We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Like our experience with Banff, this hotel in Lake Louise is very busy, with tourists and locals as well. The views are spectacular, but the crowd of people made me nervous. We had dinner at the "Fairview" restaurant at the hotel. It was very expensive, and not very good!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Ken W,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the feedback we receive both positive and constructive.

It was disappointing to read that you stay fell short of expectation. Please accept my apologies that during your stay the hotel was over crowded and the dining experience at The Fairview was not up to standard. Summer is quite a popular time here, however, that does not excuse any of our guests feeling uncomfortable or nervous during their time with us.

Please feel free to contact us directly at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com to further discuss your stay. Once again, I apologize you stay was not all you had hoped for and we thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

On behalf of the General Manager Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,759 - 3,765 of 6,853 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

We paid extra to have the room on a high floor with an amazing view and am very glad we did. It was worth the cost. Sitting in the window allowed a ever changing gorgeous view. The breakfast canoe was wonderful (suggest trading cameras with someone and get some pictures while on the water). Best day of our vacation was here and that is saying something since every day was quite memorable. Going here and staying here was on my bucket list for over 20 years. It is worth the extra expense!

Room Tip: get a room on a high floor with a full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear R J,

Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate the feedback we get from our guests.

Your review was most enjoyable to read, and we are delighted to hear that your bucket list destination was a memorable one. The canoe ride in the early mornings are a gem of an experience as the views are indescribable by words alone - we hope that the pictures you had taken keep this memory alive for a lifetime for you and your family.

Thank you once again, for taking the time to write about your stay and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back here in the near future.

On behalf of the General Manager at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I decided to splurge and was not disappointed. I had high expectations and they were exceeded. I doubt I will ever have a better hotel experience than this one. Don't be cheap! The views are beyond breathtaking, the best hiking is right outside your door. The service was impeccable. The room on the gold floor was gorgeous and the breakfast buffet was the best I ever had. I am spoiled for life!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Renee16057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Renee16057,

Thank you very much for posting your review!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed both the breath-taking scenic views as well as your stay. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional Mountain hospitality- and will be sure to forward your comments to our service team on Fairmont Gold on a job well done!

Thank you once again for taking the time to write feedback, and we hope to welcome you back here in the near future.

On behalf of the General Manager at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is absolutely worthy of it's jaw dropping location on beautiful Lake Louise. The decor, staff, restaurants, shops and room are all superb. Ask for a room in the new wing. This is a truly special hotel in a truly special place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Buzz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Buzz W,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise!

We are thrilled to read that your experience was special and filled with luxury and excellence. I will be sure to relay your ratings with our service teams in the all outlets.

Once again, thank you for the lovely feed and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.

On behalf of the General Manager at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. This place was busy for the end of May and there was still ice on the lake. The rooms are very nicely appointed. The walk around the left side of the lake was very nice even though there was still snow/ice on it. There was nothing else to do at Lake Louise but stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Assistant at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us!

We are pleased to read that you had a lovely time during your stay, from the accommodation provided to the wonderful scenic views Lake Louise has to offer.

There are a range of activities available for our guests including guided hikes and canoe rides into the lake! Information on the many resort activities are available at our concierge.

Please do not hesitate to contact us upon your next visit at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com , and we will be delighted to assist you in planning any activity!

On behalf of the General Manager at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My warning is check out the room you are getting before you pay the high price for it. Paying many $$$ extra for a room overlooking the Lake may be worthwhile. I was disappointed with my room here - small - but the position right on this iconic lake was wonderful. My experience at the Fairmonts in Vancouver and Banff was much better.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poodlejosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Assistant at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Poodlejoise,

Thank you for your review. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give some feedback about your stay.

I do apologize that the room type/size was not what you had expected, and for any discomfort that may have resulted. I further more apologize if you had communicated that to one of our employees with no avail. We do our best to accommodate our guests and make sure they are beyond satisfied with their stay.

Thank you once again for your ratings and please do not hesitate to contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com for any future stays and we will ensure that you receive a wonderful room.

On behalf of the General Manager at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Beautiful hotel, beautiful view, delicious food, and great service. We enjoyed our whole experience during our visit. Our room was a little warm but we were on top floor and a fan was brought to us, which helped. During the rainstorm, we explored the hotel and enjoyed seeing all the different lounges, art work, furniture, eateries, and shops. Our view from our room overlooking Lake Louise was perfect! Great trip and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are best, especially on top floors. However, the higher up you go, the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Office at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear EileenB,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time spent with us here at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.

We are glad to read that your entire experience from the service, to dining and your room were a true reflection of the Fairmont standard. We are also happy to hear that you went on a couple of hikes, and when the weather changed you took the time to discover our hotel!

Once again, thank you for the lovely feed and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.

On behalf of the General Manager at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,762 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
901 reviews
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £197 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing