to stay in to admire this view. The ceiling fan made little difference to the room temperature. Food at the restaurants was typical pub food and overpriced. There were no alternative cheap eats. Activities were overpriced. There wasn't much to do. We were glad to leave.
We are well traveled, and looked forward to this from the brochure, but were disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for air con
See more room tips
Green Features: It's very environmentally friendly: it doesn't seem to run air con!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Denis M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your concerns regarding your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear of the shortcomings you had experienced during your stay. Please know that this feedback is very important to us as we continue to look to improve upon our guest experience.

We would love for the opportunity to follow up with you directly. Please contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and a member of our team will be happy to respond.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing