We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We brought a baby here and had a great stay! Least expensive spot in Lake Louise but pricey for a hostel.

Beautiful kitchen and on the second floor of building four is a great play room for kids! Seek it out if you have children!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-LLAC, General Manager at HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    109
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
39
76
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here mostly on the suggestion of a friend who loved the adjacent Bill Peyto's Cafe.

To be fair we had not stayed in hostel accommodations for several decades, and found the room a bit too basic for our tastes. However, it was clean and the shower and toilet outside the room were clean.

The competition nearby did not look great either. If you plan to stay in Lake Louise and have some budget flexibility, I would head for the Moraine Lake Lodge or the Chateau Lake Louise and splurge a bit.

Ok if basic fulfills your needs, however.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were only there for the one night but don't have any complaints. We had a private room, shared bathroom, the room was nice enough and the bathrooms were clean and plentiful (toilet just outside, shared with one other room, showers and more toilets just down the hall). The kitchen was spacious and well equipped. The show stopper is the scenery and general ambience of the place - just beautiful. Sitting outside watching the squirrels run around, having a bonfire and a few (well more than a few but that was just me) drinks in the evening. I would return to this hostel if I had the chance - fond memories of a nice little place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here for a week snowboarding on a trip between Alberta and BC, really lovely clean and modern interiors. The restaurant downstairs is great, tasty and affordable food (better option than at the grocery store as prices are high!). The location is beautiful, great hikes nearby and easy to get to the ski hill. It is quite quiet, there are no bars or places to go out drinking in Lake Louise but it's a nice peaceful break and place to get a good nights sleep. Be careful not to put your door key card in your pocket with money or your phone ( or take it to the sauna) as it loses it's magnetism and you have to go to reception. ( I did this and had to wait at reception for someone to come and save me in my towel oops). Nice kitchen, useful locker rooms and lovely lounge area. However, I didn't meet many young people and not much choice for evening activities, perfect for the skiing/snowboarding purist!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmgb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in the idyllically located hostel. The room was basic but perfectly acceptable. The freight train runs nearby but is not too disruptive. Plenty of car parking on-site and WIFI worked well (except during the area-wide blackout). There are plenty of options nearby for restaurants, snacks etc but the restaurant provides a superb selection of affordable, delicious food. Would highly recommend stopping by for breakfast, lunch or dinner even if you are not staying here! The hostel was convenient for a day trip to the Columbia Icefields and Skywalk. Also, there are great hikes nearby but it is worth finding out the conditions before setting off (eg. snow and ice covered trails).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private room and the bed was made but when we pulled back the sheets there were pubic hairs, food crumbs and what we thought were dead bugs all through the sheets. When we talked to the manager he was useless and didn't even applogized to us as he was tucking in his shirt. It was very frustrating all because you are a hostal doesn't mean cleanliness and customer service goes out the window. I will never stay there again and will be tell everyone I know to do the same.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sjsksksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-LLAC, General Manager at HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Sorry to hear about your experience with us. This is not a typical issue that we have come across. Please contact me at linda.dip@hihostels.ca so I can discuss this with you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My gf and I stayed here for one night between our jasper and banff trip. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects. Below are my pros and cons of our stay.

Pros:
Couldn't have a better location!

Staff were friendly and polite!

Room was clean and spacious, plenty of locker space

The decor was very cool, added to a great atmosphere

The kitchen is very large, had everything we needed

The cafe was nice

Cons:
The restricted drinking areas was disappointing, even the upstairs lounge chillout area was off limits!!

We had to wait an extra 30 mins for our room to be ready. Wasn't too much of a hindrance as we had a car but can imagine a pain for some. The lady behind the counter apologised and handled the situation well.

All this was one of our best hostel experiences yet! If you are going from Jasper to Banff or vice versa, make sure you stay here in between!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonCartwright1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.3 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
29.2 mi away
Kootenay Park Lodge
Kootenay Park Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kootenay National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
0.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
7.3 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Property: HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
Address: 203 Village Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Lake Louise Alpine Centre Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing