We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crossing

The Crossing
Ranked #32 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Prices for all was high. Gas and food were all more than other places not too far away. Service was poor.
I can not recommend them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jariatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    25
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best ice cream!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stopped and had ice cream. Yummy!! Don't get gas here, way too much money. Cost 1.89 a litre. Make sure you get gas before you head to the ice fields.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mommabeetle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sticker shock”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Prices for lunch food in the cafeteria are higher than airports, but there is literally nowhere else within many miles. Quality is fine (in fact the chili is pretty good) but good place to have a picnic with the stuff you brought with you from Banff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rah373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average bus stop food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stopped at the diner to get lunch after visiting the Icefields. Way overpriced cafeteria style food, bus groups use the facility as a rest stop - bathrooms looked it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoldenRam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bring a picnic lunch… rather than stop here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Classic example of the "greasy spoon" roadside diner. This is the only restaurant for miles around … the prices are inflated / the food is greasy and inedible / the service is indescribable. I have numerous food allergies and could see on the menu that everything was served with copious amounts of "sauces". Requested a grilled chicken breast with a bun … was told NO .. if it isn't on the menu you can't order it. I then requested an item from the childs menu … those items looked as if they might be OK. Waitress said: Absolutely NOT. Waitress couldn't have cared less when I explained that I have severe allergies and it was a long way to the nearest hospital. I was hungry and was told they could serve the baked chicken without the sauces … it arrived soaked in some sort of smelly smoke marinade. The veggies were either overcooked or raw … depended on the piece .. and swimming in some sort of greasy bath. Hubbys hamburger was hardly recognizable due to the BBQ sauce … he tried scraping it off but ended up just leaving everything … his fries had been deep fried in stale grease and were really not worth eating. We arrived hungry and left hungry with a large charge on our credit card. This place just went to the top of our "don't ever stop here again list"!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbirdYuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crossing also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing