We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and beautiful Lake Louise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and beautiful Lake Louise”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is a grand old Fairmont Hotel. The service and ambience were wonderful..
The area is beautiful for relaxing , walking around the lake area and enjoying nature .
Make time for a canoe ride on the blue waters of the lake..

We made reservations before we took the trip to eat in the main dining room and it was well worth it. Check the on line menu first because the choices are eclectic ,but excellent...

We were on the Rocky Mountaineer train tour and the whole experience was wonderful..

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can open the windows and enjoy fresh mountain air..
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sandra P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Lake Louise! You have certainly pointed out some great features of our hotel and destination. Great call on taking a canoe ride - we often claim this to be a bucket list item for our guests staying with us.

We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Louise in the future.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,909
    1,336
    537
    246
    107
See reviews for
1,529
3,155
171
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,970)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We paid for the Couples Getaway and start to finish were disappointed. The arrival amenity was not delivered on arrival. NO air-conditioning, we waited 2 hours for portable air conditioner that didn't help. Toilet and shower both required repair. Key-cards failed. Valet parking wait often exceeded the 15 minutes. We lost about 4 hours during our 1 day stay waiting. Not recommended if the weather is warm and sunny (which is when you would want to be at Lake Louise...)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
6 Thank Ari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ari F,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! I am very disappointed to hear of the various shortcomings you had experienced throughout your stay and that we were unable to provide sufficient support while you were visiting.

We would love for the opportunity to follow up with you directly. Please send an email to chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and a member of our team will be glad to respond.

Warm Regards,
On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our room was small but had a great view of the lake. Some people in our group did not have air conditioning which is not usually an issue but it was very warm the 3 days we were there and they were uncomfortable. So check the weather and ask about your room's AC status. Absolutely gorgeous property and incredible scenery.

Room Tip: Ask for lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear LaurieTEX,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the scenery and various views of Lake Louise and the surrounding mountains. In regards to the air conditioning, our teams work hard to maintain a comfortable temperature in the rooms with the use of portable air conditioning units in the rooms that do not have built in systems.

We'll look forward to your next visit to Lake Louise!

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xirokambi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The only hotel on Lake Louise with fantastic views (if you succeed to get a room or a table with a view !) this hotel makes you dream but has the disadvantage of its hugeness and its old age. However the kindness and efficiency of most of the personnel succeeds to amend to some of these disadvantages.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian-Greek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Canadian-Greek,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest comments on our hotel and destination. I am glad to heat that you received exceptional service during your stay. Please know that we value the feedback you have provided and are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and guest experience.

Warm Regards,
On behalf of the Team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and though it is a huge, very busy and sometimes crowded place the staff was always very attentive and went out of their way to assist us. The standard rooms are on the small side but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Even though we were next to a stairwell and across from the ice room we did not hear any noise at night. Be careful though - not all rooms have AC and it was 87 degrees during the day! The beds, pillows and linen were all comfy and cozy and the chocolate covered blueberry snacks were a nice touch.
Whether you eat in the hotel or at any other restaurant make reservations ahead of time. Everywhere gets booked up. We did not eat any meals at the hotel because it is just too expensive.
The lake itself is breathtaking. There are lots of hikes that originate right at the hotel so if you want to hike you don't need to go anywhere else. You can do it on your own or go with an organized group. The views of lakes, and snow topped mountains and fields of flowers are just spectacular. of course you can certainly do all this sightseeing/hiking without staying at the hotel.
We had a very positive experience.

Room Tip: make sure it has AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123cathy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 123cathy123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Lake Louise. You are so right about the access to all the great hiking trails right in our backyard. This certainly allows you to escape and explore the beautiful locations within the Lake Louise area. I am very pleased to hear that our staff were able to provide service that was above and beyond. This is what we strive for!

Thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to your next visit to The Chateau.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A breathtaking location......oh yes, BUT rooms unless on lake side and premium priced are closet sized, nice but everything is pricey --add on parking for $30 per night, wifi (not charged anywhere) at $14 a day.....and food off the charts expensive -- and CROWDS that rival Penn Station in NY at commuter rush hour.....I am not sure I would recommend. Not a lot of choices in Lake Louise but I would do my homework before committing to these prices and this package again.

Room Tip: Bring your wallet---stay on Lake view if you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkatjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear nkatjax,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay. I am disappointed to hear that our destination was not what you had expected. As a recommendation, I would suggest signing up for the Fairmont President's Club. This gives you access to complimentary amenities at any Fairmont Hotel including free WIFI, and preferences on room selection.

We would love for the opportunity to further discuss the shortcomings of your stay. Please feel free to email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
608 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I spent three nights in a lakeside suite to do some hiking in the Banff and Yoho National Parks. On prior trips we have stayed at the Post Hotel in the Lake Louise village. This time we opted for the Fairmont. BIG mistake!

Yes, the building is gorgeous, and historic. But it is overrun with tour buses and crowds. If you value peace and quiet, stay elsewhere. If you like multi-hour traffic jams, hundreds of screaming children and 80 degree + rooms, this is your place.

Admittedly, the setting is spectacular, and the hiking is exceptional. But the road up to the property (and the lake) is 3 km of bumper-to-bumper traffic that takes at least 1-2 hours in peak times. With only one lane in and one lane out, several lodging properties, and day-users going to the lake and trails, it is a massive slog. The traffic congestion leaving at the end of the day lasted from at least 4 pm (maybe earlier, but we encountered it at 4 when we were returning from a hike in BC) until after 8 pm. It was easier for us, since we were going up the mountain (i.e., inbound) while everyone else was trying to leave. We cruised the first 2.5 km, then took an hour to crawl the last 0.5 km.

What's a little traffic, you might ask? A major problem if there is a fire, a medical emergency, or similar event. There would be no way to get responders there short of dropping them in via helicopter. Better to stay in the village and hike up the 3 km to the lake.

As for the hotel, the room was spacious and fairly well laid out. We were in the new wing, which sits at the entrance to the resort, away from the tour buses and hordes of picture snappers. It had a nice view of the lake, and apparently is one of the few rooms in the hotel that has air conditioning. Too bad they are trying to air condition a 700 square foot room with a 0.8 square foot vent. Yes, there was only one small vent to try to cool the entire room. Needless to say, it wasn't up to the task. We had the engineer bring up a portable unit, which was able to get the temperature down to 70 degrees, or maybe slightly lower. That was less intolerable, but not the kind of comfortable sleeping temperature we'd like. (The experts say 65 degrees is optimal, and that's about where we like it, too.) It's also a shame that with such a stunning setting, they did not design rooms with balconies, so that you could sit out and enjoy the mountain air that you came for.

As we walked around the property, we could see that there were many rooms with portable air conditioners in the window. (You will see what looks like a large dryer vent hose in the window. That is what exhausts the hot air the unit is trying to cool.) Unfortunately, they don't have enough of those for every room, so ask for one right away when you check in.

Food is reasonably good, but nosebleed expensive. Breakfast for two - $70. Fortunately, our breakfast was included. We took other meals elsewhere, where the values were better.

It's hard for me to reconcile the majestic look of the property with a 2-star rating from me, but there are so many things they need to do better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with air conditioning if you are coming during the warmer months, and email...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear luv2travl003,

Thank you very much for providing a detailed review of your time in Lake Louise. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive the experience that you were hoping for at our destination. Though the day traffic to Lake Louise is out of our control, please know that we are constantly looking for ways to improve the experience of our guests staying with us at the hotel. The feedback you have provided will certainly help us continue to recognize areas of opportunity.

We would love for the opportunity to discuss the outcome of your stay. Please email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and a member of our team will gladly respond.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,588 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Destinology, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing