We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I only stayed here for one night, but I enjoyed my stay. The hostel is located very close to the greyhound bus station and to the local grocery store.

This hostel was fairly quiet when I stayed here. There was suppose to be a karaoke night on the night I was there but nobody showed up - I was there at the end of low-season however.

I stayed in a female 4-dorm room, and all beds were full. The rooms were not very spacious and I felt a bit crammed. The bed is not very comfortable either, but I guess that can be expected.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinnie_winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband did a reservation through internet and cancelled it by phone prior to the what would be the first day there in HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre in September 2010. For our surprise, HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre charge him (october 2010). He asked to hostel to cancell charges and inform to the credit card company and no answer up to now. Beware! Due to this we do not recommend this hostel.
[---]

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank brancanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIAlberta, General Manager at HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear Brancanie,

Thank you for your feedback on our property.
We do have a 24 hour cancellation policy.
Unfortunately there was a miscommunication about this cancellation.
Please contact me directly at linda.dip@hihostels.ca
so we can get this issue resolved immediately.

Thank you for time
Linda Dip
General Manager
HI-Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Very clean. We had a nice room for about $100 with sink and toilet. Shared shower was just a few feet down the hall. Friendly check in. Reasonably priced coffee shop with basic food service.

Very nice exterior. Very nice setting.

Half the price of the next lowest price lodging in the area, and those places have lousy reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is an excellent hostel in a really pretty place of the rockies. The hostel is in an great location as is near all the hiking paths to lake louise.
The hostel was clean and well maintained throughout and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.
There is even a sauna to use!
The onsite cafe always seemed busy although i never went in there.
The only problem was the noise on the floor above - my dorm was on the 2nd floor and you could hear everything that was happening in the room above which was annoying - so better soundproofing is needed i think!
Overall a great hostel - just bring your ear-plugs!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

As all the guidebooks say, this place is a gem of a hostel. And given that most of the rest of the hotels in Lake Louise are hugely overpriced (e.g. the next door Post) this is also one of the best value options in town, even with a private room (ours was actually just a dorm room for four with two bunk-beds that they only put two of us in, which wasn't what I was expecting). Friendly staff, a good little diner (even if service can be a bit slow), internet access, helpful message board, and even a sauna! Everything else (food, park fees, memorabilia) in Banff and Lake Louise is going to set you back a pretty penny, so here's a place to make a little back up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed at the hostel over a long weekend. We were there mainly to hike, and the hostel was in a perfect location and price range to do this. One of the best hostels we have stayed in. We stayed in a very comfortable private room. The cafe onsite has great food and is well priced. This was important as there are not a lot of restaurant/cafe options in the Lake Louise village. The only negative comment is that it was quite noisy and we didn't sleep well during our stay. The noise was mainly trains going past during the night and banging doors. It is not a rowdy hostel and most of the other patrons were also there to hike and do outdoor activities. I would stay here again, but take ear plugs for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rufflecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

5 star hostel! We had a double bed in a 6 bed dorm that was on a mezzanine level of it's own. Plenty of space with a toilet & basin for our room to share (showers were shared with other dorms and very clean). Huge lockup cupboards for our gear including tall lockers downstairs to put our boarding gear. Great kitchen facilities, free fast wifi and a pool table with an open fire to keep you toasty. Loads of info for anything you needed.

The cafe onsite had the best meals at a reasonable price (for Lake Louise!) and the staff were extremely helpful, allowing me to scan and sign documents I needed to get back home.

What more can you ask for?! This place is better than a lot of hotels we've stayed in!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pippa-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.3 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,723 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
741 reviews
7.3 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Address: 203 Village Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: £40 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Lake Louise Alpine Centre Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing