We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trek!”

Lake Agnes Teahouse
Certificate of Excellence
Description: "Its a seasonal teahouse (like the Plane of 6 glaciers teahouse, which is listed on TripAdvisor), located on Lake Agnes in the Lake Louise area. A 2.5 mile hike brings you to this amazing little historic hut, perched on the rim of a cliff and looking over a lake to The Beehive and mountains beyond. So incredible to stumble across. Whats wonderful is that they have over 100 kinds of teas, good sandwiches and soups, and quite a selection of baked goods (gluten-free included!)".
Restaurant details
Description: "Its a seasonal teahouse (like the Plane of 6 glaciers teahouse, which is listed on TripAdvisor), located on Lake Agnes in the Lake Louise area. A 2.5 mile hike brings you to this amazing little historic hut, perched on the rim of a cliff and looking over a lake to The Beehive and mountains beyond. So incredible to stumble across. Whats wonderful is that they have over 100 kinds of teas, good sandwiches and soups, and quite a selection of baked goods (gluten-free included!)".
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the trek!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It is a steep hike but worth the effort. Its just good fun to climb so high and find a teahouse. The lake was still icy and there was a lot of snow about. My husband managed to slip on some snow on the way down. The hot chocolate and cake was very tasty and the girls work very hard.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    230
    89
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great climb!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This walk/hike is about 3.4km uphill all the way - need a reasonable level of fitness. Great reward at the top is to eat at The Teahouse.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank arl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fresh scones & jam, soup, sandwiches & cookies with a tranquil mountain view”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had forgotten how beautiful the view was up here, especially if it's warm enough to sit outside on the patio.
Crowded crowded always, but you may be lucky enough to get a table soon enough, and wait about 30 minutes total for order taken and food to arrive.
Fresh bread sandwiches, soup, cookies (average but fresh), apple crumble, scones with jam, or salsa and chips: small menu but all good.
Not inexpensive: a single cookie is $3, a sandwich is $7, but that's expected up here.
CASH ONLY.
All supplies brought in and taken out by horseback, so expect you will see some horse dung on the hike up. If you are eating your own snack, take your garbage back down with you.
Bathrooms: up a hill with a small lineup. Outdoor biffies.
Around for years and still a beautiful destination. Once you get up to Mirror Lake on the path you are almost there. With help, small children (5 and up) will be able to walk it, but it will of course just take you longer!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaCanadafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Adorable spot”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is quite a nice spot to stop after a long climb up the trail. Lake Agnes is beautiful and the Teahouse sits on its shores. I went in early June, the day before the Teahouse was scheduled to open, but they were still accepting customers with a limited menu. I ordered a pot of tea, mostly to take a break after the hike. The workers were very friendly and allowed me and my friend to eat the lunches that we brought with us. There are several girls that live in cabins up there over the summer, carrying up their fresh goods on the same trail that we just hiked. I can't imagine having to haul a large pack up the trail on a regular basis! There was outdoor seating, but it was a little chilly for us to sit outside. The extra trail up to the Beehives was closed when we were there, but that was just fine with us as we were already a little tired. The round trip with a little stop at the Teahouse took about 2.5 hours.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Reward after a long climb”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A nice simple reward after a long climb. The drinking chocolate was very good and cheap considering the location. View would be amazing but it was raining when we were there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Millimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Agnes Teahouse also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Agnes Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing