We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberline Tours Ltd. - Private Day Tours

Timberline Tours Ltd. - Private Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 5 Tours in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just completed a four day pack trip with Timberline Tours - had a great time. Staff is friendly and knowledgable, horses were well-trained and well-behaved, and the camps were well stocked. We slept in a roomy walled tent and ate in a warm cook tent. The camps were protected by a solor powered fence to keep bears out. Scenery was breathtaking. Sue was so helpful before our trip giving advice on hotels and things to do in Lake Louise. Our guides, Kat and Jamie, worked very hard and were great company. We have been on other pack trips (Montana) and the price for Timberline Tours was low compared to others. Would recommend Timberline Tours to any who want to get into the back country and away from all the people. If you go with Kat cooking, you will gain weight!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    10
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Did a multi-day trip through amazing scenery and guides Kat and Jeanne were fabulous and accommodating. Enjoyed them and the horses very much. Did feel as though we were "imposing" sometimes when asking questions beforehand (Sue) or asking to take a photo en route (Paul) - which was sort of strange customer service when you have paid quite a fee to do this. Would recommend a bit gentler customer care... likely some of it was teasing, but gruff cowboy attitude can be offending to the unprepared, and is somewhat unprofessional! If you aren't experienced or want to make any special requests be forewarned.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Thanks to everyone who commented before. You gave us confidence to book and it was great!
Positives: Owner Sue is a kind-hearted, hard working person. Her guides adore her and you feel like your at your Aunt Sue's stable right away. It was crowded, but Sue keeps the parties small by having many guides. We went as a family of 4 alone. Kat, our guide, was fantastic. She had my boys (13 & 14 ) engaged the whole 3.5 hours in both the natural beauty of Lake Louise, but also the interesting things she's studied on sojourns to Africa & the Middle East. Outstanding! The trail and views have to be experienced live. We never felt rushed and Kat focused on giving us family time to dismount, take it in and take pictures. Improvements: The Ranch grounds and office are filthy. It makes a really bad first impression so much so that we thought about turning around. I'm glad we didn't but this is a negative. Part of the trail is shared with hikers which is awkward at times. The tea house stop at Lake Agnes is a nice break, but not worth the time lost on a crowded day. We spent $50 & 40 minutes on nacho chips, 2 small lemonades. 4 biscuits & jelly, and two small pots of tea. Stop for sure but try to avoid ordering anything. Pack water and a granola bar and spend your time at the waterfall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We had ridden with Timberline Tours in '09 to the Plains of Six Tea House, which was awesome. All I could think about was coming back and doing a pack trip never thinking it would actually happen. Four years later on a whim, we booked the 3 day pack trip and headed back out. We really weren't sure what to expect, which made it all the more exciting. Sue and Paul are awesome people and the service they provide is an authentic backcountry experience.
The guides Louisa and Jeanne were very knowledgable, capable, accommodating and fun to be around.
The scenery was beyond beautiful. There was a thunderstorm the second night and we woke to fresh snow on the mountains. It also snowed when we were crossing deception pass.
The rest of the time the weather was beautiful.
My family enjoyed it so much! Truly a trip of a lifetime!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Akfromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite trip experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our favorite thing to do during our trip to the Banff, Jasper, and Glacier National Parks. We went on the 4 hour trip to the Plain of Six Glaciers and it couldn't have been more fun or breathtaking. Our horses were well matched to us as the three of us have different experience levels. The girls at Timberline were very helpful getting us mounted and ready to go and our guide Amy was so friendly and just a real pleasure throughout our ride. You also get a more personal experience than other outfits. Our ride was just the three of us and our guide. This is a mountain ride so don't expect to trot or canter. It's a perfect ride for those who want to do something different than hiking to the glaciers and if you are like us it will make you think of Indians and mountain men during the ride. There are many different terrains from conifer forest and open mountain trail, to open rocky areas and even a small river to cross and let the horses drink from. The tea house at the top is a great place for a break and a snack. At the end of our ride we enjoyed visiting with the owner Sue and her wonderful pack of Jack Russell Terriers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TKHw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timberline Tours Ltd. - Private Day Tours also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Timberline Tours Ltd. - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing