We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Wonderland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Alberta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Christmas Wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was our third visit to the Chalet. We called last minute for a cabin. None available due to Christmas Holidays and the New Year. But they did have a Jacuzzi Kitchen Suite so we took that. To our surprise it is almost as nice as your own cabin. Looks just like one. So cozy. Even had a small Christmas Tree with lights and garland around the fireplace mantle. We had an 11 hour drive to get there, so after we checked in we went into their Bistro for a bite to eat. We've been in the dining area before but never the lounge. This time we went both evening to the lounge. The staff are very friendly, the drinks were great and the food was delicious. It made for a very relaxing, inviting atmosphere. The grounds are gorgeous and were decorated with Christmas lights and Santa Hats. One of the evenings they had a Bon Fire out by the creek which we went. Had Hot Chocolate with Marshmallows. Nice time. They also have a large skating rink. Already thinking about our next visit. Reminder there is no phones or tv's... and limited internet.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandWina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    145
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
181
356
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Since we arrived in Lake Louise at night we had a little difficulty finding this place. The Navigation system actually brought us to very near the Fairmont, so if you find yourself near there..You are in the absolute wrong place.

This quiet little place is quite beautiful, we were happy with the service and found the cabins very homey. This little spot is quite a ways into the bush so be prepared for that.

This Lodge is perfect for:
Couples. It's pretty romantic, they have a nice fireplace in the cabins.

Families. This would be perfect as a fun family get away, the cabins have a loft type thing going on above the main bedroom, great for kids.

For those visiting Lake Louise for the first time, if you're expecting an exciting nightlife and wild parties you may as well save yourself a great deal of money and book in Banff. It's very relaxed here and there isn't a great deal going on. It's very beautiful and perfect for family getaways or couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We were recommended this place by a friend who had found it by accident. It is such a gem in the park, the chalets are beautifully laid out with everything we could have wanted. It is a 10 minute drive from Lake Louise ski resort, but the location makes the drive more than worthwhile.

The food in the bistro is wonderful and reasonably priced. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even when we stayed in the bistro beyond closing time, they simply let us continue chatting.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biancabuzzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Always a great place for a getaway, but especially at this time of year because of the "classic" Christmas card scenery! The chalets are comfortable, but very basic in the kitchen area, so you don't want to be over ambitious with your dinner menu's.
We stayed in the one bedroom with the open loft,which has the drawback of being uncomfortably hot when going to bed after having the fire on all evening!
The staff are very pleasant and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catsnsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Baker Creek located on beautiful Bow Valley Parkway between Banff and Lake Louise, although definitely closer to Lake Louise. The cabins are quaint with lots of extra touches here and there. We loved the fireplace.The staff was nice as well. We enjoyed the day trips from Baker Creek because the parkway is such a beautiful one. We saw a lot of bears driving along it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Lovely location and authentic mountain experience. Friendly staff and owners. No cell phone reception, no tv - fantastic! Great food and drink. Real log fires in your room and juccuzi baths. We had a lovely romantic weekend, and with only 10 mins drive to the ski resort we fitted that in too.

Room Tip: Trappers lodge is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_battlebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Qu'Appelle, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed in cabin #5 with our adult daughter and her fiancee. Without tv / phone etc. we enjoyed games, cards, puzzles and late evening visiting. A magical winter wonderland. The staff was helpful and the lounge provided draft beer in front of their fireplace. The cabin was clean, lots of firewood, linen etc. Housekeeping during our week was excellent. We didn't use the fitness facility / steam room, etc. but will next time.

Room Tip: The two bedroom cabin was perfect for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W Smith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
2.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
3.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Property: Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing