We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get there early to beat the crowds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Agnes Teahouse

Lake Agnes Teahouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: "Its a seasonal teahouse (like the Plane of 6 glaciers teahouse, which is listed on TripAdvisor), located on Lake Agnes in the Lake Louise area. A 2.5 mile hike brings you to this amazing little historic hut, perched on the rim of a cliff and looking over a lake to The Beehive and mountains beyond. So incredible to stumble across. Whats wonderful is that they have over 100 kinds of teas, good sandwiches and soups, and quite a selection of baked goods (gluten-free included!)".
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get there early to beat the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My boyfriend and I left around 7:30am from the Chateau Lake Louise and were the only ones on the trail. We also arrived before the tea house opened at 9am so we enjoyed some scenery in the area. We had delicious tea (almond marziplan rooibos) for approx $6-7/small pot (we each had a cup and a half), and 2 scones with jam ($6)- CASH ONLY. We were the only guests at the tea house.

After our breakfast, we hiked the big beehive. Upon returning to the tea house, there were many guests arriving, and in the process of ordering (10:30 am). Our hike back down to the Chateau Lake Louise was packed. There seemed to be a somewhat constant stream of folks climbing up to the tea house. I would not want to be there with the number of people we saw heading that way.

Overall- our experience was awesome. Staff were friendly. Food was good. Wouldn't want to be there when it is packed...Get there early!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    224
    88
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved our rooibos tea and cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were tired and cold after our assent up the mountain and through the clouds and mist. The tea and lemon poppy seed cake was the perfect treat to nourish our bodies and senses before the hike down. We opted for the more challenging trail down and were happy we had trekking poles for the waterfall area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phylly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you visit Lake Louise, a hike up to Lake Agnes Teahouse is a must! The views are incredible (overlooking the valley as well as at the alpine lake). We had some tea which was excellent, as well as a delicious cookie. The people who work the teahouse are wonderful. We will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, Mediocre food, Horrendous service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The view is fantastic! The trail is a bit of a challenge climbing up hill the entire way, but the views looking down on Lake Louise make it worth the effort. Lake Agnes is also beautiful, sparkling waters surrounded by a picturesque mountain backdrop.

The food was mediocre at best. The food is supposedly prepared fresh each day using ingredients that are lifted in by helicopter once a year or carried up the mountain by staff members. Despite these limitations, I would expect freshly baked and prepared food to have a certain quality that is very much lacking at the teahouse. The sandwich bread is bland, dry and crumbly, it disintegrates in your hands when you bite into it. The cookies were rock hard and very flat. The date square was a gooey mess, the crust and topping were very thin and could not hold the square together, it came wrapped in plastic and was squished and mangled looking. The apple crumble was ok, but nothing special, canned filling with a bit of crumble on top.

The tea was definitely the most disappointing of the lot. Given that it is a tea house, you would expect the tea to at least be good, it's not!! They have an amazing selection of teas, but it ends there.The tea was tepid at best, served in a small dirty pot, with mugs that were tremendously stained and downright grungy looking.

The staff are scattered, disorganized, not very welcoming, and somewhat rude. The tea house was very busy when we visited which seems to be amplified by the disorganized manner in which it is run. We found a spot at a long table inside the teahouse just as someone else was finishing up. We sat down and waited approx. 30 minutes before anyone bothered to acknowledge our existence or clear the dirty dishes from the table. The couple we were sharing the table with received their food and ate their entire meal before our order was even taken. We watched as many people who had sat down after us at other tables had their orders taken (in fact we watched the table in the centre of the room turn over FOUR different groups of people during our visit). There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to the order in which they serve people in the teahouse. We watched some groups get served minutes after sitting, while other tables, like ours, were ignored for lengthy periods of time.

As we were finishing up, another group came in and were hovering to snag our table so we got up and stood near the kitchen to settle our bill. With cash and the bill visibly in my hand multiple employees walked straight past and ignored me. At this point the tea house was again becoming crowded and I decided I would just track the server down and give him the money. I found him outside on the patio serving another group. After he finished setting the food down I said "excuse me, can I just give you this" and he seemed somewhat annoyed and said "can you just wait" which is pretty much what we had been doing since arriving at the teahouse... waiting, waiting, waiting.

The prices are outrageous for the level of service and quality of the food you receive. small pot of specialty tea (2 cups) was $7.00, sandwich on stale crumbly bread $8.50, cookies $3.00 etc. Sure it is trekked up the mountain, but given the quality, the prices really are not justified.

I would recommend doing the hike to the Lake Agnes Teahouse to enjoy the spectacular views, however, skip the teahouse visit. Pack a picnic and enjoy closer to the lake on one of the benches or picnic tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PicklesDickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

One of my favorite hikes. It was described as a walk but since it was all uphill it seemed more like a hike to me. It was absolutely worth the trip. The tea and Apple Crumble were delicious. I can't wait to come back and then hike on to the next tea house at the six glaciers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Agnes Teahouse also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Agnes Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing