We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Cozy Mountain Cabins With All the Comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“Romantic and Cozy Mountain Cabins With All the Comforts”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We travel a lot and most often stay in nice hotels with trendy amenities. This place is different and was so welcome. We came to Banff and Lake Louise to get away from traffic, congestion, noise, and crowds. We wanted to concentrate on fresh air, quiet, nature, and great scenery - a place to get away to after a long day of challenging hiking. Baker Creek Chalets is the place. We rented a cabin on the outskirts of the resort facing the forest. It was awesome. Large one bedroom cabin, king size bed, huge fireplace, leather easy chairs, huge tub, kitchenette, small dining area, quiet and private. Each cabin has a short driveway so that you can pull your car or SUV right up to the cabin to load and unload.

The Resort is on the Bow Valley Parkway which is mostly an amazing two lane highway plowing through the forest at the foot of the mountains. There is wildlife everywhere. We dont drive around much at night here because of the huge populations of deer, elk and bears that may wander onto the roadway, but even in the daylight we ran across bears lumbering next to the road. The Resort sits on the river and there are Adirondack chairs and swings next to it where you can just relax and enjoy the sounds and scenery.

We loved this place and will be back.

Room Tip: We preferred the cabins rather than the hotel and recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    162
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
212
397
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Cozy and quite. Tastefully decorated. Staff was very nice. Great location for Lake Louise area hikes. We stayed in a lodge room with a jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace, balcony, fridge, oven, stove, and microwave. The price was good for what we got. We hope to stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrauNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our best place in our trip to the Canadian rockies. Great location near Lake Louise but in the middle of the Bow Valley Parkway. Gorgeous roaring creek out back of the cabins, with firepits to light a fire and toast marshmallows. we had a loft cabin--kids LOVED it. Just out back of the cabin saw tons of grizzly foot prints and scat, but alas (?or fortunately?) no bears! Elk and deer around there however. Room was great. The restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikingfamilyphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights over the labour day long weekend. Unfortunately it was a last minute booking, so we couldn't get our own cabin like I wanted (sold out), but we did stay in a huge room in part of the main lodge.

The room had a small kitchen complete with fridge, microwave, and plates/glasses/cutlery. We had a large jacuzzi tub, queen bed, couch, rocking chair, has fireplace and balcony. Everything we wanted or needed. The room was nice and clean too.

When we found the place (our gps had trouble) we thought it was a little far from civilization. After spending a morning in Lake Louise, I was happy to be far away in the middle of the woods! Banff is an easy drive for anything you need, and the drive gives you plenty of opportunity to see wildlife. I would stay away from Lake Louise. Crazy traffic jams and way too many people.

I would happily stay at Baker Creek again. Next time I'll hopefully book a bit further ahead, and get my own cabin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle-duperron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Good location for lake louise and area, nice setting and beautiful landscaping.
Rooms however are chealy equiped and not well maintained. We had two plumbing problems and couldnt take a shower first night.
Not what you expect for $350+ / night

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evasom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights at Baker Creek Chalets. The cabin was adorable and decorated like Ralph Lauren western. The cabin was spotless and had everything we needed including a microwave, refridgerator, and coffee pot. After reading the other reviews, it's true the train tracks are close and at times loud, especially at night with the windows open. The entire area began to be developed over 130 years ago thanks to the Canadian Pacific Railroad and their presence is still here. It's just a fact and while floating on the river or hiking, you most likely will hear or see a train. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamagirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We thought we had booked a place closer to Lake Louise (the lake, not the town) and were a bit disappointed at first to learn it was about 15 km away, right off of Highway A-1. However, after visiting Lake Louise, we were absolutely delighted to be in this secluded and quiet lodge on a rushing creek, away from all the tourists. The staff was most friendly and helpful, our room (#33) was amazing (we had all the amenities we need to enjoy the outdoors with two outside decks, a comfortable living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a nicely equipped kitchenette). The grounds were absolutely beautiful with places to sit and enjoy the creek and/or enjoy a fire in the fire pit. We felt like we had hit the jackpot at places to stay! The only downer was that the internet was almost non existent. We went into town every day to the International Hostel and paid $5 for 24 hours. It was well worth it. We have stayed at many places throughout our travels and Baker Creek Mountain Resort was one of the best!

Room Tip: Room 33 is right next to the creek and you can listen to the water all night as you sleep. Was awes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
7.0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,281 reviews
7.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,592 reviews
24.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
7.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,519 reviews
7.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Property: Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing