We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice scenic spot to have tea!”

Plain of Six Glaciers Tea House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
eastcoast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice scenic spot to have tea!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We rode in to this tea house by horseback. The scenery along the way was jaw dropping. The tea house was of course expensive, and the food was nothing spectacular, but you pay for the ambiance I guess. We couldn't wait to get back on our horses for the ride back. No offense to the restaurant. The journey kind of beats what the restaurant has to offer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travlr24Eastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    140
    42
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Strenuous Hike”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It took a solid two hours each way for us to get there, but Peggy and I agreed it was well worth the climb. We shared a light lunch of a bowl of vegetable soup, half of a tuna salad sandwich, and a large slice of blueberry pie, all made on-site using propane stoves. And, of course, we had tea at the tea house. The views of the glaciers were outstanding, along with the vie of Lake Kouise, the Chateau Lake Louise and the ski are beyond.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“views and cake!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful trail, stunning view of Lake Louise from afar, and the BEST chocolate cake! I'm not sure I could choose between this and Lake Agnes teahouse though...both wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jrice009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile hike to this quaint little spot”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was a place we didn't plan on going to. Started out towards Lake Agnes teahouse and then decided to keep going to Plain of Six Glaciers.

This is a moderate hike only in that it's a long hike on a warm day. The terrain is reasonable but bring water. There were some people who appeared to be a bit less active who were struggling near the end, but it's doable with the right shoes, water and a snack.

The teahouse itself is very rewarding. You can read a lot about the food etc elsewhere. It's simple by necessity, the staff was great and it really was a fantastic end to an afternoon. Escape the outrageously busy lakefront and head out here. It's worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike to this teahouse”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Most travelers head to the Lake Agnes teahouse, but head towards Victoria glacier to get away from the crowds. It is a 5.5 km hike from the Chateau.

Most rewarding is the bird's view of Lake Louise Chateau and the lake. Once at the tea house, sit outside on the veranda to enjoy the panorama.

Note that there is no credit card facilities up ghee: CAD or USD only.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plain of Six Glaciers Tea House also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Plain of Six Glaciers Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing