We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooooo relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Baker Creek Mountain Resort for three nights in November 2013, whilst we were touring in the area. We hadn't booked when we turned up, but fortunately there aren't many people about mid-week at the end of November, so we were offered a selection of accommodation. We picked a cabin with a wood burning stove over an apartment with a jacuzzi (I've attached a photo of the lounge bit of the cabin), primarily because jacuzzis are easier to come by than wood burning stoves.

The cabin was clean, comfortable and nicely presented. Even though it was -10C outside, we had no trouble keeping the cabin warm with either the wood burning stove or the warm air heating that blows out of the vents in the floor (it's probably got a proper name). There was no TV. The resort offers wi-fi, but during our stay it was hopelessly slow, to the point that it was just about possible to send text-only emails if you were patient. I've no idea if this was normal, but if you're an online junkie, you might want to check this with the resort before you book.

The resort has a bistro that does fabulous food in the evenings. Note that the bistro is not actually part of the resort, so you can't charge your food and drinks to your room. A minor point, but worth remembering before you leave your credit cards in your cabin when you pop out for dinner. Also, as the bistro is only open in the evenings, you'll need to provision for getting breakfast and lunch from somewhere else. There's a small store at the Castle Mountain Chalets, about 15km south, although we chose to drive to Lake Louise, about 12km north.

For me though, the highlight was the amazing night sky. The resort is very subtly lit at night, with just enough illumination for you to be able to comfortably find your way around. Stand pretty much anywhere in the resort and stare at the clear night sky for a minute to allow your eyes to adjust to the dark and you'll see a vista of stars as good as you've ever seen anywhere. I've attached a photo that I took from the road in front of the resort.

There are even complimentary snow shoes so you can explore a bit further afield in the winter (the views down by the Bow River are definitely worth the short walk).

Overall, we had a brilliant, relaxing stay at the Baker Creek Mountain Resort and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The cabins around the edge of the resort have nicer views of the surrounding scenery from their terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

After every Christmas this has been our vacation spot.
What a wonderful place, the location is incredible, and makes you feel so welcomed and relaxed and at peace, a great thing these days.
The cabins have always been cozy, and well maintained. They give such a warm relaxing feeling of isolation from the hustle and bustle of the city that's hard to find elsewhere.
My family and I enjoy going for walks around the area, and seeing the train at the tracks is amazing. It's perfectly located near Lake Louise Ski Area, which is highly convenient as you can beat everyone to the slopes.
Such a great place to be with the family, we will be planning to be staying here, over and over again; its became a tradition.
The staff are wonderful, welcoming and friendly and give you everything you need.
I see people complaining about how the mess themselves make isn't cleaned if they go out, but if you read the website, house keeping is your responsibility while you are staying. How ever they do make the beds, and provide lots of fire wood for the wood burning stove (fireplace)
The ice rink is great fun to go skating on with your friends, it's well kept, and well sized for skating around and having fun.
The mountain views are gorgeous, and sometimes you can even see wild life, we saw a moose near the train tracks on our last stay !
Over all, this is a wonderful place to get away, have fun, and relax. Love it. As well, its a wonderful place if you are into photography, got some marvelous photos of nature and scenery here.

Room Tip: the 2 bedrooms cabins are best located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCcover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was our second time at the Chalets, first time in winter. The scenery and surroundings continue to be stunning, but the accomendations disappointed us this time. We stayed in one of the one bedroom loft chalets (#17). Granted, it was pretty cold those two days with night-time temperatures well below -20, but these cabins should be set-up to deal with that as this is not uncommon at Lake Louise. Unfortunately, the insulation for the cabin is so poor that the furnace was running all night. And it wasn't just running quietly, but going through a restart every other minute, which made sleeping very difficult. We inquired about this at the front desk, but didn't get much sympathy. Given this experience, we will not return during winter.
The interior of the cabin looks dated and could use an upgrade. It would be acceptable for a simple cabin, but not given the $250/night price point.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Widby2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked the Baker Creek chalets to celebrate our 4th anniversary. After an amazing weekend we decided this will be our spot to celebrate every anniversary for years to come. We arrived alittle tired from a long day but as soon as we pulled into Baker Creek all that melted away with the beautiful scenery and atmosphere here. We took a few pictures then headed in to check in. This had to have been the warmest welcome we had ever received (even at pricey resorts we have stayed at before). Izzy the cat was in the basket at the front desk and the front desk staff with huge smiles and hellos. We were told we had been upgraded from our jacuzzi kitchen suite to a deluxe loft Jacuzzi suite. We couldn't believe the kindness and were very grateful.
Upon arriving to our room there was a bottle of champagne and a card wishing us a happy anniversary. The best welcome ever. Not many places do these special touches anymore. These are the types of things that make people come back over and over. The room was huge and beautiful. Loft bedroom with Jacuzzi tub, kitchen, living room and 2 decks. The views from our room were incredible. We cooked most of our meals in the kitchen and it had everything we needed. The perfect room for a romantic weekend by the fire.
We did not try the restaurant but heard it was fantastic. We did go snow shoeing around the property as the scenery is breathtaking. We both had agreed that Baker Creek was the best place we have stayed (We have stayed in 7 different resorts around Banff) and will continue to return for all our trips to Banff and Lake Louis. The staff really know how to make you feel welcome and look after all your needs. You don't see this type of attentiveness anywhere anymore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from Canada, and spent 4 nights of our holiday at Baker Creek. Booked 2, one bedroom loft chalets. Travelled with my mother and daughter and stayed at Baker Creek with my aunt and uncle whom my mum hadn't seen for 10 years. A perfect place for a family reunion, it allowed the 2 sisters to spend plenty of time together in a relaxed and stunning location.
Chalets were cleaned daily, the beds were of high quality.
We used the bistro each night, service excellent, but pricey. Pizza oven had been broken since the summer, so they were not an option, surprised in that time it had not been mended?
The setting was beautiful overlooking the creek with swing seats for folks to enjoy the views.
Found the sounds of the occasional train quite comforting actually!
We were blessed with clear blue sky daily.

Room Tip: ask for creek view
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank clare p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here in winter, Feb 2013, a beautiful time in the mountains all the more for staying here for 10 days to soak it all in.
We had a chalet for the 3 of us (Me, Wife and Son) that easily housed us in comfort. Wood delivered as required for the blazing fire, meals at the bistro magnificent, ample facilities to cook your own feeds as well as required with a full kitchen.
We rented a car in Banff and toured all over the valley, skied at the lake Louise ski hill and did all those things you do when visiting this area. Baker Creek is perfectly located for all this but tucked away from the hustle and bustle.
I hope to come back one day in the summer to see it in all its glory.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davros222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nestled away from the tourist trails of Lake Louise and Banff, Baker Creek offered everything we were looking for. We stayed in a Jacuzzi Loft room which overlooked the creek and was extremely spacious (would comfortably sleep a family of 4, we were only 2).
The kitchen was well equipped for low-fuss dinners however make sure you do the dishes yourself because they will charge you an additional cleaning fee if they are left unwashed.
The train does come by quite frequently at night and can be noisy however we were not right next to the tracks so it didn't bother us too much.
On our final day we saw a grizzly bear wandering down the train tracks just 2km from the accommodation, amazing!
We also ate dinner at the Baker Creek restaurant and whilst it was pricey the food was fantastic!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the train line if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liv_C88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
7.0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,429 reviews
24.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
7.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
7.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,038 reviews
7.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: £122 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing